Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is yet another brilliant title from the Relate collection of books. I am a counsellor with Relate and have recommended this, and their other books, to friends and clients who are experiencing relationship difficulties. You will find the books insightful, supportive and easy to read and understand. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by catw1978

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty useless
Purchased this book for obvious reasons!The book is not at all useful and is actually annoying and so very disappointing.
It talks about trust for the first couple of chapters, which is awful, because trust is something you are painfully aware that you no longer have!
It then goes on to repeat that affairs happen for a reason, and both parties in the...
Published 23 months ago by Bert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
This is yet another brilliant title from the Relate collection of books. I am a counsellor with Relate and have recommended this, and their other books, to friends and clients who are experiencing relationship difficulties. You will find the books insightful, supportive and easy to read and understand. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made me feel so much better- Buy it!, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. N. A. Simpson (Sunny Southend,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
Reading this book helped me to understand so much, when you are in the thick of all the emotions, it is sometimes so hard to analyse 'what and why'which is what I needed to do. It also covers the subject from the person who is having/had the affair, as well as the 'victim' which was also an interesting view point. Would not hesitate in recommending this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty useless, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Bert (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
Purchased this book for obvious reasons!The book is not at all useful and is actually annoying and so very disappointing.
It talks about trust for the first couple of chapters, which is awful, because trust is something you are painfully aware that you no longer have!
It then goes on to repeat that affairs happen for a reason, and both parties in the relationship are always accountable and that the signs were there, you were just too ignorant to see them.
It then contradicts itself by saying that sometimes affairs happen for no reason at all and gives an example of a man simply going off with someone else. In the scenario it barely touches on the unbearable pain that that women is then left with.

It doesn't mention the different stages of grief, it doesn't mention the different stages of putting away the old and accepting the new relationship. The book is absolutely useless. I have found better resources for free on the internet.

Needless to say please do not allow this book to reflect on the quality of Relate counselling, which I have found to be truly outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A balanced, informative and very readable text., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I work as a psychotherapist and am currently studying couples work. Having only worked with one to one and usually with the person who hadn't had the affair, I wanted a good general overview before studying this module.This is an excellent book, looking at the causes of affairs, how to work through the issues this throws up, both within the couple and the ripples affecting the families wider circle. It doesn't judge, offering helpful, balanced and useful help for all those involved. I have already recommended it to members on my course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After the Affair, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
Great book would reccommend this to anyone who has being betrayed - warning though it is very sad reading but helped me a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
A friend asked me to order this following a painful separation it had been recommended to her by relate. Found it extremely helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had been led to believe, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
Not as good as I had been led to believe in fact I have only dipped in and out of it because I think it is poorly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 2 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
This book made me better understand myself and my partner. It made me analyse where things had gone wrong from both our points of view & gave me the strategies needed to get back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After the Affair - review, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. R. A. Wigger (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
Written in an easy-to-read format. I was able to 'skip' certain sections I didn't find relevant but the content of the book still flowed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thoughtful read, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again (Paperback)
for anyone that is wanting to have a greater understanding of how to move forward from such a traumatic event, this is a great tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relate - After The Affair: How to build trust and love again
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews