Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive guide to Thames-side history
This hardback takes a journey along the Thames, recording the history of the places and buildings along its banks. Its presentation is very similar to that of Ben Schott's Almanacs and Miscellanies, with black-and-white sketches of places of interest rather than photographs.

I enjoyed reading it and would recommend it as a present for anyone who appreciates...
Published on 1 Dec 2010 by T. Bently

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One mistake I know about; how many more are in it??
Did not buy the book. Had a glance through it in a bookshop and looked up Brentford as that is where I live. On page 164 the book claims that Julius Caesar is alleged to have crossed the Thames at Brentford in AD54. That would be a remarkable feat, as he was murdered in 44BC. As a result of finding this error, I have no faith in the accuracy of the rest of the book. How...
Published 4 months ago by J. P. Martinez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive guide to Thames-side history, 1 Dec 2010
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
This hardback takes a journey along the Thames, recording the history of the places and buildings along its banks. Its presentation is very similar to that of Ben Schott's Almanacs and Miscellanies, with black-and-white sketches of places of interest rather than photographs.

I enjoyed reading it and would recommend it as a present for anyone who appreciates walks along this great river, or local history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A liitle gem, 3 Feb 2011
By 
G. Bailey "Gimlett" (Abingdon,Oxon,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
While you have to accept that all the info in this book is genuine it is the most comprehensive mine of trivia about our greatest river that I have ever come across.A winner! if ever I saw one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 14 April 2011
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my son as part of his Christmas present and he loves it. Having walked the length of the Thames he was surprised to learn from the book that he had missed some things along the way. It may encourage him to go back and re-look at parts of the Thames again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present idea!, 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
Having received this book as a gift myself, I have since purchased it twice for others. Great content, easy to read and good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well received pressie, 10 April 2011
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
Bought this as a christmas pressie for my father in law and went down a treat. He used to live in London so loved picking up the facts about his old stomping grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual factual resource, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
I was struggling to find a unique Xmas present for a friend who boats regularly on the River Thames. I was looking for something that he could use as an information resource and a source of inspiration for places to visit whilst on his boating trips. This book is well laid out and includes lots of anecdotes about the Thames. The author has nice accessible writing style. A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book, 11 May 2013
By 
a j smith (Canterbury, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
Really interesting book with loads of great information in. I bought it as a present for my husband and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars River Thames, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
Gradually doing the Thames Path with a friend. This book makes the walk even more interesting - and gives a reason to stop walking every now and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jewel Of The Thames, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super book by Christopher Winn. Brought back some happy memories of times spent travelling the Thames. Marlow was my fave spot, but the book is a gem for facts about the river and the places along its route. Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Never Knew That About the River Thames (Hardcover)
Great present for those interested in the River Thames, especially if you are travelling on the river. Makes really fun reading and always a conversation starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Never Knew That About the River Thames
I Never Knew That About the River Thames by Christopher Winn (Hardcover - 4 Nov 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews