Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winer just like Mark Cavendish
If youve read his previous book Boy Racer, youll know what to expect, truth and honesty from a great cyclist and nice person, some would say challengening, its an honest appraisal of the world of cycling the riders and management.

One thing comes over in the books is that he likes people, and always thanks them, something missing in a lot of people nowadays, he...
Published 16 months ago by Paul Rogers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A while to get up to speed
Took a while to get into this book but I like how cavendish wears his heart on his sleeve great rider and good book in the end
Published 11 months ago by james reardon


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A winer just like Mark Cavendish, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Hardcover)
If youve read his previous book Boy Racer, youll know what to expect, truth and honesty from a great cyclist and nice person, some would say challengening, its an honest appraisal of the world of cycling the riders and management.

One thing comes over in the books is that he likes people, and always thanks them, something missing in a lot of people nowadays, he has an easy to read writing skill and makes even the most boring of subjects come alive some how,not that cycling is boring, the problem with this book is its so engrossing and actually stops you going out on the bike for a ride , you think ill just read that page then another pops up and you read that,and before long its the book.

Even for non cyclists its a good read as it covers personalities, and travel along with other things that happen in life like relationships with workmates.

If you do buy this book buy a spare as youre sure to have people wanting to borrow the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly open and honest self-appraisal, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Kindle Edition)
An excellent insight into the life and mind of an amazing winner. Cavendish provides a refreshingly open and honest appraisal of his character, and is not afraid to bare his soul, warts and all. This makes the book believable, and human. I'd recommend this book for both cycling enthusiasts and those just interested in what makes a sporting champion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great book when's the next one., 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Kindle Edition)
Interested in cycling then this book is perfect! I've just got into cycling myself and found cav inspired my decision to buy my first road bike. Read both books now and their fantastic reads. Gutted he married PETA though she's beautiful! Lucky man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Kindle Edition)
Great second book by our home grown Sprint king 'the Manx missile'
Up to date and well written.. well worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into Mark Cavendish and the world of Professional Cycling, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Hardcover)
A really enjoyable and interesting read. I learnt a lot not just about what makes Mark the man he is and the issues he has to deal with both in winning and losing, but also about what goes on inside the Pelaton, the rivalries, the tactics and the management of teams, What surprised me most was how little the media report about what ACTUALLY went on in a race is is going on in teams, and how they pursue certain individuals like Mark one way or another to create headlines that bear little or no resemblance to the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good insight into Pro Racing, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. J. Shaw "JSPhotography" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Hardcover)
Having got into Road cycling recently I thought it might be good to get an insight into the strategy and inside track of pro racing so bought the book. It gives the reader a good idea of whats been happening with certain teams and how certain races were targeted.

Included the politics and behind the scenes dealings with team owners and riders.

Overall a good read that will enlighten the reader to make them appreciate the intricateness's of the sport next time they are watching a race on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable. I loved it., 21 May 2014
By 
Nikopalidis "Nikooooos" (London,The Center Of The World!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At Speed (Paperback)
A great read, I love The Tour De France and any insight into it. I watch it in its entirety and I enjoyed Cav's book immensely as it tied it with my memories of the le Tour and various things that had happened over the years, with a view inside the peloton and the teams.

At times it can seem egotistical, but i guess that what makes a good sportsman a great one.

Thoroughly un put down able and a good book to read before this years Tour Starts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is CAV!, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Hardcover)
Mark talks about everything. His faults, his regrets, his loves, his achievements and his hopes for the future. He openly criticises or praises where he thinks it's deserved. Did he hold anything back? Seems not. When you've read this book you feel you really know him.
Could I live with him? Probably not. He's far too "driven" for my laid-back (aka lazy) character - but I'm delighted that others can and that he has a great family. Good luck to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Kindle Edition)
Honest & informative throughout, I couldn't put this book down! Highly recommend to all cycling fans you won't be let down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read. He might still be a tool in my book though..., 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At Speed (Kindle Edition)
A very well written account of much of Cavendish's career, with great insight into his mindset and general racing philosophies. If you already like the guy then this certainly won't change your opinion, but if like me you were a little unsure about his fiery personality you may find that this book only ruffles your feathers that little bit more when you hear some of his excuses for not performing. On the whole though, a great read and a good ambassador for cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At Speed
At Speed by Mark Cavendish (Hardcover - 7 Nov. 2013)
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews