Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Interviewing is his gift, yet journalism is his passion
Having recently read Piers Morgan's Misadventures of a Big Mouth Brit, this diary was refreshing in that it reads better without the endless banter, blarney and endless self promotion. I know some enjoy the gossip and name dropping but I prefer this more subdued and reflective style.

I was expecting something of a diatribe about his war on the American Gun...
Published 12 months ago by Laurence Dann

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in American
That's it really, it follows the path Piers has taken since moving permanently to America. The main theme of the book being his strength of character in tackling the Gun Laws that have allowed any American to hold arms to defend themselves. His point being that you don't need automatic rifles and machine guns to do that.
It would be nice to think that Americans...
Published 19 months ago by nigel graham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life in American, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
That's it really, it follows the path Piers has taken since moving permanently to America. The main theme of the book being his strength of character in tackling the Gun Laws that have allowed any American to hold arms to defend themselves. His point being that you don't need automatic rifles and machine guns to do that.
It would be nice to think that Americans would buy this book and learn from reading it. Something tells me after reading the book, that that will not be the case. So yes it's okay but not gripping as we Brits are not as familiar with the people he interviews. The Diary format works very well, could he have picked this format up from The Honourable Tony Benn?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interviewing is his gift, yet journalism is his passion, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently read Piers Morgan's Misadventures of a Big Mouth Brit, this diary was refreshing in that it reads better without the endless banter, blarney and endless self promotion. I know some enjoy the gossip and name dropping but I prefer this more subdued and reflective style.

I was expecting something of a diatribe about his war on the American Gun culture.Instead, Piers Morgan makes a few well made points that peaked my interest into thinking about a nation that sees safety in it's ability to defend itself with weapons. Statistics bely this belief, yet intelligent arguments are made either way, by himself and his interviewed protagonists.

I have read a few, if not all of the Piers Morgan diaries so far and without exception, found them entertaining and full of impressive achievements due to relentless passion and humour for life. He reveals more of himself in this book, regards his children's sporting success, his Mom's maternal exchanges with Gordon Brown and highlighting his son's hero worship of Oscar Pistorius (before the fateful Valentine tragedy)

I found it endearing to read, yet hardly surprising, that he struggled to be separated from his boys, that he found the endless flights and sleepless nights tough to deal with. He makes his feelings clear regards the Levison Inquiry and gets an apology from the Labour MP that accused him of boasting about phone hacking.

One thing Piers Morgan isn't, is boring. His writing is conversational and this helps when he reminds us of interviews he did with world leaders and made complex issues simple and easy to digest. He is family man and strongly believes in loyalty between friends,especially when they are in trouble. This is evident in this book, while at the same time he let's us understand the pressures and complexities of working in high profile media positions.

Personal anecdotes about colleagues and celebrities are handled diplomatically and entertainingly and at the same time enrich the tapestry of how complex and how pressurised his job at CNN really is. I found it endearing how Piers Morgan revered Larry King and that he mentions a few mistakes with some credible humility.

I have always found Piers Morgan to be a likeable and entertaining man with an uncanny understanding for seeing the 'big picture,' who despite a few feuds, stands his ground and forgives fairly easily. Interviewing is his gift, yet journalism is his passion so one can forgive him for wanting to land his perfect position to share his voice as an anchor on the mighty CNN stage.

He is a local lad made good. Good for him, especially since his sacrifices reaped rewards.I enjoyed this book and recommend it as a light and entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting perspective, 21 April 2015
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
He’s like marmite is Piers Morgan, you tend to like him or loath him, not usually much middle ground. But either way, this is an interesting and informative read and one that gives an insight into the underbelly of the US.

This is in a diary format and picks up at the point that Morgan is about to join CNN as a talk show host taking over from the famous Larry King. We see the need to kick off the show with strong guests and the chase for ratings. As his tenure develops, we move away from celebrity interviews to some of the breaking news covered by Morgan, from the Presidential election, Katrina, and the many shootings that place. This allowed Morgan to find his voice as part of the lobby for improved gun controls but also exposed him to those who consider the right to own automatic weapons as their constitutional right.

Piers Morgan is a journalist and experienced interviewer, something many people chose to ignore or forget. I thought this was an honest and interesting glimpse into American culture and attitudes. This finishes well before he left CNN, covering the first year or so of the show. Be interested in the next volume to understand why he decided to move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guns & More Guns, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This crusade took up too much of the book & it became boring. The least readable of all his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining read, 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Mike Roper (Hazel Grove, UK) - See all my reviews
Piers Morgan has a very engaging way with words and this book provides a fascinating and varied insight into the world of American News and Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Piers Morgans style of writing is exceptional in this diary it is a great insight of all that goes on behind the scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Usual Morgan Insights, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Limarki (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do like reading Morgan's books. I don't necessarily warm to him, but I will say, he is not afraid to self deprecate. I have read all of his books and will no doubt read the next he pens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a very enjoyable read !, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Piers is smart,funny ,entertaining and ingenious! and is a master of self-deprecation,so I can't understand this passion for "Piers-bashing" that seems to govern some people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down !, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book as much as the first. Made me laugh, cry, think....didn't realise he was doing so much for gun control. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piers Morgan, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable read. I like his diary style. It is amazing how he has been involved in so many important situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney
Shooting Straight: Guns, Gays, God, and George Clooney by Piers Morgan (Hardcover - 17 Oct. 2013)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews