Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As brutally honest as he is fast
I have read a large number of sporting books in my time; some very good, many distinctly mediocre. This might just be the best one I have ever read.

Love him or loathe him - and it is difficult to be anywhere in between - Mark Cavendish is to sprinting on two wheels what Usain Bolt is to sprinting on two legs. If road cycling had anywhere near the same profile...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by tsl04

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still too young for Bio
An excellent insight into the teamwork that exists in a racing team. I thought i understood how they work for each other but never quite realised to this extent.

Mark's admiration for George Hincapie just goes to confirm what i had heard about this great man.

I admire Mark's honesty about other people, and also about his own personality, however i...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Duke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dad Racer, 1 July 2010
By 
G. Stanesby "G-arch" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Racer (Paperback)
Couldn't put this down, a really fresh and honest book which every 'what could have been' cyclist can relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Cavman", 27 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Timothy Price Davies (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Racer (Hardcover)
Maybe a bir premature for his career, but given his meteoric rise Mark honestly describes his achievements, disagreements, fallouts and loves. Classically organised chronology and as a read - good enough. But I suspect the next one will be a little deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Racer (Kindle Edition)
This book is epic!! A MUST read for all cycling fans. The book goes through the early stages of Marks life, his teens and the start of his pro career. An inspirational read. Go Cav!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy Racer, 17 July 2009
By 
Davi Harvey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Racer (Hardcover)
Excellent book that was refreshing and exciting to read. Not only could I not put it down till I finished it but I haven't seen it since I started lending it it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good starter, 25 Aug 2010
This review is from: Boy Racer (Kindle Edition)
I bought this primarily for the download aspect as I live in France and expensive to buy English books, cavendish is maybe not the most likeable guy in the world but his drive and determination have to be admired. Worth a read for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boy Racer, 25 Aug 2009
By 
M. Martin-smith "Marnie" (Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boy Racer (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my husband - an avid cyclist. He loved this book, Mark Cavendish revels all - the good the bad and the plain ugly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I GOT THIS FOR MY SON HE REALLY ENJOYED., 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Racer (Paperback)
BOY RACER MARK CAVENDISH, I GOT THIS FOR MY SON HE REALLY ENJOYED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best read..., 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Boy Racer (Paperback)
Three out of five for 'boy racer' an amazing sportsman but he has very little to say and repeats it ad nauseum to pad out the book - confusing structure too. 2009 wins shoe-horned in a the end - poor. Best bits are his views on the controveries he's been involved in - not enough ofthis though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He said what?!, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Racer (Paperback)
This is a very well written book. Cavendish has undoubtedly got one heck of a talent and a huge fire in his belly. He shoots from the hip and his results speak for themselves. There's a lot of unabashed arrogance about this book, a real youthful swagger. It's a great (if slightly jaw-dropping) read. In a few years time there'll be undoubtedly be another instalment, and by then you really hope for his sake that he's started being a little less judgemental of those around him.

Don't be fooled by his awkward media appearances - stress does not bring out the best in his personality. This is a bright and opinionated fella who has a tail to tell that doesn't need pictures to entertain the reader. Love or hate the guy; for both sponsors , spectators and readers alike, Cav really delivers value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sprinter, 29 July 2014
By 
M. Cousins "mikey" (radlett u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boy Racer (Hardcover)
mark is a legend ,this book is as good as it gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boy Racer
Boy Racer by Mark Cavendish (Paperback - 3 Jun 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews