Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More on the Wags soon please!
Wags at the World Cup was my introduction to the Wags, but now that I've met them all I'm going to get the previous two books - hilarious! And although very funny throughout most of the book, Ms Kervin's managed to convey their extreme vulnerability, something I didn't recognise previously when one reads the flashes about their lives in the tabloids. Would I want my...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by C. Suthons

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WAGs At The World Cup
Who needs Victoria, Coleen and Alex when you can have Tracie Martin? That's right - Tracie is back and she's faker, more tanned and as skimpily dressed as ever. Hubbie Dean has managed to get himself a job working with Fabio so Tracie is off to South Africa to have a WAGalicious time. But first, Tracie is given the task of keeping the WAGs under wraps because we know what...
Published on 2 Jun 2010 by Leah Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More on the Wags soon please!, 3 Jun 2010
By 
C. Suthons (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Wags at the World Cup was my introduction to the Wags, but now that I've met them all I'm going to get the previous two books - hilarious! And although very funny throughout most of the book, Ms Kervin's managed to convey their extreme vulnerability, something I didn't recognise previously when one reads the flashes about their lives in the tabloids. Would I want my daughter to be a Wag? Never, not even with all the clothes and the rest of the stuff. With the cinemas packing to the seams with women going to see the new Sex in the City movie it's clear that we have a great fascination for those who can afford to wear such gorgeous clothes and have a soap opera life far removed from our own. This is an extremely funny account of these womean and a glimpse into the world of football for those of us who don't necessarily have an ounce of interest in the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wags at the world cup, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
This book was hilarious from start to finish. If you love Sophie Kinsella's shopaholic books then you'll love Alison Kervin's 'Wags at the world cup'. I couldn't put this book down, the need to read on to see the predicaments Tracie Martin would get herself into next was just too compelling! Cannot wait to read future books from Alison Kervin, a truely captivating writing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and frothy read, 26 Jun 2010
By 
Jae79 "Jae79" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Having read Alison Kervin's other WAG books (A WAGs diary and A WAG Abroad) this was a nice addition to the series - please be warned these books are fun and frothy - not to be taken seriously at all.. Having said that over the series of the books you can't help but enjoy Tracy's naviety and innocence and her quest to become the ultimate WAG - she gets herself in a couple of scrapes in this book that you can see coming and you just want to yell 'noooo!' - i read this on a flight to America and finished it in a day....just before the World Cup started it was a nice mood setter for the tournament...be nice if the end came true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAGs at their best, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
A fabulous and fun read. You don't need to be a football fan to enjoy this book.
The main character of Tracie gives an insight into the hilarious world of the WAGs.
This is the first book I have read by this author - I can't wait to read her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Love this series of books, they are very funny and a good read.Perfect if you want something light thats not too taxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* From Me., 2 Nov 2010
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Another Great Read By Alison Kervin, Funny & Hard To Put Down. Definately Worth A Read If You Have Read Her Previous Books.If You Havent Had The Pleasure Of The Other Titles, Then Check Them Out First! Following Tracie Martin Is Hillarious & You Can Imagine It All Happening In Real Wag Life. With The Mentions Of Cheryl Cole, Coleen Rooney & Alex Gerrard Its All Very Current & Almost As If The Reader Is Included In Her Wagness. Brilliant - 5* From Me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a beach read!, 3 Sep 2010
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Kervin brings back Tracie Martin, by definition a Wag and a hugely entertaining character living in a never never world of footballers, fake tan and designer gear - the story takes us to SA. What Kervin manages to do is create a loveable character, full of antics and brings her own stealth-like knowledge of sport into the story - the predictions were a bit uncanny in places!
Well worth it, more than a beach read - I look forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious, really good read, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
I love this series of books, its a tongue in cheek look at life as a wag, with all the stereotypes and quirks put across in a comedic way. highly recomend for light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved this...frivolous fun read, 12 Oct 2014
lighthearted fun read. The characters aren't believe-able but they re so entertaining . recommend as fun read. love it. tles of what being a wag is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WAGs At The World Cup, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Leah Graham (Tenerife) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wags at the World Cup (Paperback)
Who needs Victoria, Coleen and Alex when you can have Tracie Martin? That's right - Tracie is back and she's faker, more tanned and as skimpily dressed as ever. Hubbie Dean has managed to get himself a job working with Fabio so Tracie is off to South Africa to have a WAGalicious time. But first, Tracie is given the task of keeping the WAGs under wraps because we know what happened the last time the WAGs came to a World Cup. As always though things don't always go to plan as far as Tracie is concerned and she ends up on a popular video sharing website embarrassing herself to the nation. Tracie is shipped off to South Africa quicker than you can say WAG, only to find herself slap bang in the middle of more shenanigans. It's definitely a case of Tracie Martin to the rescue...

WAGs At The World Cup is similar to the previous two books in which it's written almost like a diary with dates, times et al. which means it's very easy to get into. The book itself begins just as Dean gets the job helping the England coaching staff and it pretty much is then a lead up to the World Cup. Due to the nature of Dean's job, Tracie is asked to keep it all hush-hush as well as keeping the WAGs in check after the farce of Baden-Baden. Tracie agrees to do no interviews and certainly not the TV show pilot she's been asked to do... except that, you know, Tracie isn't very good at being told what to do and goes and does the TV pilot anyway ("It'll never be shown on TV.") and after making a fool of herself, the video inevitably ends up on YouTube and the FA decide that the best course of action is for Tracie to head off to South Africa immediately in a bid to put out all the fires she's managed to start.

My main problem with WAGs At The World Cup though is the lack of action. The title is a bit misleading as anyone expecting a least a decent chunk of World Cup action will be sadly disappointed. The book is more about Tracie becoming friends with the Wonder WAGs and making herself look better after making a fool of herself and the World Cup only covers the last quarter of the book, which as a football fan, was wildly disappointing. I understand Tracie knows nothing about football but I did think the entire (or at least the majority of the) book would take place during the World Cup. Nothing actually really happens in the book either until a quick crisis appears just before the end but even that's wrapped up before there's any chance to even delve into it properly. It was like it was there and then, blink, and it was gone. As the book progressed it just got to the point where I was waiting for something to happen other than Tracie wanting to get some silver boots.

WAGs At The World Cup is a solid enough book but even for me it was a bit light and airy. Tracie is as fantastic as ever and there are a few funny moments - in particular a conversation Tracie has with the film crew about when she and Dean went on their first date to the zoo and Tracie saw some "fat penguins", I thought that was hilarious. I probably think this is the last we'll see of Tracie - it's been fun but I think she'll just seem a bit daft if she comes back a fourth time. The big worry though is that this book will go completely out of date really really quickly. To feature the World Cup 2010 before it's even began is a risky move and, sure, it's fictional, but it's still a risky thing to do and because it's so current (futuristic even since the book covers the end of the World Cup which is in July - three months away as I write this review) anyone reading it after the World Cup will be undoubtedly comparing the two events. Still though I enjoyed it and if I was a betting woman, I'd so bet on all of the results Kervin has predicted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wags at the World Cup
Wags at the World Cup by Alison Kervin (Paperback - 25 July 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews