Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sisters
This book gives a perfect illustration of the difficult and humerous times during ww2.
My late Grandmother was a nurse during this period in the East End of London at Stratford E 15
Published 21 months ago by don in france

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Sisters Kindle book
Very interesting encounters but each one too short, jumps about far too much. Needs a lot of concentration to read it.
I am a retired nurse so will dip in and out as the mood takes me
Published 7 months ago by A. Vasey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this very much, 4 July 2014
By 
S. Light (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this very much. It had been on the shelf for a while as the cover didn't inspire me, but once I'd started I had to keep reading. I agree with other reviewers about the extracts being very short, but I found it easy to pick up on the same person's experiences in different areas as the book progressed. As a nurse who started training in 1967, and now involved in the study of nursing during the Great War, it struck me how similar a nurses' lot has been throughout many decades. Some of the reminiscences really hit home, and I was very amused at having my memory jogged about taking a newspaper into a house with me when working as a midwife and a District Nurse. Many of those interviewed rose to high positions during their nursing careers, so enlightening to realise that they started, as everyone, as the most humble of students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Still not recd my book !!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite chasing for my book, have not recd a reply. Very disappointing and clearly cannot recommend the (so called) suppliers. Only gave 1 star as I couldn't give less !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sisters Kindle book, 30 Mar 2014
By 
A. Vasey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting encounters but each one too short, jumps about far too much. Needs a lot of concentration to read it.
I am a retired nurse so will dip in and out as the mood takes me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Times have changed, 4 Nov 2013
By 
DO DO "DO DO" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting to see how nursing was around the war and just after. I would recommend it to Nurse past and present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sisters nursing book, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
so moving and amazing what the nurses had to do and cope with authority in the nursing profession .Great admiration for them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a fantastic read, highly recommended. If you enjoy true life stories you will enjoy this book. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not broad enough, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very repetitive.
As a retired nurse who started training in 1958 I found to much was of a similar nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and moving accounts from WWII nurses that everyone should read, 6 April 2013
'Sisters' is an amazing book. My grandmother began her nursing training towards the end of the war and these touching accounts from nurses just like her are incredibly moving to read. These brave women went through so much, making huge personal sacrifices so that others could be helped. Reading their stories in their words is such a privilege and I really hope lots of people buy this book - it documents such an important part of our history - one that none of us should take for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
joly good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sisters: Extraordinary true-life stories from nurses in world war two
Sisters: Extraordinary true-life stories from nurses in world war two by Barbara Mortimer (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2012)
£15.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews