Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real mythbuster about the Norman Conquest!
Prior to purchasing this book, my knowledge on the Norman Conquest was based purely on what was rammed down my throat at school during the 1980s. My orthodox view of 1066 and beyond has never really been challenged and nor had I any interest in changing my understanding or appreciation. I remember thumbing through this book in Waterstones on a cold April afternoon in 2013...
Published 14 months ago by Darren O'Connell

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Norman Conquest
"The Norman Conquest" by Marc Morris is a comprehensive history of the Norman invasion, covering the whole life time of William the Conqueror. Its style would be easy to read if it was not for the fact that Marc Morris insists on justifying every point he makes by discussing all the evidence that led to that conclusion. This can mean the narrative drags as he deals with...
Published on 30 Mar. 2013 by Neil Lennon


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book: insightful, authoritative, engaging!, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norman Conquest (Paperback)
This excellently written book is very engaging and authoritative. Very thought provoking and informative, it provides a detailed and stimulating exploration of the transition from Late Anglo-Saxon to Norman England. The processes that led to this momentous change are examined in a very engaging and stimulating manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not really my period of history and bought this as a bit of a change and well worth doing so.

The book made sense of the tangled politics of the early 11th century. I had been brought up with tales of the brave King Harold marching to Stamford Bridge to play Chelsea (sorry the Vikings) then marching to Hastings to fight the wicked, evil William, Duke of Normandy. Bit of a shock to learn that Harold had just pinched the throne and that William probably had a better claim.

As with histories of this period sources were a bit scarce but I found the details of how Yorkshire was decimated after 1066 very interesting - being a Yorkshire person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading., 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norman Conquest (Hardcover)
From the chaos caused by Viking invasions, family point-scorings, marriages of convenience, double-dealing and general skullduggery of the times, Marc Morris has clarified it and written a history book which reads like a novel without being in the least condescending or patronising.
I enjoy his books enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incicive and refreshing, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Academically solid but Marc is not afraid to voice his opinion and interpretations. I really enjoyed reading it - refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marc Morris writes in an engaging and articulate way that makes the book easy to dive into. Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A First-Class Read, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norman Conquest (Hardcover)
Marc Morris writes fluently and well on this complex subject. His analysis of the contemporary sources that every historian must base his conclusions on seems thorough and is lucidly argued and, to me, persuasive. If you want the facts along with the probabilities, this is for you. In all my reading about this fascinating time in our history, I have never read a more entertaining and satisfying book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 7 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norman Conquest (Hardcover)
Brilliantly written, absorbing factual, not speculative. The author presents the facts in a clear concise manner. When there is conflicting evidence he presents both options and suggests which option is most likely to be true and, more importantly, why.

If only my school history teacher had been half as interesting.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Popular history at its best, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marc Morris is a wonderful writer: he successfully combines erudition and wit to produce a fantastically readable account of the Norman period. I learned a great deal from this narrative, and found Mr Morris' text was not only compelling and informative, but also delightfully droll. A great history book, very worthwhile reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrible History for grown ups..., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Norman Conquest (Paperback)
I'm just getting in to the Norman period, having worked my way backwards chronologically from the Plantagenets. I love history books that manage to convey the details without boring the pants off you, and Marc Morris has a fabulously engaging style that keeps you reading and soaking up the information, without you realising it - my kind of history book for sure.

If you enjoy this, try his book about Edward I - also an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Those Nasty Normans are still Nasty, 6 Dec. 2012
I had heard many good things about this author who had written 3 other historical non-fiction books so I was very much looking forward to reading this,hoping that it would give a balanced view of both sides of the conquest, the English and the Norman. I am very much down with the English as far as the Conquest of 1066 is concerned and have read books in order to find a discerning view of the events of the invasion and the years that followed so I can at least attempt to empathise with the Normans even if only in a small way. Some of the books I have read have strived to show the facts without appearing to be biased one way or another, but no matter how dryly the evidence is presented,they struggle to show the Norman's in anything but a bad light. This book was no different. The Normans were indeed the Nasty Normans, confirming once and for all that my sympathies fall completely on the right side.
The opening pages of this book show useful maps of England and Normandy at the time of the Conquest and there are also family trees to assist the reader in knowing who is who. In his introduction there are a few things that I would not agree with, especially his reasoning about the status of women in pre-conquest England, however opinions about this often vary and I was not going to get too stuck on one little thing. He does state that he has tried to be as balanced and fair as he possibly can. He himself states that he has no particular fondness for either side, choosing to describe the Normans as coming across as "arrogant, warlike, inordinately pleased with themselves and holier than thou." He also calls the 11th Century English as binge drinking slavers and political murderers. These are very sweeping judgemental statements and I was not happy to read the last one in particular, thinking that I was not going to enjoy this book after all.
However I was wrong. Marc Morris's analyses of the events during and after the conquest were fair and just and considering what the Normans did to the conquering English, he appears to remain impartial without becoming emotive. I found it difficult however not to be moved especially when reading about the plight of the Northerners who were left with nothing to feed themselves after William's harrying of the North. If anyone had thought highly of William and his avaricious Normans, I challenge them not to be affected by the evidence. Despite what other historians have had us believe, Morris porves that the Harrying of the North DID happen.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to read more about this exciting, emotional period of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Norman Conquest
The Norman Conquest by Marc Morris (Hardcover - 29 Mar. 2012)
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews