Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


149 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh approach
When, like me, you have something of a mania for collecting Middle Eastern cookbooks, each new purchase carries with it an increasing risk, especially if you are buying it 'blind', that it will offer nothing new but instead every recipe will more or less duplicate something that has come before somewhere or another in one of your volumes, and thus end up as a bit of a...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by E. L. Wisty

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice pictures but.....
I was seduced by the pictures in this beautiful book but this was the book that reminded me why I usually get the book from the library first and try out the recipes before I invest in the book!!
Yes it looked gorgeous, but I found most of the recipes I tried nothing special or they were unneccesarily difficult, complicated or just plain didn't work. They were also...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by MRS TWEEDY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good quality, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Beautiful images and interesting recipes. Bought this for someone else as a present -they were really pleased and from the quick flick I gave it I was too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't food stylists annoy you?, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Silvena Rowe's recipes are super...they actually work and are delicious. But I do become a little annoyed that someone decided that the photographs could contain ingredients which are not in the recipe, presumably to add colour as on p174, or which do not correspond to the method in the recipe.. see p217 for example. There more. If there is a garnish or flower which would look good, then why not put it in the list of ingredients? I think that the stylists were a little carried away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food of the Eastern Mediterranean, 7 Oct 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
The food described by Silvena Rowe is just fascinating. I have never seen another cook book like it. It introduces you to flavours and sights that you might never see again,unless you go there. If you have got the money, buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars purple citrus, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
A fabulous and evocative cookbook, but might have included conversion temperatures and weights and measures for the American cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 23 Aug 2010
By 
White House Wanaka Ltd "Book Shark" (Wanaka, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
This book is a gem, every chef into honest healthy food needs to buy this. Some of the most beautiful food I've cooked in ages. And the photos are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eastern mediterranean food, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
If you are 'into food' this book by Silvena Rowe is for you.
Anybody who has holidayed in the Eastern Mediterranean will soon remember the tastes and flavours that are associated with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Bought this as a birthday present for a daughter - but the photographs alone were almost enough to make me decide to keep it myself! Recipes look 'do-able' and well explained, with alternatives given for some of the more exotic ingredients. Particularly liked the video clip recipe. As usual with Amazon this book is very competitively priced. Am now just waiting for an invitation to dinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal gift for the cook who wants to be adverturous, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
This book was a gift for someone who loves cooking. The first results were mouth-watering, and we await further results of her exploration of the recipes with eager anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Citrus, 13 Oct 2010
By 
L. A. Phillips "Linda" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Excellent cook book, interesting recipes, unusual ingredients, if you don't live in a large city some of the ingredients might be hard to get but worthwile if you can get your hands on them. I have enjoyed everything I have cooked from this book and was very surprised when the chicken I cooked in lavender & honey turned out well and tasted yummy, good buy and very different to all the other cookery books I have. A great addition to any kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate, just buy it, 26 Aug 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Great recipes that really work. Every dish we tried tasted amazingly well. There are not many books out there that offer an insight to the great Ottoman cuisine.Just get it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews