Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh approach
When, like me, you have something of a mania for collecting Middle Eastern cookbooks, each new purchase carries with it an increasing risk, especially if you are buying it 'blind', that it will offer nothing new but instead every recipe will more or less duplicate something that has come before somewhere or another in one of your volumes, and thus end up as a bit of a...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by E. L. Wisty

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars nice pictures but.....
I was seduced by the pictures in this beautiful book but this was the book that reminded me why I usually get the book from the library first and try out the recipes before I invest in the book!!
Yes it looked gorgeous, but I found most of the recipes I tried nothing special or they were unneccesarily difficult, complicated or just plain didn't work. They were also...
Published on 6 Feb. 2012 by MRS TWEEDY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food Glorious Food, 23 July 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Having only received this book three weeks ago it has already been used five times for meals with friends and they have all been amazed and excited about the delicious tastes and colours created by the recipes. The recipes are easy and simple to read and execute and the results are brilliant.
The taste of tomato and pomegranate together was a revelation.
A great book for those who want to explore new tastes and and combinations not found in your average British Food cookbook.Purple Citrus and Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean: Food of the Eastern Mediterranean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impractical and expensive recipes, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
Gurphy (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
The book is well written and attractive. The pictures are nice and the whole thing is just great. So what's the problem?

It's a book about middle-eastern cooking that goes against the grain of everything that middle-eastern cooking is about. That is frugality, substance and practicality. These meals are not for someone who wants to prepare a good meal. They're for someone who has a great deal of free time to play around with insubstantial experiments.

I bought the book because I liked the cover and the look of the dish there portrayed. I have a book with a nice cover but as for having a book that's practical for preparing substantial meals, this is definately not it. The last point I'd like to make is that in order to buy the ingredients included here you'll need to be on more than the average income. You'll not find them in the average Deli either. Enough said. Plenty of reviewers have obviously liked this book. For me it's a great deal of fluff with very little substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Useful, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
I am a keen cook and have quite a collection of cookbooks. This one is outstanding on several levels. The pictures are gorgeous and the text outside the recipes is interesting and engagingly written. Most importantly: the recipes are clearly written and turn out delicious: I have tried lots of them and have had many compliments from dinner guests thanks to the book. These Ottoman-based, Bulgarian and Georgian flavours and combinations are exotic and wholesome at the same time. Only one small criticism: Ms Rowe sometimes forgets to mention seasoning (with salt). But if you cook, you should be tasting as you go along! I like this book so much I have gifted it four times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting eating, 3 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
There are many recipes you will want to try and this book will encourage you to make many dishes you haven't made before . The tomatoes with pomegranate (page 126) has become a family favourite and I make it often for guests as it is so quick and easy and yet with unusual and delicious flavours. Through Silvena Rowe, Sumac has become my favourite spice and it enlivens many dishes. If your background is from any of the Eastern Mediterranean countries she covers with such lovely memories, this book will become a treasured possession. For others it will become an indispensable bible in the kitchen from which to conjure up the warmth and friendship that comes with sharing this wonderful food with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just spent the last 3 weeks learning to master a range of dishes from this wonderful recipe book to extend what we eat at home ., 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Inspirational and delicious. Just spent the last 3 weeks learning to master a range of dishes from this wonderful recipe book to extend what we eat at home on a regular basis. Have loved every single recipe - tried and tested twice on family and friends. Simple to follow, some great time savers and enjoyed the history behind some of the recipes too. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and different cookbook, 30 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
This is a really different cookbook, and owning a whole library of them, it takes some doing, but this does it!
Innovative recipes to make, and you shouldn't have too much trouble finding the ingredients unless you live in the Outer Hebrides.
Stunning combinations, but quite simple too cook - GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Very poor quality book. Bland recipes with "basic" ingredients. Nothing to get exited about as you read those recipes. You could get more interesting recipes in any magazine at the newsagent or your local supermarket, for a lot less money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume - Brilliant Cookbook, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Fabulous, really love the different recipes and different flavours and the ingredients are not difficult to find. A beautiful book. A friend called today and saw it on the table and after a quick look she ordered one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
This is possibly the most veggie friendly cook book I've bought that isn't veggie.

It has a huge range of dishes and I've yet to get stuck in but I'm pleased with my purchase so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't food stylists annoy you?, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean (Hardcover)
Silvena Rowe's recipes are super...they actually work and are delicious. But I do become a little annoyed that someone decided that the photographs could contain ingredients which are not in the recipe, presumably to add colour as on p174, or which do not correspond to the method in the recipe.. see p217 for example. There more. If there is a garnish or flower which would look good, then why not put it in the list of ingredients? I think that the stylists were a little carried away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Citrus & Sweet Perfume: Cuisine of the Eastern Mediterranean
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews