Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2009
How many of us have bought a slow cooker, full of enthusiasm, only to loose heart and shove it to one side along with the yoghurt maker and rice cooker? Well, this book has inspired me to dust off my slow cooker from the top shelf and have a go. It's a lovely book full of delicious recipes, clear instructions and great photos. I'm very impressed with the variety of recipes which include Italian, Indian and Moroccan influenced dishes, soups and even desserts. My favourites are Beef and Guinness casserole and Spiced aromatic lamb with chickpeas.
It's certainly opened my eyes to the versatility of slow cooking, and for a busy mum it's a perfect way to cook delicious, healthy meals where the preparation is all done before the children are back from school.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2009
A neat collection of well written, practical recipes for slow cooker users. Cara Hobday has put together more than 100 recipes for people who want to get the best from their slow cooker. The book is divided into chapters with recipes for fish, chicken, pork, beef and lamb, with chapters for vegetarians, desserts (not often covered in slow cooker recipes)and even preserves.
The recipes are modern, some with asian and indian influences as well as lots of european favourites such as, Vietnamese Pork and noodle soup, a light lemongrass broth with pork meatballs and rice noodles, Italian Fish stew with squid and swordfish in tomato sauce or baked cherry cheesecakes cooked in the slow cooker in ramekins, plus traditional favourites such as Mixed Game Stew and Spaghetti Bolognese.
Very straight forward recipes, well laid out with lots of lovely photographs this book would be perfect for any slow-cooker owner, whether novice cook, busy mum or experienced user looking for inspiration.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
I was disappointed that the recipe booklet supplied with my cooker was really unappealing, it had an awful UV varnish/finish on the pages that made the pamphlet stick to together. So I bought three titles from Amazon, one was far too US in tone: 'Mom's home cooking', the other, had a tiny plate section in the middle, so only a few recipes had photographs.

The Ultimate Slow Cooker Cookbook is by far the best of the three. Good clear recipe layout and appetising photography, making it a great to use. The recipes themselves are well thought through, very easy to follow and diverse. The beginning section is informative and has some really good tips and pointers. I thoroughly recommend this cookbook, good value for money. Looking forward to volume two.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
Great book with "foodie" recipes that even working Mums like me, with limited time and the need to have good hearty meals can grasp! Loved the easy style of the author and found some really good meals that will become staple in our house. The satay pork was divine and everyone at our dinner commented on it. Beautiful and perfect for the winter months.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
this book is the best slow cooker book i have and i have LOADS. it has recipes from all over the world, no basic english beef stew but much more interesting and yet surprisingly doable recipes. i'm so inspired by this book and will make alot from it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
I purchased this book at least 6 months ago and have made a variety of different things from it - my favourites are the Thai pork curry, Beef Stroganoff & the Chinese Beef. Have found in the past that dishes can all end up tasting the same, but NOT with these recipes. Everything has been really tasty & simple to follow. Although other people have disagreed & don't like the preparation, I haven't found this to be an issue & it adds to the flavour. A great purchase for slow cooker users!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
This recipe book is an absolute gem, so simple to follow and not at all fussy. Would recommend it for
uses by all cooks i.e students, busy mums and even
stressed dads.............
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
I bought this for a friend as a Christmas present. I surveyed quite a few slow-cooker books and finally decided that although some of the other books had more recipes, this had more usable recipes in it. This opinion was confirmed when the book arrived. It has a great balance of traditional and more adventurous flavours. It avoids some of the more obscure dishes and expensive ingredients of other cook books.

My friends are delighted with it and are looking forward trying many of the recipes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
my wife requested this item for her birthday after seeing it in public library. She has used it only twice to date but was very pleased with the result, (as was I). The recipe she followed had a mistake in the ingredient listing but she realised this and made the correction herself.(See page 71 - Thyme mentioned in title but omitted in recipe) Also for quantities, one may find 2 tomatoes between 6 people a bit stingy - try 3!! and an increase in amount of potatoes. The addition of juice of 1 lemon adds to that Greek experience. We're looking forward to enjoying a few more dishes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
What an amazing book, a really good variety of recipes from the traditional to curries and tagines. The Sri Lankan Chicken curry was out of this world as was the Moroccan Lamb Tagine and the Beef and Chorizo casserole. There are recipes from all around the world and lots of english ones too, including soups, preserves and desserts. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone and as for the person who commented that there was too much pre-browning of meat...if you want to maximise the flavour of your dish then a few minutes to seal the meat has surely got to be worth it to come home from work to find a beautiful tasty meal ready to eat.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)