Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of D-Day, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Charles Roy Flogdell (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent collection of memories from those who took part in this momentous invasion. The words are strict quotes from representatives of all ranks in the language of the individual, making this the most personal and emotional account of D-Day that I have read. Do not wonder why old soldiers often do not speak of such days, just wonder how most lived a normal life after the event.
This is war as seen by soldiers, sailors, airmen and planners, not later analysis by historians. It is an account of bravery, death and horific wounds. It tells of men facing unbelievable odds, the loss of friends and colleagues and yet overcoming the enemy and placing a firm foot on Europe on this, the first day of the long last battle of the second world war.
Read it and be thankful for the sacrifices made that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully not forgotten voices, 6 July 2009
By 
A. Higgins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband, who has enjoyed other books from this series. He thoroughly enjoyed reading it, as the first hand accounts are both fascinating and extrememly moving. The book is very easy to dip into because of its format. My father fought on the Normandy beaches, and so it was especially important for us to read this book. No one can tell the story better than those who were there, and we should record their experiences while they are still with us. Lets hope their sacrifice along with their voices are never forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must, 7 Jun 2010
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of D-Day: A Powerful New History of the Normandy Landings in the Words of Those Who Were There (Paperback)
The Forgotten Voices series of books are, for me, some of the most moving, eye opening and valuable insights into war and its impact on individuals that are available.
Forgotten Voices of D Day, carries on in the same vein as previous worthy volumes. This is eye witness, participant history of the highest order.
From bomber and glider pilots to naval personnel, paratroopers to meteorologists, Royal Marines to the infantry and even the contribution of conscientious objectors - it's all here, the whole range of human emotion and achievement in the face of huge adversity.
This book sets its stall out early on - one of its "missions" is to redress the balance. That is, to show the D Day landings were not solely an American venture - as the book points out, recent film and TV portrayals and indeed, some non fiction writing, has been dismissive (and in my opinion hugely disrespectful) about the contribution made to the D Day landings by British armed forces and indeed the level of challenge they faced.
This is D Day, unashamedly from a British perspective.
This book covers the preparation, the postponement, the raids on vital bridges and batteries, the landings and the push inland.
The entries are vivid and you can only admire the strength of character of the people whose accounts are included (and of course the many thousands whose are not).
There is so much to admire in this book. It is not just the bravery and utter drive and determination of the people involved it's also their sense of humour and penchant for understatement which goes towards making this a harrowing, exciting,emotional and educational read.
If you are not gripped, if you are not moved, when you read this book,then you may as well give up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, 13 Jun 2009
It makes me feel humble when I read of the sacrifices made by so many people on our behalf. I would probably not have the freedom and right to even be writing this review should their sacrifices have been in vain. The fact I am able is testament to the bravery, skill and dogged determination to see the job through. This book should be on every school Curriculum. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last a british d-day story, 12 Mar 2011
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of D-Day: A Powerful New History of the Normandy Landings in the Words of Those Who Were There (Paperback)
I am very pleased with this book. there is a tendency for D-day to be overpublished nowadays, it probably being the battle with the most literature on. The thing is people tend to focus most heavily on the airborne and omaha beach campaigns, indeed some very good films have been made about both. The thing is there were five beaches on D-day and until now not very much wider market material has been published on the British beaches.

This book as all the other books in this series, brings the whole story to life. the build up with slapton disaster, right up to the end of the first day. the british contribution was equally as important and I feel that this book finally creates the much needed balance to the history of this famous battle.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone. this book expertly tells a story that simply has to be known by people in this country in order to preserve our historic struggle in WW2, buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful veterans accounts of d day, 22 Jan 2010
By 
A. Jasper (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent veterans account of the D Day, and what happened on the 6th June 1944. Quite an emotional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWII, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. S. J. Hodgson (N Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If interested in World War II - excellent book to read from a different perspective of those who were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of D Day, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Keith Fellowes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent very readable and at times emotional epic. A valuable addition to any history section and should be compulsory in all secordary schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of the British action on D-Day, 10 Jun 2010
By 
C. Austin "Tricky Trev" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm half way through this book and already of the opionion that this is one of the best D-Day books that I have read, and I have read quite a number. The book shares the accounts of British servicemen before, during and after D-Day. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british spirit, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of D-Day: A Powerful New History of the Normandy Landings in the Words of Those Who Were There (Paperback)
a wonderful insight to the boys who fought to give us the freedom we enjoy today. sometimes funny,sometimes sad, but always the horror and death that war brings. if you have an interest in ww2, this book is a must for a collection. i like the way there is no distinction between the ranks or services. from generals to privates, wingcommanders to air gunners and sea captains to seaman, they manage to get over their memories to you in their own way, we will be forever be in their debt...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews