Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars12
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2008
If you have tears to shed prepare to weep. A story of heartwrenching sadness but, in the end, one of the triumphs of the unbreakable human will. It will help to explain the damage done by an alcholic of those nearest and, supposedly, dearest. A great read, finished in two sessions!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
This is an excellent true story that i just could put down untill the end well worth reading
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2008
I've just finished the girl in the wicker basket.In which Ann tells the story of her childhood. Its a very sad story of how she was beatan by her stepmother and stepfather all througout her childhood, and abused by her grandfather.She was treated by an outsider throughout her childhood. It then goes on to tell how she moved to London and married, her husband was an alcoholic and she had it very hard.I hope writting this book will help her come to terms with her past, and i wish her all the best. She is a true surviver. The book is a must read.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A shocking revelation of how unbelievable cruelty can be inflicted on an innocent child, a child who had amazing determination which she had to keep fightint to keep through an abusive marriage. No one should be subjected to this. She is a very brave lady to relive all the horror by writing her book. I hope it has helped her to lay some of the demons to rest and to move forward to live the rest of her life in true happiness and contentment.
It is a book you can't put down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2009
It's horrendous to think that people knew what was happening and would not speak up. Children were hushed up in the past but hopefully that has all changed now with helplines etc
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
I could not put this book down. I find it hard to understand how anyone could treat a child like this. Ann had such a sad life but showed such amazing courage I hope she now finds happiness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Friend loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
Not the sort of book i would have read,it covers a third of childhood and the rest is about her life has a wife and mother. A sad book, but i have read better written books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Have read lots of books like this but this book is quite badly written compared to others. Won't be reading any more books by this author!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)