Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph through tragedy
If you have tears to shed prepare to weep. A story of heartwrenching sadness but, in the end, one of the triumphs of the unbreakable human will. It will help to explain the damage done by an alcholic of those nearest and, supposedly, dearest. A great read, finished in two sessions!
Published on 23 Feb. 2008 by E. I. C. Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reading
It's horrendous to think that people knew what was happening and would not speak up. Children were hushed up in the past but hopefully that has all changed now with helplines etc
Published on 26 Oct. 2009 by Mr. R. Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumph through tragedy, 23 Feb. 2008
By 
E. I. C. Johnson "Eyebright" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have tears to shed prepare to weep. A story of heartwrenching sadness but, in the end, one of the triumphs of the unbreakable human will. It will help to explain the damage done by an alcholic of those nearest and, supposedly, dearest. A great read, finished in two sessions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the girl in the wicker basket, 3 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
This is an excellent true story that i just could put down untill the end well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant but very sad read, 21 Feb. 2008
By 
M. Doohan "book maven" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've just finished the girl in the wicker basket.In which Ann tells the story of her childhood. Its a very sad story of how she was beatan by her stepmother and stepfather all througout her childhood, and abused by her grandfather.She was treated by an outsider throughout her childhood. It then goes on to tell how she moved to London and married, her husband was an alcoholic and she had it very hard.I hope writting this book will help her come to terms with her past, and i wish her all the best. She is a true surviver. The book is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such bravery and determination, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
A shocking revelation of how unbelievable cruelty can be inflicted on an innocent child, a child who had amazing determination which she had to keep fightint to keep through an abusive marriage. No one should be subjected to this. She is a very brave lady to relive all the horror by writing her book. I hope it has helped her to lay some of the demons to rest and to move forward to live the rest of her life in true happiness and contentment.
It is a book you can't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 26 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. R. Gibson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
It's horrendous to think that people knew what was happening and would not speak up. Children were hushed up in the past but hopefully that has all changed now with helplines etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I find it hard to understand how anyone could treat a child like this. Ann had such a sad life but ..., 24 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
I could not put this book down. I find it hard to understand how anyone could treat a child like this. Ann had such a sad life but showed such amazing courage I hope she now finds happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly written, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. It had me captured me right from the beginning. Thank you for your,e lovely and emotional writing. I cried with you but laughed also. Great book xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
Friend loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The girl in the wicker basket, 21 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl in the Wicker Basket (Paperback)
Not the sort of book i would have read,it covers a third of childhood and the rest is about her life has a wife and mother. A sad book, but i have read better written books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl in the Wicker Basket
The Girl in the Wicker Basket by Ann Kenny (Paperback - 16 April 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews