Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 133 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One step beyond barbecuing - and it works
When Jane Grigson (Sophie's Mum) mentions and recommends someone else's food preparation book as 'excellent', it is as well to check it out. If you appreciate a level of advice such as 'Do not let your ducks catch fire', when discussing how to smoke fowl, and if you are fed up with 'over the top' recipes for smoking pork which include 'Wild Willie's Number One-derful...
Published on 22 Nov 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home smoking & curinmg
Useful book to help you set up your own home smoker. Gives clear guideline on curing and smoking times. Information times for smoking and curing are very clear plus the equipment you will need to built both a hot and cold smoker
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by chris.booth


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but..., 30 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Generally I think the book is good, but I was a bit disappointed to find some many of the hot smoking recipes included a requirement to cold smoke as well. If you don’t have the equipment to cold smoke (I don’t) you have to modify the recipes some what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Home Smoking Guide, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
My girlfriend and I have recently taken up fishing quite seriously and anticipating a glut of mackerel (so far still anticipating!) as well as working in the fishing industry, I have had some awareness of smoking...but had never tried it up until now.
I thought I should get the full story on cold and hot smoking, so found this book, which is fantastic...principals, personal comment, how to make the equipment from scratch, it goes through the whole process, from gutting/filleting and preparing meat, fish and cheese, brining, flavouring, through to how long smoked meat can be stored.
This book is eseential if you want to start home smoking and I completely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good information for your smoker, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Alan W. Denton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is really good information for your smoker. I love it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely practical, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Mike Daplyn (Totescore, Isle of Skye, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
I bought this book ten years ago when I was living in Lesotho and catching a fair number of trout in the summer months. I found I could get oak sawdust in South African outdoor-goods stores so, following Erlandson's instructions, I built a half-scale classic 'ty bach' (privy-style) cold smoker which after a certain amount of trial and error would turn one-pound trout into rather nice 'deluxe kippers' that could be eaten without further processing. Smashing with a chilled dry white wine. I had also become addicted to kassler pork chops - a South African speciality - so I used to fill up with chops any spare space left by the trout. The really good thing for the absolute beginner (as I was) is that Erlandson takes it step by step, very clearly (especially the pre-smoking cure)and without mystification. My next project now I'm back in UK will be to convert a milking stall in a disused cow-byre into a smoker so that I can do sea fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Not as good as I had hoped but still usefull
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suitable more for small producers., 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Well written & produced but, little use for home BBQ users.
Most information is mainly suited for people producing smoked meats / fish on a commercial
basis.I found it to be not very helpful !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like the concept but have yet to get smoking. covers more than over books on the topic will let you know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home Smoking & Curing, 14 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Good clearly written book full of practical advice. Being too lazy to build an adequate smoker I have decided to buy ready smoked products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Smoking and Curing
Home Smoking and Curing by Keith Erlandson (Hardcover - 4 Sep 2008)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews