Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


136 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One step beyond barbecuing - and it works
When Jane Grigson (Sophie's Mum) mentions and recommends someone else's food preparation book as 'excellent', it is as well to check it out. If you appreciate a level of advice such as 'Do not let your ducks catch fire', when discussing how to smoke fowl, and if you are fed up with 'over the top' recipes for smoking pork which include 'Wild Willie's Number One-derful...
Published on 22 Nov. 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home smoking & curinmg
Useful book to help you set up your own home smoker. Gives clear guideline on curing and smoking times. Information times for smoking and curing are very clear plus the equipment you will need to built both a hot and cold smoker
Published on 28 Dec. 2010 by chris.booth


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One step beyond barbecuing - and it works, 22 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Jane Grigson (Sophie's Mum) mentions and recommends someone else's food preparation book as 'excellent', it is as well to check it out. If you appreciate a level of advice such as 'Do not let your ducks catch fire', when discussing how to smoke fowl, and if you are fed up with 'over the top' recipes for smoking pork which include 'Wild Willie's Number One-derful rub', then you should read this book.
Keith Erlandson is a retired gamekeeper, perhaps best known for his well respected books on training gun dogs. In his leaner years, he supplemented his income by curing and smoking fish and game. He therefore has the benefit of first hand practical experience when constructing smokers - which is sometimes lacking in other guides to smoking food. One such recommends using an old 'fridge for smoking, "but be careful not to get it too hot or the food will taint from the burning plastic!"
Recipes cover hot and cold smoking, curing as preparation for smoking, and what to expect! If you have never tasted hot smoked chicken or turkey, or hot smoked fish, such as cod, haddock or sea bream, then this will be an eye opener. The directions work and the results are superb, even pork sausages taste special when hot smoked, and smoked eggs..... The more difficult cold smoking process is also explained in the sort of detail which allows you to start with confidence. Part travelogue, where he returns to his Scandinavian roots, one gets the comforting feeling that he is demystifying what is a very old fashioned and simple skill. If the price of the book bothers you, check out the price of even chemical smoked chicken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only ever buy one book on this subject, buy this one., 14 Jun. 2002
By 
Michael J. Love (Ballynure, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have to admit that I have read this book in an earlier edition, many years ago, and it was this book that gave me a lifelong interest in the subject. The new edition is greatly updated and very modern in style and prose, and has to be one of the easiest to read technical books ever written. The knowledge and enthusiasm of Mr. Erlandson are clear for all on every page and I would suggest that there is not one amongst us who could not successfully Smoke at home if we followed his advice! You will learn about the origins of the process, it's evolution through the centuries, pre-salting, brining, humidity, fuel, timing, storage and even how to cook cold Smoked foods in an excellent recipe section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newbie to smoking food, 18 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Huckstep "Hucky" (Wantage, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
As a newbie to smoking food, I was becoming somewhat disillusioned with the general 'internet' information so much so that my basic grasp on the subject was becoming confused. This book has if nothing else confirmed my belief that it is possible to knock something together in my back garden that will if nothing else give me a project to play with and hopefully not poison my family in the process. This book identifies the basic requirements, and identifies a few ways of achieving them, by identifying the simplistic nature of the solutions achievable by pretty much anybody. Regarding the actual smoking, a wealth of trial and error experimentation is offered in a pleasant read, I do not have access to, or a particular desire to smoke whole salmon, or cod roe, but I now have an understanding of the basics, and the knowledge that I need to get on and have a go to teach myself how to smoke a few sausages, a trout or a joint of bacon. All in all an encouraging start to my latest project from a book written in an informative, yet entusiastic and encouraing manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GR8 Book, 7 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
If you are interasted in smoking food or just wont to know a lottle about it then this book is the one for you.
it goes from the basics upward explaining all you need to know. he gives you examples of the differant smokers people use and have made to industrial smokers
he then goes into curing and how it is done and why
the book is full of usefull information and resipies that only experiance can give you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good info but old publication, 18 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
The descriptions of smoking techniques are I think very good, the author has no doubt many years of experience. Cold smoking, Hot smoking & Smoke roasting are described for an extensive range of fish, meat & birds. A lot of information and experience is imparted to the reader, along with information on building smokers. I doubt that you will find another author with as much knowledge that is not a commercial smoker. However the book was first published in 1977, and is illustrated with only simple line drawings, no photos at all! I think the book deserves to be republished in a modern format with photos (a picture really would say a thousand words!) and laid out in a manner that it became a reference book that you would keep dipping back into. This would no doubt double the price, but would be so worth it. The information needed to start smoking is all there for those who are already determined to have a go at smoking, those who are less convinced are unlikely to be inspired by the dull format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Smoking and Curing, 13 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
An excellent concise book that is a must have for anyone considering trying their hand at home smoking or curing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home smoking & curinmg, 28 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Useful book to help you set up your own home smoker. Gives clear guideline on curing and smoking times. Information times for smoking and curing are very clear plus the equipment you will need to built both a hot and cold smoker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 17 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Really good guide to the history of smoking and cooking this way. Well worth getting if you have a smoker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good place to start and more, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Although a little old now, this book is a very good place to start learning about brine curing, dry curing and smoking your own food. We have accumulated a few different books on this subject, but when it comes to the basic ideas this is the one we refer back to time and time again.Once you know the basic techniques and recipes they can be built on, and I would recommend this book as just that, a good basic starter for anyone on a journey into smoking their own food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home smoking, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Smoking and Curing (Hardcover)
Lots of useful information although mostly about commercial smoking the details of equipment used is useful general information for use if making your own smoker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Smoking and Curing
Home Smoking and Curing by Keith Erlandson (Hardcover - 4 Sept. 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews