Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney slang
I bought this for my mum who although she's a cockney from a long line of cockneys hasnt lived there for a long time and with all the older generations gone who knew all the old slang she's found that she's forgotten a lot of it. It gives the etymology of the words as well as new ones that have come into use. A very interesting book.
Published on 3 Dec. 2009 by Mrs. P. Guest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good
i saw this book and thought that coming from east end stock this would be a good read. but please! (peckham i always thought it meant peckham rye..tie...but now its victoria beckham..and who can forget exited.. torquay united!need i say more?
Published on 26 Jun. 2012 by frank perriam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney slang, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
I bought this for my mum who although she's a cockney from a long line of cockneys hasnt lived there for a long time and with all the older generations gone who knew all the old slang she's found that she's forgotten a lot of it. It gives the etymology of the words as well as new ones that have come into use. A very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
C. Blyth "charleyb" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Idea gift for friends abroad, I brought it for a few Canadian friends and they all found it hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney rhyming slang, 17 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
i use quite a bit of rhyming slang in my everyday life...so now i have my slang dictionary.and very funny it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Laugh, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Having lived in London with a Berkshire accent it didn't take long before my accent became almost cockney (Not by design) I have often been teased so now I get back at the teasers by using Rhyming Slang. We have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang by Geoff Tibballs, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my husband who is a Londoner. We like to use cockney rhyming slang when appropriate and the family enjoy working out the clues. When I was teaching English my classes enjoyed learning about the history of the language and spent hilarious lessons writing essays in Cockney. The book size is useful for carrying around, especially for teachers, and the price is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orl Right, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Robert L. Newstead "Bow Bells" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Yes it covers must of my knowledge of cockney language gathered from my own Mother who was born in the East End within the sound of Bow Bells. It also has many new sayings brought in because we are now in the 21st century with all the new names of the past 50 years and more. A good book to browse through perhaps on a train journey travelling to Euston !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 26 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
i saw this book and thought that coming from east end stock this would be a good read. but please! (peckham i always thought it meant peckham rye..tie...but now its victoria beckham..and who can forget exited.. torquay united!need i say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide, 10 Sept. 2014
By 
Argyll Sock (Barrie, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
This is a delightful book, which explains the substantial vocabulary of Cockneys. For insider knowledge of a cheeky, irreverent people, you cannot go wrong with this book. Breezy, bright and packed with information, this is a delightful, cheerful expose of a closed culture.

Kudos to Amazon.co.uk, which made this book available at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Is this geezer having a giraffe?, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a waste of time & money. The author clearly hasn't even been to east London. The book largely comprises of famous peoples names made to rhyme with random words and completely concocted slang. Utter rubbish..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for non-Londoners to laugh at Londoners! Gor blimey mate!, 6 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Very good book, which was bought as gift for non-Londoner... as he couldn't understand what we Londoners were saying 'alf the time! He was to say the least, 'appy when he opened it. Great fun present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang
The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang by Geoff Tibballs (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews