Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney slang
I bought this for my mum who although she's a cockney from a long line of cockneys hasnt lived there for a long time and with all the older generations gone who knew all the old slang she's found that she's forgotten a lot of it. It gives the etymology of the words as well as new ones that have come into use. A very interesting book.
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Mrs. P. Guest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good
i saw this book and thought that coming from east end stock this would be a good read. but please! (peckham i always thought it meant peckham rye..tie...but now its victoria beckham..and who can forget exited.. torquay united!need i say more?
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by frank perriam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney slang, 3 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
I bought this for my mum who although she's a cockney from a long line of cockneys hasnt lived there for a long time and with all the older generations gone who knew all the old slang she's found that she's forgotten a lot of it. It gives the etymology of the words as well as new ones that have come into use. A very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 28 Sep 2009
By 
C. Blyth "charleyb" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Idea gift for friends abroad, I brought it for a few Canadian friends and they all found it hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cockney rhyming slang, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
i use quite a bit of rhyming slang in my everyday life...so now i have my slang dictionary.and very funny it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Laugh, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Having lived in London with a Berkshire accent it didn't take long before my accent became almost cockney (Not by design) I have often been teased so now I get back at the teasers by using Rhyming Slang. We have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang by Geoff Tibballs, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my husband who is a Londoner. We like to use cockney rhyming slang when appropriate and the family enjoy working out the clues. When I was teaching English my classes enjoyed learning about the history of the language and spent hilarious lessons writing essays in Cockney. The book size is useful for carrying around, especially for teachers, and the price is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orl Right, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Robert L. Newstead "Bow Bells" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
Yes it covers must of my knowledge of cockney language gathered from my own Mother who was born in the East End within the sound of Bow Bells. It also has many new sayings brought in because we are now in the 21st century with all the new names of the past 50 years and more. A good book to browse through perhaps on a train journey travelling to Euston !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great mate, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
EVER WANTED TO KNOW A LITTLE MORE THAN APPLES AND PEARS. THEN HAVE A BUTCHER'S AT THIS LITTLE GEEZER.IT'LL GIVE YOU SOMETHING TO TALK ABOUT NEXT TIME YOUR HAVING A RUBY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
i saw this book and thought that coming from east end stock this would be a good read. but please! (peckham i always thought it meant peckham rye..tie...but now its victoria beckham..and who can forget exited.. torquay united!need i say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I recommend The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Argyll Sock (Barrie, ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang (Paperback)
This is a delightful book, which explains the substantial vocabulary of Cockneys. For insider knowledge of a cheeky, irreverent people, you cannot go wrong with this book. Breezy, bright and packed with information, this is a delightful, cheerful expose of a closed culture.

Kudos to Amazon.co.uk, which made this book available at a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luigi442wii's thoughts., 8 May 2014
This guide probably allow people to understand Del Boy.
No more confusion!!!!
Lovely-Jubbly

This may also cause laughter over the Phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang
The Ultimate Cockney Geezer's Guide to Rhyming Slang by Geoff Tibballs (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews