Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lifts the lid
The author reveals a harrowing story of her upbringing in a violent, alcoholic household which she escaped early, only to pick up a series of violent, abusive boyfriends. In danger of falling into the abyss of prostitution and drug abuse, she turns her life around by getting into lap-dancing at Stringfellows. She moves on to a series of other establishments, most of them...
Published on 20 April 2010 by King James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars an easy read
I agree with the review that says this is a quick holiday read and definately full of home truths about London stripping . Why didnt I give it more , firstly I think that the need for pseudonims and composite characters to protect the not so innncent of the east end , have this story a rather false feel , so that it was more Martina Cole at times . Also i didnt really...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by cartoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lifts the lid, 20 April 2010
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
The author reveals a harrowing story of her upbringing in a violent, alcoholic household which she escaped early, only to pick up a series of violent, abusive boyfriends. In danger of falling into the abyss of prostitution and drug abuse, she turns her life around by getting into lap-dancing at Stringfellows. She moves on to a series of other establishments, most of them far less salubrious than Stringfellows, and this certainly is no whitewash job of the industry, she meets some unsavoury characters along the way, male and (mainly) female. Ends on an upbeat note with her saying goodbye to stripping and moving on with her life. Good luck to her, she deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shows another side of stripping- excellent!, 4 July 2008
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
There seems to be a revival of 'confession' style books coming out just now, so much so that you may worry that they're all the same. Perhaps so, but Girl in High Heels is different enough to stand out. For starters, it's not been published anonymously. Ellouise Moore has put her name to the book, but has changed the names of the vast majority of the people she mentions in the book, to protect their identities, and her kneecaps, by the sounds of it!

I'm sure many people have the opinion that strippers are somehow beneath people with 'normal' jobs - but this book will definitely change your mind. It proves that these girls aren't 'dirty' or prostitutes (according to Ellouise, some are, but by no means every one!), they're simply normal girls, albeit more attractive ones with nice figures, trying to make money. And once they see how much money is up for grabs, they tend to get hooked. And it's completely understandable - the amounts of money involved are phenomenal.

Ellouise Moore was dealt a crappy hand in life, a difficult upbringing which meant she had to start fending for herself from a very early age. She could have become a down-and-out, taking drugs, selling her body, etc. But she got into the world of stripping and gradually turned her life around. She's now a successful businesswoman, owning several properties and using her situation to help other young women.

I found this a really endearing book, which probably sounds like a weird thing to say. However, although stripping is often seen as seedy, Moore proves that it's not all bad. Yes, there is prostitution and drug-taking going on behind the scenes, but not everyone is involved. I just found this a pretty heart-warming tale about a girl who dragged herself up from nothing, took advantage of a lucrative industry and can now walk with her head held high, displaying incredible strength. I say fair play to her. A really easy read, and also an eye-opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Girlfriend Experience says - it's the perfect holiday read!, 29 Jun 2010
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
Being for a short while in the dance industry, and then working after as an escort, this book was of great interest to me. It certainly did not disappoint!

I found many similarities between Ellouise and myself, and when ones reading, to be able to relate to the person really makes a difference, because you feel to a certain extent that you know them. This is a warts and all autobiography about a strong, independent woman who chooses stripping to earn a living and change her life around in a positive way.

It's very endearing when you read her first stripping audition. This book has it all - the bitchiness, abuse, the prostitution and the seedy side, but the best thing about the book it is that Ellouise comes across as such a genuine and likeable girl.

Elloise had a shocking upbringing, but managed to turn her life around. She chose to make her own money and not rely on anyone for anything. I relate to her drive and independence. Reading autobiographies like this always make me proud to be a woman! Girl power rar! :-p

Dancing is another industry like escorting where girls can get trapped in a surreal world; enjoying a certain lifestyle of partying, late nights, drinking and material things, which makes it difficult to get out. It becomes a way of life and all you know, so I take my hat off to Ellouise for finally turning her back on stripping. As an ex escort I know stopping was one of the hardest things I've had to do, because there's always a bit of temptation to go back when money gets low.

Ellouise did things her way, was head strong, and kept her head above water in an industry (like with escorting) where a lot of girls end up damaged mentally, on drugs, alcoholics and men haters.

Definitely a great holiday read, I couldn't put this down! Although take a few more books if you're on your jollies because you'll get through this one quickly :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars an easy read, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
I agree with the review that says this is a quick holiday read and definately full of home truths about London stripping . Why didnt I give it more , firstly I think that the need for pseudonims and composite characters to protect the not so innncent of the east end , have this story a rather false feel , so that it was more Martina Cole at times . Also i didnt really like Ellouise , she seemed so perfect at the end of the story , saving all her money etc etc and i decided that being a stripper was yht only interesting thing about her . Maybe alittle better ghost writing would have helped , as this story didnt really touch me. i wanted to feel her emotions yet it seemed as cold as a stripper up on the stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing red,could not put down!, 20 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
I am buying this for the second time as a friend borrowed mine and refuses to give it back. An amazing read one i will want to read again. I could not put this down.

The story captches alot of different emotions that even if you have not been in the situations the authors writes about u can imagine and relate to it.

First look into another way of life.

Jade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Girl in High Heels, 15 Sep 2011
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
Prompt delivery and an interesting after reading about call girls. It shows the difference between the 2 careers. A good book that's hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read !!, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
An interesting, honest & funny insight to the dark world of strippers.

These are the types of books i only read & this one is on of my favourites, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 6 July 2011
By 
Ann Overton (Bideford, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
This book was an amazing read, how Ellouise Moore , writer got into the stipping game to make money, how she got into Stringfellows and how on several occassions before stripping, she had to go round with an empty jug to collect extra money before she went on stag, its a fab book, one you wont be able to stop reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent eye opener, humorous, witty - a brilliant read!!, 3 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
I knew straight away when buying this book I was going to enjoy it and it proved just that. I just couldn't and refused to put this book down. I've always been fascinated by the stripping industry and I love how Ellouise goes into detail but not to the extent where your lost completely. It's simple and to the point. It really gives you the insight into what the industry is really like, showing you it's not as sleazy as most people make it out to be. You can straight away relate to her making her someone you would love to get to know as a person. I definately recommend this book a fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A decent one at last!, 1 Jun 2008
This review is from: Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper (Paperback)
I'm a big real life/diary fan and after a series of disapointments of late I was more than pleased to read something more than just someone's oversexed life! girl with a one track mind, diary of a manhattan call girl - good books but no more than the day in day out life of one semi interesting person.
Girl in high heels actually talks about the industry, other girls, clients, everything as well as her experience so it was an eye opener and interesting as well as her journey. Some of the stories seem too fantastical to be true and some of the harrowing bits I really hope aren't true! but it just makes it a more exciting read. It's well written and an easy read - I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper
Girl in High Heels: Intimate Confessions of a London Stripper by Ellouise Moore (Paperback - 29 May 2008)
6.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews