Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staggering achievement, 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. Finan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has been a long ime in gestation. Goddard has a great pedigree on this subject (Songs That Saved Your Life), and the omens were good for this exhaustive tome - you will not be disappointed. Truly, truly. Astounding. He draws all possible recordings, unreleased material, influences, and, for the first time, an in-depth look at all Morrissey's solo output. I kept looking to see "I wonder if he's got that bit in?", looking for obscure references - and every time, the answer was yes. There's stuff in here for the beginner, the knowledgeable fan, the absolute know-it-all. And still more. This book will, for years to come, be the most authoritative and insightful book on the subject of Morrissey & The Smiths. Oh, and it's a quality, well-put-together, stylish book.

A stunning piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive in detail and fascinating in content, 26 July 2009
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm only a third of the way through this mighty tomb of a book but still I feel confident enough to proclaim it the most valuable and informative document on Morrissey and The Smiths to date.

The wealth of detail is seriously heart stopping. Goddard is to be commended for the work and research he has so clearly invested in his subjects.

Without doubt this is a work for the fan. I suspect that any casual reader stumbling upon this book would be tortured and rendered numb by the depth of interest in Morrissey's passions and psyche contained within.

Were it solely based on Goddard's song by song analysis this book would be a masterpiece. With equal attention given to the likes of smiths clothing, obscure heroes and Morrissey's interest in stationary however, the book becomes an essential masterpiece.

I cannot see this work ever being bettered. Truly essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOZZERIAN BEAUTY, 23 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speechless? Oh, yes.

Painstakingly researched, supremely well written, deliciously infuriating, MOZIPEDIA is all you ever wanted to know about Mr Morrissey and always dared to ask.

Everything is here: music, literature, films, heroes and villains, all beautifully printed and packaged. From a-ha to Yuro, a kaleidoscope we will never tire of exploring.

Music Book Of The Year. No contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I concur, 16 Nov 2009
A spectacular book, written in a way I'm sure Morrissey himself would approve of. The level of detail is mind-blowing and I would easily rate this as one of the top books this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery of Morrissey, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Jennifer "Jen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
As the book is split into these sections, it makes it an easy to read book and it is also easy to find particular items of interest. Some passages are longer than others but you can dip in and out of this book rather than read it from cover to cover. Although I started at the beginning I did find myself dipping in and out of other parts further into the book.
I did begin this book with an open mind and did not expect too much from it as I have found in the past that many of these types of books are not very readable, or they contain the information you already know and little of what you don't.

What sets this book apart for me is the fact that this is written by a true fan, Q journalist Simon Goddard. His passion for the subject material shines through and makes the text a very interesting read, telling the story behind every song Morrissey has recorded, either as a solo artist or with The Smiths. Goddard is also the author of 'Songs That Saved Your Life' a book about the songs of The Smiths published in 2002.
It was also interesting to hear that this is the only Smiths book to earn the approval of the band's founder member and guitarist Johnny Marr.
If there is anything to criticise here it could perhaps be said that Goddard is too much of a fan and finds it hard to be negative at all, by apologising for some of Morrissey's more controversial comments, but even this did not spoil my overall enjoyment of this book.

The information included here is concise but it still flows, making the text interesting to read and not just a set of lists and facts. There are also sections with photographs of Morrissey and The Smiths as well as photographs of various things mentioned in the book, such as Morrissey's influences, with an interesting amount devoted to the New York Dolls. Another interesting inclusion is the references to and also the passages on some songs that were never released.

Whilst this book could be the ultimate biography on Morrissey, what made it particualrly interesting for me is that it explains what us fans get from the singer's work and his music and lyrics. I identified a lot with the early Smiths lyrics of the 80's and it is also interesting to find out influences for certain lyrics etc.
Morrissey's cultural love of often obscure books, music, films and certain social groupings are all referred to here.

Overall, this book will obviously only appeal to fans of Morrissey and The Smiths. As a fan myself, I thought I knew quite a bit about Morrissey but I was wrong. Whilst the back cover's statement tells us "everything and anything you ever wanted to know about Morrissey" I found that even after reading this and discovering so much I didn't know, what is really evident is how Morrissey still remains something of an enigma. And I can't help but think that is a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 Sep 2009
By 
coca-ebola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There can be no doubt that this is the greatest piece of "Moz scholarship" so far.
As a list/review of Morrissey's sources of inspiration, this is quite staggering - Goddard has clearly spent a lot of time reliving Morrissey's cultural life, studying films and books (not to mention music) that even most Moz fans won't be aware he has ever mentioned, and finding their lyrical/musical/soundbite links to the Morrissey creeative oeuvre.
All of the newest/most interesting detail from "Songs That Saved Your Life" is recapitualted here, plus additional commentary from Marr and others. (Goddard's even taken a more generous view of certain songs). Importantly, in his research of Morrissey's solo career he's turned up a great deal of previously unknown information - unreleased and rare songs are discussed, mysterious figures in the Morrissey legend are interviewed or profiled (and new ones are revealed: I knew nothing of Moz's friendship with Chas Smash and its ramifications). And a lot of David Bret's poor research has been corrected (thankfully).
The only flaws are in his musical criticism of the solo career. It's clear that even after all these years he's a Smiths loyalist: a number of Moz fans are not overly fond of Jesse Tobias's writing, but on closer inspection there aren't many Alain Whyte songs that Goddard appreciates either! He tows the party line on the subject of Maladjusted (and its botched-up reissue), and nothing he may say will convince me that Years Of Refusal wasn't a self-parodic waste of time.
But such is the size and scale of this book that these problems hardly even register. It is somewhat of a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loves and hates and passions just like mine, 24 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Sumner "cen2s2s" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I'm a massive fan of The Smiths and Morrissey, I was unsure whether this book would be a worthwhile purchase - would it manage to keep my interest considering the vast amount of information in there?

Well, it's certainly not one for reading cover to cover in one go, but it's a brilliant reference and a must have for fans. It's like Wikipedia in book form - you go to it just to look up one entry such as a song title, but before you know it, you find yourself with your fingers in four different places in the book to bookmark articles you want to read next!! Exceptionally interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book AND great value, 24 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a GREAT book at a GREAT price and I highly recommend it to all Morrissey fans and all those who want to know more about this pop idol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 25 Dec 2011
I received this book as a Christmas gift and as a lifelong Morrissey fan, couldn't wait to get in to it. I've read other books on Morrissey, and The Smiths and I can honestly say none come close to this, it is absolutely brilliant. From details on his finest solo and Smiths songs, to more obscure entries such as his fondness for Eric Cantona, it has it all. If you are a fan, it really is a must. Five stars doesn't do it justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the moz, 13 Sep 2009
so far so good very informative, if you think you know the Moz , then i dare you to read this most informative book . excellent. well worth the price tag. viva moz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozipedia: The Encyclopaedia of Morrissey and the Smiths
Mozipedia: The Encyclopaedia of Morrissey and the Smiths by Simon Goddard (Paperback - 6 Sep 2012)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews