Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A staggering achievement, 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. P. Finan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has been a long ime in gestation. Goddard has a great pedigree on this subject (Songs That Saved Your Life), and the omens were good for this exhaustive tome - you will not be disappointed. Truly, truly. Astounding. He draws all possible recordings, unreleased material, influences, and, for the first time, an in-depth look at all Morrissey's solo output. I kept looking to see "I wonder if he's got that bit in?", looking for obscure references - and every time, the answer was yes. There's stuff in here for the beginner, the knowledgeable fan, the absolute know-it-all. And still more. This book will, for years to come, be the most authoritative and insightful book on the subject of Morrissey & The Smiths. Oh, and it's a quality, well-put-together, stylish book.

A stunning piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive in detail and fascinating in content, 26 July 2009
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm only a third of the way through this mighty tomb of a book but still I feel confident enough to proclaim it the most valuable and informative document on Morrissey and The Smiths to date.

The wealth of detail is seriously heart stopping. Goddard is to be commended for the work and research he has so clearly invested in his subjects.

Without doubt this is a work for the fan. I suspect that any casual reader stumbling upon this book would be tortured and rendered numb by the depth of interest in Morrissey's passions and psyche contained within.

Were it solely based on Goddard's song by song analysis this book would be a masterpiece. With equal attention given to the likes of smiths clothing, obscure heroes and Morrissey's interest in stationary however, the book becomes an essential masterpiece.

I cannot see this work ever being bettered. Truly essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
coca-ebola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
There can be no doubt that this is the greatest piece of "Moz scholarship" so far.
As a list/review of Morrissey's sources of inspiration, this is quite staggering - Goddard has clearly spent a lot of time reliving Morrissey's cultural life, studying films and books (not to mention music) that even most Moz fans won't be aware he has ever mentioned, and finding their lyrical/musical/soundbite links to the Morrissey creeative oeuvre.
All of the newest/most interesting detail from "Songs That Saved Your Life" is recapitualted here, plus additional commentary from Marr and others. (Goddard's even taken a more generous view of certain songs). Importantly, in his research of Morrissey's solo career he's turned up a great deal of previously unknown information - unreleased and rare songs are discussed, mysterious figures in the Morrissey legend are interviewed or profiled (and new ones are revealed: I knew nothing of Moz's friendship with Chas Smash and its ramifications). And a lot of David Bret's poor research has been corrected (thankfully).
The only flaws are in his musical criticism of the solo career. It's clear that even after all these years he's a Smiths loyalist: a number of Moz fans are not overly fond of Jesse Tobias's writing, but on closer inspection there aren't many Alain Whyte songs that Goddard appreciates either! He tows the party line on the subject of Maladjusted (and its botched-up reissue), and nothing he may say will convince me that Years Of Refusal wasn't a self-parodic waste of time.
But such is the size and scale of this book that these problems hardly even register. It is somewhat of a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOZZERIAN BEAUTY, 23 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speechless? Oh, yes.

Painstakingly researched, supremely well written, deliciously infuriating, MOZIPEDIA is all you ever wanted to know about Mr Morrissey and always dared to ask.

Everything is here: music, literature, films, heroes and villains, all beautifully printed and packaged. From a-ha to Yuro, a kaleidoscope we will never tire of exploring.

Music Book Of The Year. No contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey and the Smiths: The Alpha and the Omega of the Greatest Group Ever.. Frankly, Mister Shankly, 9 Oct. 2010
This book is incredibly informative and insightful in regards to every aspect or link to the Smiths heritage and Morrissey's solo career.
Goddard has found some really strange references and the photo sections are also admirable (however, I would have preferred if the images --or more images, even black n white-- were scattered all over the book over the references to which they referred, as it looks and feels far too much like an encyclopedia-- which it professes to be be, so my wrong!)
Anyone researching on the Smiths, as I am, for a personal project, will find this book a great first step, and in connection with Goddard's other Smiths book "The Smiths Songs That Saved Your Life" and both Rogan's "Visual Dictionary" and the, much falsely, maligned "The Severed Alliance", you're in for a headtrip in regards to the wonderful weird and obscure trivia that you'll find about Mozzer, Marr and Co!
P.S. I would have loved more info on the Moz-Linder Sterling connection, as my project focuses a lot on that relationship, as it definitely influenced his singing, performance and celibacy issues/spin when he later formed the Smiths with Marr, Rourke and Joyce; even so, it still remains firstly and more importantly: a hugely enjoyable read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I concur, 16 Nov. 2009
A spectacular book, written in a way I'm sure Morrissey himself would approve of. The level of detail is mind-blowing and I would easily rate this as one of the top books this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loves and hates and passions just like mine, 24 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Sumner "cen2s2s" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I'm a massive fan of The Smiths and Morrissey, I was unsure whether this book would be a worthwhile purchase - would it manage to keep my interest considering the vast amount of information in there?

Well, it's certainly not one for reading cover to cover in one go, but it's a brilliant reference and a must have for fans. It's like Wikipedia in book form - you go to it just to look up one entry such as a song title, but before you know it, you find yourself with your fingers in four different places in the book to bookmark articles you want to read next!! Exceptionally interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 25 Dec. 2011
I received this book as a Christmas gift and as a lifelong Morrissey fan, couldn't wait to get in to it. I've read other books on Morrissey, and The Smiths and I can honestly say none come close to this, it is absolutely brilliant. From details on his finest solo and Smiths songs, to more obscure entries such as his fondness for Eric Cantona, it has it all. If you are a fan, it really is a must. Five stars doesn't do it justice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put it down, 4 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a gift for someone who loves Morrissey and list books/music encyclopedias, so I couldn't really go wrong. It is a great book, which I could hardly put down myself. There's so much information to digest, so much detail, and what is most enjoyable is the way the book tells so much about British culture. It is also great to read about Morrissey's interests and is a good jumping off point for more artistic explorations. Riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Bible, 8 May 2011
As Morrissey once sang "these more to life than books you know, but not much more" and that is true for this book. Goddard has included everything a Morrissey fan would want to know about Moz and more. Well written and humour in places, it gives a fair overview of Morrissey work including details that would be unknown before to the most dedicated Morrissey fan. A Definite must buy! The bible for any Morrissey worshiper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozipedia: The Encyclopaedia of Morrissey and the Smiths
Mozipedia: The Encyclopaedia of Morrissey and the Smiths by Simon Goddard (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews