Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This brings you right onto the movie set, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:35 Mins

This is probably the best making-of-the-movie book I've read so far this year.

A lot of effort must have been put into research. Considering when the first Indiana Jones movie was shot, I'm very impressed by how they manage to document all this information.

The book is about the production process of the 4 Indy movies, up to the Crystal Skull. The narration explains in great detail all the events that happen behind the scenes. It's filled with lots of interviews. Read from how Spielberg came up with Indy's name to the last day of shooting Crystal Skull where Harrison Ford gave Shia LaBeouf a signed hat.

Reading the book is like working on the set itself. For that, it's worth the price alone.

There are hundreds of high resolution production photos. Several art illustrations were put in also, such as posters, storyboards and set designs. There are 300 pages in this 15-inch (screen measurement) book.

For fans of Indiana Jones, this will be an immensely satisfying book. For non-fans, this book will still impress. This book is that good.

There are more pictures on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Films, Brilliant book, 6 Aug. 2008
By 
Captain EO "No. 7" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
It's a shame it's taken a fourth installment of the Indy series to get a book of this magnitude made but it's definitely worth the wait.

As a huge fan of this type of book and an even bigger fan of Indy, this publication is my idea of my heaven and each time I picked it up to read I never failed to be impressed. It's not absolutely perfect, there's a level of information provided that at times wanders into the realms of being pointless (minor crew injuries being the most noteworthy) but I'd much prefer a book with too MUCH information than one which leaves me wanting so much more, like many "Making-Of" efforts tend to.

Any book or documentary with Laurent Bouzerau's involvement is guaranteed to be extremely well-researched & highly professional & this Indy book is testament to this. It's beautiful to hold in your hands and if it was any larger it would take more than one person to turn it's pages as it's a heavy product as it is ! As you'd expect with any book licensed by Lucasfilm with Spielberg's involvement it also contains amazing images, many I've never seen before. The text is definitive and although there's a lot of stuff I already knew of, there's lots of new things that even the most knowledgable of Indy fans will learn.

If there was one thing I learnt from this book that I'd already suspected was the difference in opinion between Spielberg, Lucas & Ford on the latest installment. George Lucas insisted that it be a 1950's Alien B-Movie whilst Spielberg was reluctant to tread this path (especially some years back considering his involvement with ET, Close Encounters, etc). Harrison Ford makes no secret of the fact that the only part of the Indy series that he's not fond of is the supernatural, far-fetched stuff, in particular what he calls "little green men". As a big Star Wars fan I'll always hold George Lucas in high esteem but I firmly believe that where Spielberg still understands what an audience wants, Lucas has lost touch and reading of their difference of opinion here cements that opinion. I really enjoyed Crystal Skull but it would have been far more enjoyable without not just the idea but the scope and scale of the alien element of the story. I know Indy is a collaborative effort but it appears to me that eventually Spielberg & Ford wanted to make another installment so much that they almost "gave-in" to Lucas and went down along with his preferred idea.

To summarise, this book is totally absorbing. It's possibly the best book I've read of it's kind & each page was a joy to read. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive story behind the legend, 6 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. T. Zalucki (Ipswich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
I thought I would order this book as I am a great fan of the Indiana Jones films. This amazing book gives such in-depth information on all four of the films. The pictures are stunning, from storyboard to set.
As this book is published by Lucasfilm, they have unlimited access to everything and so it covers all of the films in near pornographic detail. A great book to read if you are a fan of the series or even if you are not this would make a very good coffee table book to pick up and flick through.

After reading it this morning I have learnt some really interesting things such as in 'Raiders', Indy shoots the arab swordsman because Speilberg and Ford couldn't be bothered to film a fight scene. And apparently in 'Temple of Doom' there are hieroglyphics of R2-D2 and C3PO on the wall!!. This is one of those books that will make you want to watch and fall in love with the films over and over again and appreciate how much work went into them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into the making of this classic series, 2 Jan. 2009
By 
J. L. Gerretsen (North East, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
What a great book! As a die-hard Spielberg fan since the age of 6 (when I first saw Jaws), this has been a fantastic addition to my collection and I highly recommened it. It gives so many insights into the how's and why's of the Jones quadrilogy, from decisions on actors and story lines to how Spielberg survived the shooting conditions in Tunisia, when everybody else (including Ford) was dropping like flies.... Really interesting to learn that Spielberg ate only canned Sainsbury's meals in order to avoid the rampant tummy bugs that everybody else was afflicted with!

Packed with photo's and artwork, it is a real treasure trove of information.... something that Jone's himself might have risked life and limb for to obtain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones: Eminent archaeologist and one of the greatest movie-making stories of all time!, 8 Feb. 2009
By 
M. Tan (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
All I can say is 'Wow!' when reviewing this book. Most other reviewers have said everything already, but the book is excellently put together and researched, with in depth info, interviews, artwork, posters, pictures and photos all chronicling the creation of the Indiana Jones series. One reviewer said the book focuses to much on Raiders but I think it needed to to really show how much work from the beginning it too to get Indiana Jones from script to screen. The book is massive and will take any bookworm some time to get through. I thoroughly enjoyed it and firmly believe it's the best Indy book out there, something even Indy himself would be proud of! A great buy, magnificent to look at and fascinating to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for any Indiana Jones fan, 29 May 2008
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
This really is a superlative book that covers all four Indiana Jones films with incredible depth. There are a wealth of interviews from cast and crew plus information covering so many aspects of the films (there are also segments of transcripts from discussions between Lucas and Spielberg giving extra insight into the making of the films), combined with a vast array of behind-the-scenes photographs, as well as images of artwork, promotional material and story boards. This book really has it all - 300 full colour pages with almost everything you could want to know about each film. It chronicles the origins of Indiana Jones, from how the franchise was first conceieved through to the making of the latest film. You will be hard-pressed ever to find a book about Indiana Jones as insightful as this - being an official Indiana Jones product on the Lucas Books brand, we get get truly exaustive facts courtesy unbridled access to the Indiana archives. Despite being an official product, the book is refreshingly open and honest about the franchise, discussing criticsms aimed at the the films over the years, as well as disagreements and problems encountered over the years, rather than painting a rose-tinted picture of everything. We all know how well the franchise turned out anyway (despite the somehwhat undewhelming 4th installment which left me rather disappointed). Whatever your opinion of the 4th Indy film, I can confidently say that this book is netiher underwhelming nor disappointing - I can't stress enough how wonderful it is. Without a doubt a must-have for any fan of Indiana Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It!, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
If you own the Making of Star Wars and the Making of the Empire Strikes Back, then this tome will sit nicely next to them in pride of place on your bookshelf. If you don't own any of them, buy this one and then the Star Wars books.

As far as lavish, informative books on the making of a movie go, this is IT. Never before seen shots sit alongside familiar photos. The text is in depth and tells an interesting and chronological tale of the creation of this beloved saga (OK and Crystal Skull! Nah I'm joking)

Value for money is 5/5, contents is the same.

Buy this book you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Collector Book, 29 May 2008
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
I am a huge fan of the "Indiana Jones" series, even though I was slightly disappointed with the most recent film. However, this `coffee-table' style book is a classic keeper! Authors J. W. Rinzler and Laurent Bouzereau piece together all the information any fan could want. From the inception where George Lucas and Steven Spielberg first start the process to the final sequel, there's a ton of information here. It's almost comical the way the storyboards are so carefully and accurately drawn and then filmed. The chronicling of the initial three films is a lesson in production where you get the inside scoop from Spielberg, Lucas and the cast and crew, especially the last ("Crystal Skull") film. I particularly liked the section on "deleted scenes" as some seemed like a good idea and others were just plain silly. This book would make a great present as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for an Indiana Jones fan, 13 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
I've been an Indiana Jones fan for almost 20 years now, my favourite movie of all time is Raiders of the Lost Ark. So when you've been a fan of this character for so long, THIS book is the perfect way to know the origins and all there is to know about the mythology of the famous professor/archeologist/adventurer! the perfect gift for an Indiana Jones fan. buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From what I've seen, 9 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films (Hardcover)
I got this gift for a friend on a hint from another friend who also has it. I looked through it some before I wrapped it and it looks amazing. I can't speak to the words but the pictures are the stuff of legend. The hardcover is also well worth it. It just feels so legit. If you like Indy you can't go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Making of "Indiana Jones": The Definitive Story Behind All Four Films
Used & New from: £17.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews