Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, compassionate, entertaining and magnificent.
I've been a fan of Stuart Maconie for some time and have thoroughly enjoyed all his books, particularly 'Pies and Prejudice'. I wasn't actually sure he would ever better that effort but with 'Hope and Glory' he has at least matched it and possibly gone on a step further. 'As funny as Bryson and as wise as Orwell' is the Observer's verdict and for once this is no...
Published on 14 Sept. 2011 by Marnie Crowder

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable in parts
I have enjoyed Stuart Maconie's other books and his work on the radio. This, however, is a bit of a mixed bag. It reads as though the book was written and published in a rush.

Maconie sets up each chapter with a quote about a particular year. He soon wanders a long way from this quote - usually but not always - telling the reader of his travels. His travels are...
Published on 12 May 2013 by PB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars and he makes Orwell sound like a right-wing swivel-eyed loony, 5 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain (Paperback)
Well, Bryson he ain't... and he makes Orwell sound like a right-wing swivel-eyed loony. Maconie parades his right-on PC credentials, having a go at all the usual targets - Thatcher, Cameron and Royalty. Basically he's saying "The People are Alright" regardless of what politicians get up to. Worth a shufty, but it won't change your life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toasted Tea Cakes and Prejudices, 14 July 2011
After Stuart Maconie's concern in one of the later chapters about Prince Charles's book on architecture only getting two reviews on Amazon, it's good to be able to boost his own review numbers and with a positive one, too. I share a lot of Stuart's demographic details (a Lancastrian of a certain age who is now in exile elsewhere) so I've always enjoyed his books, and found lots in what he says that chimes with my own views, and that's no different in Hope & Glory. The concept is a "good un" - taking a date from each decade of the twentieth century to illustrate a defining aspect of Modern Britain, but really he could have picked anything as a framework for his now trade-mark rambling round England with a wry-eye, an open-ish mind and a lot of social optimism. He takes us on urban trails and mountain paths from Basildon to Snowdonia, but his real 'trig points' are the kiosks and cafes where he can order his standing dishes of toasted tea-cake ("you can take the northerner out of . . . etc") and caramel lattes (. . . . maybe not . . . ) and reflect on the characters and stories that he's rubbing up against in that particular location. So the equation is simple - if you already like Stuart Maconie, then you'll love this, but if you don't, and if you don't share his preconceptions and prejudices, then this isn't going to win you over to him, because it does have a harder, more personal edge to it that his earlier works. The challenge for Stuart is where he goes next (geographically) with his writing, as he's just about 'done' Britain (or rather England).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Stuart Maconie, 3 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you're a Stuart Maconie fan then this will not disappoint. He takes an event from each decade of the last century and uses it to spark a discussion. Opinionated, sometimes, but never boring. If you've read his other stuff you'll know exactly what to expect. If you haven't then this is as good a place to start as any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Bryson - I'm not sure, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say at the outset, that by and large I am a Maconie fan. Where I feel somewhat cheated is
by the blurb on the front cover - `As funny as Bryson and as wise as Orwell'. This was always going
to be a hard claim to live up to. Maconie is without doubt, an intellligent writer and an astute observer.
This has served him well in previous works, but here the rhetoric became obvious, and his political leanings
a little too transparent to make for light reading or balanced opinion. At times I felt as though I was
trudging through the socialist worker or something similar.

On the positive side, it's obviously well researched and certainly informative. If you are looking
for the sort of sharp one-liners that can convulse you without warning, then Bryson apart, I would
stick with Michael Simkin's - Detour de France or John Brown's - North of Watford Gap.

All in all, an interesting read, but make the next one a little lighter Stuart !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... with mine so it was inevitable that I would enjoy reading it, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
Ms. Joan Jackson "book addict" (Telford, Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ascerbic and angry as ever - his views coincide exactly with mine so it was inevitable that I would enjoy reading it. I discovered this writer after stealing a friend's copy of Pies and Prejudice. I enjoyed it so much I actually returned it and apologised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book - a must read for anybody who has lived during the last century!, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain (Paperback)
Stuart Maconie is a fantastic writer - full of northern wit mixed with a socialist perception and a shrewd insight into what the real history of modern Britain has been. Read it - if you love history and good writing you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope & Glory, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, really interesting and funny. Paticularly liked the chapter from the 40's where Stuart explores Enoch Powell's old constituency. If I ever meet him I'm going to buy him a pint. Stuart Maconie, not Enoch Powell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another maconie delight, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain (Paperback)
This is the 3rd book by Stuart that I've read and he never fails to make me laugh,cry and stop and think .I can only reiterate a comment already stated by a reviewer in the book " I wish he had been my history teacher"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Paul Tarrant (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain (Paperback)
Another excellent Maconie tome. I listen to him regularly on 6 so this is as though he was reading aloud to me. V difficult to put down; one follows his enthusiasm from each idea, to each fact , tea cake and latte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intersting, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and humorous...if you are a fan of Stuart's this is definately worth a read. My only criticism is it wanders a little bit....but the subbject matter and topics he picks are educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain
Hope and Glory: A People's History of Modern Britain by Stuart Maconie (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews