Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The River Cafe book for every day
This book delivers exactly what its title promises: River Cafe food that's much quicker and easier to prepare than in their previous books. I love all the River Cafe books but it has to be said that, especially during the working week, I'm not always up to the lengthy preparation and constant involvement with the cooking that they so often require. So, for me, this is...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by Steve

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for novices
This is a very good book for novices, but the more accomplished cooks and foodies may find the content of this book to be lacking somewhat. To be fair, the authors have obviously set out to write a book of simple yet tasty recipes and they have definitely succeeded in this....my point is that one should not expect to find any new or exciting recipes here.
Published on 15 Dec 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The River Cafe book for every day, 10 Sep 2003
By 
Steve (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This book delivers exactly what its title promises: River Cafe food that's much quicker and easier to prepare than in their previous books. I love all the River Cafe books but it has to be said that, especially during the working week, I'm not always up to the lengthy preparation and constant involvement with the cooking that they so often require. So, for me, this is the perfect mid-week cookbook and it has quickly won a place on the kitchen bookshelf chez-moi. The recipes are significantly simpler than in the other books: they have shorter, less exotic ingredients lists and the methods are less involved and require less preparation. What's not compromised is the success of the dishes: perfectly judged flavours and endlessly fascinating combinations. So the end result is an excellent River Cafe style meal that takes far less time and effort to prepare than you'd believe from the taste. This book should be on every food lover's shelf, when it's not open on the kitchen counter that is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Peasy...., 20 May 2003
By 
Philip Roberts (Brighton - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last, a River Cafe Cook-book that has some achievable recipes in it!!
I have enjoyed other river cafe books, but many of the recipes have been completely beyond me, having never heard of some of the ingredients was never a bonus. So the powers that be have come up with this 'Easy' book for those of us how making dinner, is a necessity, not a career.
The main theme is Italian food, with some gorgeous recipes for us pasta lovers, also some advice and meal ideas for Barbecue's in the summer and the salsa verde is a hit in my house. The sauces are delicious and I have now actually made a couple which have gone down a treat. These meals are not for just looking at in the book, or reading about and then getting a take away, these are meals that you will make regularly, realise that they are simple to make and won't cost the earth, and there you have it, a mini revolution going on in your own kitchen. If I can put these culinary instructions into practice, trust me, anyone can!
Buy the book, have a flick through visit your supermarket with some fresh ideas, and enjoy the smiles on the faces of whoever you are feeding..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 21 May 2003
By 
S WALKER (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
River Cafe Cookbook Easy follows on in the same style as the earlier River Cafe books. It's clear and concise with naturalistic photography. Where it differs is that the ingredients and methodologies are much simpler. This is a cookbook that not only makes you want to cook the food, but makes you feel like you can! One to cook from - not just to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It really is easy, colourful and tasty, 27 April 2003
The River Cafe Cook Book certainly is Easy. The latest installment features recipes that are colourful, creative, tasty and tempting for even the novice cook. I usually like to see colour photographs of what the end result should look like and this cook book has plenty on offer. So far, I have made the Dark Truffle cake, which is just about the easiest and scrummiest chocolate cake I have ever eaten. The Chicken with Lemon and the Slow Roast Tomatoes were just as delicious.
I am looking forward to making some of the other recipes including the Gnudi Bianchi, as well as the many desserts that are featured. I especially liked the tips that are given throughout the cook book, the Italian Store Cupboard and list of Suppliers that are at the end of the book.
I highly recommend that this cook book should grace your bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for novices, 15 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This is a very good book for novices, but the more accomplished cooks and foodies may find the content of this book to be lacking somewhat. To be fair, the authors have obviously set out to write a book of simple yet tasty recipes and they have definitely succeeded in this....my point is that one should not expect to find any new or exciting recipes here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for easy, quick meals!, 14 Aug 2005
I've only recently bought this book, but have already cooked a recipe from it. When I flicked through it in a shop a little while ago I thought it would be the ideal cookbook to have for quick reference (like the Delia Smith chocolate, italian, pork etc collections).
Like another reviewer said, this cookbook is full of many ideas that others books already contain. However, if you're in a rush, want a quick easy meal with ingredients already in your cupboard, and you basically know what you fancy, then this book is ideal. I bought it for that reason and think it will live up to its purpose.
For midweek meals when you havent got time to plan or flick through your other cookbooks this is ideal. If you want a challenge, go elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull book, 17 May 2005
I love this book. the recipes are wonderfull and so easy to follow and easy to make recipe, easier than the other river cafe cookbook. It's defenitly a must have.
at the same time I bought Simple and Simply Delicious by Sylvie Rocher. Both book have great simple recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great Food, Easily Done, 29 Sep 2013
By 
M. Walker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: River Cafe Cook Book Easy (Paperback)
We have cooked many meals from this cookbook and all of them a triumph.

You don't have to have unusual ingredients that you've never of heard of, just simple a plain Italian tasty recipes, we live it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and Yummy, 13 May 2003
By A Customer
The recipes are very easy to follow and, of course, "yummy". Suitable for modern day life. If you love eating well but don't want to spend hours in the kitchen, this is the right book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, 7 Oct 2013
Has some nice enough recipes, but only a couple jump out. If you're looking to enhance ur knowledge, probably not the book for you. Good book for a pure beginner though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Cafe Cook Book Easy
River Cafe Cook Book Easy by Ruth Rogers (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews