Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly sweet
A little gem. Anyone who has avoided this book because of Mr McGrath's boisterous "blokey" persona that he projects in his television appearances should think again as he has written a truly charming and delightful read - a poignant and sensitive love story woven amongst the trials and tribulations of University and later adult life and all told through his own...
Published on 24 Mar 2009 by Emanon

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Birds and Bees
An engaging collection of shaggy dog stories and anecdotes,from the life of comic Rory McGrath, all connected to his interest in ornithology.

There are a number of autobiographical works where the author uses a love of Natural History as the unifying element in their life story; Gerald Durrell's "My Family and Other Animals" and Jocelyn Brookes's "The Military...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Rotgut


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected but very pleased nevertheless. A love story interwoven (or is that ..., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
Not quite what I expected but very pleased nevertheless. A love story interwoven (or is that intervolv'd) very cleverly with birding anecdotes. I too am a bit of a 'scientific name nerd' and surprised that Rory is too. Very well written with some interesting bird info I'd not known;.(eg. fancy not even supposing that subbuteo would mean lesser buzzard! Rory has a lovely sense of humour and would certainly be on my dinner guest short list, Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More to this thank meets the eye, 21 Jun 2008
By 
T. Cooke "a hnau" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Funny; romantic; full of anecdotes and facts about British birds. And it has a huge, heartwarming twist on practically the last page, which when you've grasped it, works its way back through the whole of the rest of the book and lights up virtually everything else you've read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a birding love story, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
This was a great little book which made me laugh out loud as I read it. A lovely twist to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
Being a fan of Rory McGrath and having an interest in bird watching I bought this book and found it to be a very pleasing read. Full of humour and ornithological facts I was not disappointed. A most enjoyable book that I will read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very amusing yet informative read., 19 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
Rory McGrath writes very well and manages to be informative and amusing. The first part of the book deals with his time as a student at Cambridge and his fascination with and love for JJ. The second part explores his relationship with Tori and his children and his attempts at developing his 'twitching' skills.
He is very knowledgeable about birds and the information he gives is fascinating. The conclusion came as a real surprise, involving-well, I won't say so as not to give it away.
Do read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and informative, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
This is a lovely book, very funny but you learn so much as you go along and of course it is a love story too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good read., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
If you like Rory McGraths sense of humour, you will certainly enjoy this book. It is a little story about his life and his passion for bird watching - including the feathered kind!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winging it, 4 Sep 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers (Paperback)
Despite a certain predictable blokeishness, and a couple of swipes at easy targets, this is a very funny, surprisingly moving, and oddly inspiring memoir.
On the one hand, the first section recounts the author`s university days at Cambridge (where this Cornishman now lives) during which he meets, tentatively courts, and falls head over heels for a girl he calls simply "JJ".
On the other hand, it is a book about birdwatching, and a fascinating aspect of this many-sided memoir is its knowledge of and love for birds, in all their variety of species, as well as their names, both English and Latin. In fact, I`d go as far as to say this book could not only interest the sympathetic reader in ornithology, but also Latin and etymology.
The second section of the book fast forwards at least a couple of decades, with Rory now married with two fractious teenage kids. He has been married, but seems to now have a girlfriend called Tori...
And thereby hangs a tale.
It`s a tale that is told with a deceptively offhand humour, hiding a sensitive soul beneath the witticisms and endless punning - birds` names seem to give themselves readily to wordplay. (Shags, tits, hobbies...)
I learnt a lot from Bearded Tit - and from the bearded tit who wrote it - and laughed loud and often. It is also, by the end, genuinely touching. By the time I reached the last page, I felt it amounted to more than the sum of its parts. It`s a book I shall read again one day, I enjoyed it so much.
Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and surprisingly tender, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I started reading this after rediscovering McGrath through the three men series he does for the BBC with Dara O' Briain and Griff Rhys Jones. I am a fan of his schoolboy humour and wanted to see if he could make me laugh with the written word.

He can.

The thing that surprised me about this book is that it is also lyrical, sweet and tender. McGrath shows a deeper, more charming side to his personality in this story of his growing love affair with the world of birding and the parallels in his relationship with a girl he falls in love with at Cambridge University, and later his relationship with his friend, Danny.

I am not particularly interested in birds, but McGrath writes about them in such a way that you find yourself being drawn into his world, and understanding more of what makes him so fascinated by them. His passion for them leaps out of the page at you, and he captures his obsession perfectly.

A lovely, funny book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bearded Tit - Rory McGrath, 8 Mar 2009
By 
S. C. Griffiths (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable. This book is Rory's life story with some birds thrown in. I believe that this book will appeal to people with an interest in birds especially but could be enjoyed by all - essentially it is what it says on the cover a love story, one with warmth, humour and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers
Bearded Tit: A Love Story with Feathers by Rory McGrath (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews