Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide to Slowing Down
This book is packed full of ideas and ways that you can slow down and start to really enjoy life. One of my favorite pleasures is the one covering walking with toddlers. Before reading this book, going for a walk with my toddler was by far one of the most frustrating experiences I could think of because he just ambles about on his own time and gets side tracked with the...
Published on 13 April 2009 by BK Stephens

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amusing book, wont last long
This is a fairly amusing book, however dont expect hours of reading, more of an anecdote book (maybe toilet shelf!)
Published on 15 May 2012 by james whiting


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Guide to Slowing Down, 13 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
This book is packed full of ideas and ways that you can slow down and start to really enjoy life. One of my favorite pleasures is the one covering walking with toddlers. Before reading this book, going for a walk with my toddler was by far one of the most frustrating experiences I could think of because he just ambles about on his own time and gets side tracked with the seemingly most mundane things. After reading the entry covering this exact issue, I have taken on a whole new perspective and now our walks together are some of the greatest enjoyments in my day to day life. This book covers it all; taking naps, sleeping in, baths, gardening, smoking and so much more. If you are looking to slow down and enjoy life this is a must have for your bookshelf that you will return to often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars amusing book, wont last long, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
This is a fairly amusing book, however dont expect hours of reading, more of an anecdote book (maybe toilet shelf!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best loo book ever written, 13 Nov 2013
This is the best loo book ever written. A selection of short essays which are the perfect length for your visit.

The passage on the dressing gown is my favourite. 'Come the revolution we will all be wearing dressing gowns.'

Dominic Frisby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be free, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
some great tips on how to enjoy things without spending money.(except for this book).

why do we have to spend money in order to have fun anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way forward, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
This should be a compulsory read whatever age you are. Certainly youngsters should read it so that they start off with a more sensible and balanced view of life. This reminds us that we are not meant to be hooked up to work 24/7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible! never is too late!, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
'couse i already live it, i wish i write this book :)
read it!
helps a lot to understand today life. if you already don't know it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Idle Pleasures, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
A fun book to flip through when you are stuck inside at work...to build on your own dreams of escape or to read about 'idle pleasures'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... a gift but flicking through it it seemed quite good and I knew that my friend would enjoy, 7 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift but flicking through it it seemed quite good and I knew that my friend would enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
GOOD VALUE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tittle tattle, 29 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: The Book of Idle Pleasures (Hardcover)
It's not great, but far from bad.

We all know what the idle simplicities of life are and enjoy them. This is the book. Emjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Idle Pleasures
The Book of Idle Pleasures by Tom Hodgkinson (Hardcover - 1 May 2008)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews