Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant holiday read
This book was great.
It usually takes me a few weeks to finish a book, this one took 3 days.
I took it on holiday with me, then two of my other friends read it after me whilst away.
It gives a great insight into the mind of 'promiscuous' girl.
Explaining why and how she goes about her love of not only sex, but loving of any kind in general...
Published on 15 Aug 2008 by L. E. Clark

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into a young misguided mind
This book is an interesting one. Although it's of a similar genre to all the other confessionals out there, the difference with this is that the author has actually put her name to it. In the beginning of the book she apologises to her children for one day having to read about her promiscuous past, but insists that she's done it to help other young people get an insight...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Lucy Felthouse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight into a young misguided mind, 27 April 2009
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loose Girl (Paperback)
This book is an interesting one. Although it's of a similar genre to all the other confessionals out there, the difference with this is that the author has actually put her name to it. In the beginning of the book she apologises to her children for one day having to read about her promiscuous past, but insists that she's done it to help other young people get an insight into what really goes on in young people's heads with regards sex and sexuality so they can make more informed decisions.

It's written as a memoir as opposed to a diary, and it does immediately suck you in (pardon the pun) and make you want to continue reading. In fact, sometimes it's difficult to remember that this isn't fiction.

The product of a broken home, Kerry Cohen is seeking love. She doesn't really know exactly what she wants, she just wants to be wanted. Discovering her power over men at the age of eleven, she embarks on a lifestyle which involves actively chasing boys and men in order to have sex, hoping this will make them love her. This is the story of her many, many lovers and how the trysts begun and ended. It's not explicit or erotic, nor is it meant to be. It is simply a narrative of someone's past.

It is an interesting read, and you'll want to finish to find out if Kerry ever finds what she was looking for. If you're interested in books like this, then definitely give it a read. It's unlikely to turn you on, but you'll still want to turn the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars well writen and honest, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loose Girl (Paperback)
The first half of this true memoirs works really well ; teenage girls , peer pressure , being thought of as a slut by your friends etc . Made me realise how much worse it must be for some girls now , as this is after all a teenager growing up in the 1980s , when times were far less sexual .
Second part of her story [ college days ] becomes more borring and a soul search aka Oprah/ eat pray / pity me . There is not alot of graphic sex here [ better off with girl with a one track mind ] In fact kerry isnt looking for sex just for the boyfriend . Also she never really gets into any real danger / trys any thing kinky / even attempts to have a relationship with any one who isnt a college boy .
The story looses its edge and becomes rather slowwww[...]

There should have been more details and less pity party , yet another lost woman writing about lack of self worth rather than sex , this is more a book re self abuse that having a good time .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant holiday read, 15 Aug 2008
By 
L. E. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loose Girl (Paperback)
This book was great.
It usually takes me a few weeks to finish a book, this one took 3 days.
I took it on holiday with me, then two of my other friends read it after me whilst away.
It gives a great insight into the mind of 'promiscuous' girl.
Explaining why and how she goes about her love of not only sex, but loving of any kind in general!
Definately recommend it to any girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly touching...an essential read for all young women, 17 Oct 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Loose Girl (Paperback)
Describing this book as tender and touching might not be what you would expect, but this really is an incredible read. Kerry Cohen became aware of the effect that her sexuality had over men from the age of twelve. She then spent many years going from one sexual encounter to another, desperate to find love and intimacy at any price. The book is touching because Kerry is so completely honest about what she was going through and what she did and why. It was incredibly sad to read about the cycle of co-dependence and the ways in which she completely suppressed herself and who she was in order to be `loved.'

Not only is this touching and tender, but also incredibly readable (I hate early mornings but I still got up at 6am today in order to finish it before work!) Despite the book dealing with sex addiction, I didn't feel that the book was at all titillating or overly explicit: it's just the story of an incredible and very `human' journey.

I think this would be a great book for most young women to read. It tells you all the things that your mother told you about men, and that you ignored or didn't want to hear!

Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and unimaginative, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Loose Girl (Kindle Edition)
I wanted a fifty shades type book for my holiday, fun, easy to read and just a little titillating.
This book was now of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loose Girl
Loose Girl by Kerry Cohen (Paperback - 3 July 2008)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews