Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A small man with a big story...
It is difficult to appraise "Always looking up" without tripping over the cliches...funny...moving..uplifting... Fortunately for people who prefer reading books, rather than reviews, Michael J Fox is a true original, with the sharp, vivid prose of a natural author, and a genuinely remarkable story to tell. Stricken with early-onset Parkinson's disease at the age of 29,...
Published on 29 May 2009 by Jayne Brewster Beard

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A man with a story
I thought there would have been a lot more insight into his life. the begining was ok you got a bit of that but the book became more political and his battle to promote stem cell research in the USA. It did become repetative towards the end. Still a remarkable man.
Published on 13 July 2009 by R. Mavin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A small man with a big story..., 29 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
It is difficult to appraise "Always looking up" without tripping over the cliches...funny...moving..uplifting... Fortunately for people who prefer reading books, rather than reviews, Michael J Fox is a true original, with the sharp, vivid prose of a natural author, and a genuinely remarkable story to tell. Stricken with early-onset Parkinson's disease at the age of 29, and the height of his Hollywood career, his early struggles to come to terms with his illness were recounted in the astonishing, must-read "Lucky Man". Now,in its sequel, he ranges widely over his recent life and explores his very personal philosophy of optimism. Whether writing with deep affection about his family, or unconcealed frustration over bruising encounters with the American political machine, a boundless energy and love of life illuminates every page - more incredible still when you consider that this is the work of a man trapped inside an increasingly unresponsive body.
He casts himself neither as saint, nor victim, revealing his flaws with entertaining candour. This is not your standard celebrity illness story, but a witty, inspirational portrait of an unsinkable human spirit. You finish this book feeling just a little better about life, the universe and everything. He may joke about being on the short side, but it is impossible not to look up to Michael J Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful successor to Lucky Man, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Lynne Barrett-lee (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lucky Man being one of my favourite all time memoirs, it was always going to be a hard act to follow, but in Always Looking Up, Michael J Fox has created a worthy sequel. He's such a fine writer and such a fine man. Nothing more needs to be said; an absorbing, intelligent and deeply moving read. I read it in two sittings, which says it all really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Kindle Edition)
Got both the Michael J Fox autobiographies for my kindle upon discovering that my Mother had just been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease. Although the books don't dwell on the disease itself they are informative of a person's struggle with the disease and how he got on with his life. Sad in parts and uplifting too. A true inspiration to not only other people with this disease but also to his family and himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leading the Search for a Cure, Adjusting to Parkinson's Disease, Faith, and Family Life, 24 May 2009
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
"Then He commanded the multitudes to sit down on the grass. And He took the five loaves and the two fish, and looking up to heaven, He blessed and broke and gave the loaves to his disciples; and the disciples gave to the multitudes." Matthew 14:19

Michael J. Fox's second memoir closely follows this section of Scripture in a seemingly unconscious way. In the book, he describes the transition from being a full-time actor to Parkinson's disease research-encouraging activist . . . seeking a cure within ten years -- what would be a miracle to all those with the disease. How do I know? My Dad discovered he had the disease about the same time Michael J. Fox did, but Dad is no longer with us.

Many people become leaders of various social causes, but most aren't as candid as Michael J. Fox in describing the sources of inspiration, frustration, and challenges that cause them to lift themselves above their daily lives to service for many others. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to undertake selfless leadership. Michael J. Fox's consistent self-deprecating humor (part of "always looking up" is explained by his diminutive stature) in the face of adversity is an inspiration for those who are in good health or poor.

I don't know anyone now who has Parkinson's disease so I've lost touch with what the disease's progression is like. The book is eloquent and detailed in capturing the various disease symptoms and side effects of medication. You can almost feel yourself inside his body. It's remarkable story telling. Anyone who is feeling sorry for her- or himself would do well to read this book and count blessing instead.

I was also very interested in his spiritual search. He's open to learning about different ideas about spirituality but doesn't have much of a sense of connection to the spiritual world except to believe that there's a higher power. As I read the book, I wondered where his spiritual search will end.

The book is also very open in describing the challenges of being a Dad who can't do all those physical things.

To me, this book was a huge breath of fresh air.

As much as I enjoyed Michael J. Fox, the brilliant comic actor, I admire Michael J. Fox, the optimistic man seeking to improve himself, even more.

Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough Optimism for Three (or Four) and It Is Contagious, 10 April 2009
By 
Ford Ka (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
Michael J. Fox has for ever been a special character in the movie-making world and one of my all time favourites since Family Ties. Maybe it was caused by his boyish looks but I believe that it was much more brought by his character and perseverance. This book proves that it is the latter. MJF with his talent but also (if not mainly because of) his very hard work became one of the best known actors of the world.
At the peak of his career he was struck by Parkinson disease but did not succumb. His further successes both in professional and private sphere were a further proof of his great inner strength. It is so good that he decided to share his adventures with readers, the result is both moving and uplifting. This is a great book for people facing a difficult moment in their life - Fox's disease is not contagious but his optimism certainly is.
It just makes me so sad that the "incurable optimist" in the title is not just a language joke but a precise description of his medical condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always Looking Up, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Paperback)
`Always Looking Up' explores what has occurred in Michael J Fox's life since publication of his first memoir `Lucky Man'. Like his first book this is immediately engaging, open and heartfelt and I found it to be written with humour, human insight, passion, humility and a full range of other emotions. Based around four themes (Work, politics, faith and family) this tells of his stem cell advocacy, the minor screen roles he has played and his greater involvement with his family. I found some parts quite emotional to read and got choked up when he described his feelings and experiences at the time of his sisters death. This is as inspirational as `Lucky Man' and if you enjoy both of these books I highly recommend `Still Me' by Christopher Reeve which is one of the few books that honestly changed my life. Overall Michael J Fox manages to inspire and enthral and this made for a couple of days reflective and motivational reading.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A man with a story, 13 July 2009
By 
R. Mavin "rachelmc67" (South shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
I thought there would have been a lot more insight into his life. the begining was ok you got a bit of that but the book became more political and his battle to promote stem cell research in the USA. It did become repetative towards the end. Still a remarkable man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful and inspiring read, 18 April 2009
By 
O. Langford (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
having read lucky man i was very keen to read this new book by Michael J Fox. i bought the book yesterday and finished it today. it is a great book which moves you and inspires you. this inspiration comes not out of his approach to his illness but his approach to his family and his life. his honest approach to writing and sharing his experiences is simply amazing. i have been a fan for many years of his acting and through reading his books i am now a fan of the man behind the persona. definately worth taking the time to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living a Brilliant Life No Matter What, 24 April 2009
By 
Susan Donlon "Susan Donlon" (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
I loved Michael's previous book "Lucky Man" so I had to pick up his new one and was not disappointed! I especially enjoy Michael's writing style. The way in which he reveals himself is so touching and personal. (Despite his situation,) he continues to share his insights and inspires me to lead a satisfying and meaningful life, no matter what my circumstances may be. If you enjoyed Michael's book and are interested in pursuing your own self discovery without "working on yourself" I highly recommend Ariel & Shya Kane's insightful and inspiring works, including "Working on Yourself Doesn't Work: The 3 Simple Ideas That Will Instantaneously Transform Your Life" "How to Create a Magical Relationship: The 3 Simple Ideas that Will Instantaneously Transform Your Love Life" and "Being Here: Modern Day Tales of Enlightenment" along with their internet radio show called "Being Here." The Kanes and Michael J. Fox share personal, real life experiences that guide you in living a magnificent and brilliant life - no matter what kind of path you may find yourself on. I highly recommend checking them out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, informative and occasionally a good laugh, 3 May 2009
By 
Nm Verbij "NicMerlin" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Always Looking Up (Hardcover)
That Michael J Fox is a likable person is nothing new, but this book shows the enormous amount of spirit he has in his drive to find a cure for (amongst others) PD. I found this very inspiring to read, as there is no call for pity, but a very strong determination that a remedy must be found.

The first part of the book is the most interesting for me as covers the periode after annoucing the the world that he suffers from PD and the founding of MJ Fox foundation. Both are written in a very open and honest way and the success and support he gets for the foundation is amazing to read about and shows to me that there are a lot of goodwill out there. The political struggle concerning stamcell research is very interesting to read and his role and respect for both pro and con is what you hope to see in an advocant that is personally involved.

The second half of the book is more about himself and his family. Beautifully written and from the heart, but a less attractive (at least for me as a 25 year old).

All in all, a very positive and inspiring book which I highly recommend to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Always Looking Up
Always Looking Up by Michael J. Fox (Paperback - 18 Mar 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews