Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venice on a plate, 5 Nov. 2007
By 
David P. Zweck (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book for all those who are passionate about Venice. Presented with great style, it is certainly up to the standard of Franceso's previous publications. But this is not just a book of traditional recipes and pretty photographs, many pages are devoted to the produce used in Venetian cooking and the history of various ingredients. There are pages describing 18th. century life in the palazzi of Venice and four pages devoted to the humble fork. This is a book that will transport you to the Grand Canal everytime you read it. Oh if only all trattoria and ristorante in Venice had a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of food and place, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
Nicholas W. N. Jones (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
This attractive book is a great mix of practical recipes and photos which give a sense of place. And the photos of food don't look stylized and artificial - so many in other books, I suspect, are studio shots - but these, if not of Venice or people, look as though they had been taken at the moment Francesco took food from the hob or oven. The book has a reality, a vitality and an honesty. Great gift for anyone who likes Venice and/or Italian food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bel uomo...bella cucina..., 15 Mar. 2011
By 
Julian Kerrell-Vaughan (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
Francesco's sparkle and gift for the telling phrase and anecdote, so evident in his guided tours of Italy and his home city, La Serenissima, are fully present in this cook book.

To call it a cook book falls very short of what it is, however. History, study, research and inspiration. Made me immediately go back to the kitchen. Just wish that out here in Hong Kong one could find the necessary ingredients - tomatoes that are not just red but so perfumed that one smells them in the market before seeing them. However, tucked up warmly in a quilt against the prolonged and unseasonable cold of our south-east Asian winter, I swear in reading and savouring this book, I could almost smell fresh artichokes and olives marinating in wooden tubs...

Gave me such a nostalgia for the quality of life found in Italy. Would like to say just once more, and I hope Francesco won't mind...belissimo uomo...bellissima cucina...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure, as always., 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
As always, Francesco writes beautifully, directly from his heart. The book looks fantastic and has great photography in it. I recommend this to anyone who is passionate about Italy and about food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a recipe book, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
A wonderful, personal and biographical journey through Francesco love of his family's past and present, Venice and the inimitable Italian food which binds all together. Makes the reader feel like they are being give a personal tour by the author himself. Being taken through the Venetian streets and traditions and finally being allowed to sit at the table in the author's own house and sharing dinner with his family! All brought together with fantastic little pictures from old family albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Francesco's Kitchen, 25 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
Top notch hard back. I really love this guy, have watched all his programmes and got his DVD's and now the cook book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fabulous francesco's book, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
this book, like all of Francesco's, is a total delight, his recipes are superb and the man himself is total eye candy, the book is beautifully illustrated I happily await his next book or tv programme, and will watch or buy no matter what the subject............Francesco is my treat to myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic!, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
Tracy Ann Martin (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
Already practiced some great Venetian dishes and some are now firm family favourites. Great photos and beautifully written by the charming Francesco who oozes Venice from every pore along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of Venice, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
Love Francesco's travel books but this was for my husband who enyoys cooking, he has found several recipes he iskeen to try.
The book is in very good condition and arrived promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food and History, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of Venice (Hardcover)
An enjoyable read, not just for the recipes, but the background information on the Venetian spice trade and the historical context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Francesco's Kitchen. An Intimate Guide to the Authentic Flavours of  Venice
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews