Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man is back without the Fridge!!!
Well, if you thought the whole fridge think was mad - Tonys next bet is to play the Moldovan football team at tennis! Not daft in the slightest.
He certainly takes his bets to heart does the guy and never shirks from his (drunken!!) promises. But how the heck do you go about arranging something like that? Read this book and find out - Funny, interesting and...
Published on 20 July 2001 by leedsutd40@hotmail.com

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up
Rushed to buy this book after chortling all the way through Tony's previous Irish adventure. Maybe it was just me, but I found this a very grim read, short on humour, and couldn't wait to finish it and move on to something else. Maybe that was how Tony found Moldovia?
Published on 10 Sep 2002 by A. W. Brown


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anyone for Tennis?, 9 May 2006
By 
Tony Hawks has established himself over the past few years as a leader in the genre of, 'irreverent looks at strange goings on normally started as a bet'. 'Playing the Moldavians at Tennis' is his second attempt at the genre and as with his adventures with a fridge a mostly successful one.

Once again Tony has placed a bet with a friend, this time he claims that although the Moldovan international football team is full of athletes, this does not mean they will be good at all sports. Therefore, Hawks finds himself in Moldovia attempting to play and beat the starting 11 of Moldovia at tennis.

The bet itself is not too important; it is the journey that takes centre stage here. Hawks visits many new and undiscovered places in the post-Communist East Europe. He finds hardship and dismay, but on occasion he also discovers friendship and warmth.

The book is funny but very irreverent. Perhaps a bit more sympathy towards the subject matter would not have gone amiss. However, the light nature of the book and the fact that many parts are laugh out loud save it overall. I personally find Danny Wallace's books in the same genre to be superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A second best attempt by Tony Hawkes, 22 July 2000
By A Customer
For those of you have read Tony Hawkes first book, 'Round Ireland with a Fridge', may well be disappointed. Don't get me wrong, 'Playing the Moldovans at Tennis' is a good read, but not a patch on the delightful spontaneity of the fridge effort. There are heartwarming episodes and a liberal helping of humour, but the actual achievement seems to be too much based upon script. Nevertheless, 'Round Ireland with A Fridge was always going to be a hard act to follow. Read this book and be amused, but not satisfied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and touching, 1 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I was really looking forward to this book, and I wasn't disappointed. Yes, it was a hard act to follow "Round Ireland With A Fridge"; in fact, the first chapter, detailing the bet, does look like "I urgently needed a new idea for a book and luckily my drunken mate helped me out". However, it turns out to be an incredibly good read, touching, funny, and an post-script ending that (at 1.30am) made me cry a little. Aw. Highly entertaining, a very good read, even if, in this book at least, Tony doesn't manage to get his end away... :^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm mad, me., 11 May 2003
By 
Maclennane (Horsham, Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A largely unsensitive, completely unfunny hike through the desperate efforts of a struggling comedian to launch a PR stunt as a book. Forgiveable if it was a first/only offence, but not with those other, similar, oo, look at me, I'm crazy style titles out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A funny travelogue of Hawks' latest foolhardy challange, 26 Nov 1999
By A Customer
Once again Tony Hawks learns the hard way that drunken bets are not always a good idea. It all starts in the summer of 1997. Tony and his friend Arthur Smith are watching the England versus Moldova match in the World Cup qualifiers. The conversation oddly turns to tennis, which Arthur states is a "crap game", especially after Tony beat him at it on holiday in Majorca. An argument ensues, Tony believing that even a natural sportsman or woman can not be good at tennis without proper tuition. Arther vowing that most natural sportsmen (like the footballers on the telly) could pick up a racket and, without too much bother, play a good game, in fact, beat Tony (ex-Sussex Junior Champion). And so the bet was proffered that Tony couldn't play all of the Moldovan national football team at tennis and win. Tony states that he can "beat them all!" The loser of the bet must strip naked on Balham high street and sing the Moldovan national Antham! The book follows Tony to Moldova, Northern Ireland, Israel and back to Balham in an attempt to track down all eleven men, pursuade them to play him at tennis and win. I read a copy of the proof and think it is brilliantly written. Funny, moving and oddly inspirational in much the same way as his debut book 'Round Ireland With A Fridge'. I shall not give the game away but somebody does get naked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not funny at all, 11 Jun 2003
Tony goes to Moldova with the knowledge of the names of 11 soccer players, and nothing more. The "fun" in this book is each time Tony finds Moldova to be a lot poorer, darker and duller than the West. The fact that most people are poor, unemployed, and that a lot of people like to leave the country should be no surprice to anyone reading the papers or watching the news - it should be even less of a surprice for an author that is planning to write a book about his journey in the country. Certainly, it is not funny!
However, Tony's lack of interest in Moldova is not surprising since he is mainly interested in writing about himself. Moldova, and the football players he is playing at tennis, is only an excuse for Tony to be able to write this book. The sad thing is that the remaining 2/3 of the books where Tony writes about himself are not interesting or funny either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing The Moldovans At Tennis
Playing The Moldovans At Tennis by Tony Hawks (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
6.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews