Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight into eating in China
This is not just a Chinese cookery book - though it does include several recipes. Nor is it just another Chinese travel book - though it does provide an excellent insight into Szechuan (Sichuan) and other Chinese regions; nor is it simply an autobiographical account of living and eating in China. It is all of these things and more.

In "Shark's Fin and Sichuan...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Judy R

versus
6 of 202 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting
In this day and age, how could a publishing house think that such a book would be of interest to anyone? It is an outrage that a book gets published which endorses the consumption of rabbit heads, cats and other such horrors. Yes, China is a country of diversity but we all need to consider our role and contribution towards helping our planet. Fuchsia Dunlop's time would...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Jellyfish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars You can almost feel the slimy crunch of the goose intestines..., 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
This is a fabulous memoir of a time spent in China. While Fuschia Dunlop focuses on the food experience, it also gives a very good feel for life as a young westerner in Chengdu (and around) at a time and in an environment which has now all but disappeared. A great read for those thinking about coming to China for a any amount of time or those simply interested in food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High expectations fulfilled!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
After being introduced to Fuscia Dunlop by my brother, I was interested to read this book and get more insight into China and its cuisine. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was fascinated to follow her as she recounted her development of tastes for Chinese food and skill in cooking it. As a newcomer to Chinese food, I learned a great deal and found the book quite thought provoking. It is certainly a book that one can enjoy more than once and I liked the inclusion of some recipes. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fuchsia Dunlop is eXpAt-tAcULar, 8 Jun 2011
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
Food writer Fuchsia Dunlop has written a savory, stir-fried memoir about her career as a professional chef in China. Food meets travel - a delicious recipe for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly adore the story and the recipes! My only ..., 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Utterly adore the story and the recipes! My only slight reservation is that Fuchsia is very honest about some of the Chinese eating habits and if you are a vegetarian this may well be a real problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fin-tastic Fuschia!, 23 Aug 2008
By 
K. Johnston (Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like other reviewers I adore this book, and found it utterly unputdownable. I am one of those strange folk who does not eat meat, but despite this and some initial squeamishness about some of the ingredients Fuschia consumed in her journeyings around China, I became totally absorbed in her mission to try whatever foods came her way. She is a passionate adventurer, and one who never loses her capacity to challenge herself, and to reflect on her experiences. She is a beautiful and engaging writer, and the perfect armchair travel companion. I look forward to her next outing, in China or elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars if you like travel, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
Lovely book, if you like travel memoirs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite fascinating, 22 Jan 2009
By 
R. Chang (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw the book at a window walking along Picadilly. Bought it on impulse as the title was intriguing. A very clever mix of travelogue sprinkled with a few well chosen recipies. Also had a intriguing discourse on the appreciation of texture in food from the Chinese view point.

I am a bit of a foodie. I have tried the aubergines with fish fragrant sauce and the double cooked pork. I must say both of them were great success.

Miss Dunlop raised the question of whether she worked for MI6. If all our spooks are such talented chefs and writers, the let them multiply.

I was so delighted by this book and spoke so highly of it that I was given another of her book, the mainly recipe book - The Land of Plenty for Christmas. It has lovely pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Linda (London, UK) - See all my reviews
I found this book unputdownable. A beautifully written, endlessly fascinating and very honest memoir from someone who is passionate about Chinese food. Few writers can bear comparison with the great Elizabeth David but I think Fuschia's Pulled It Off (and not just the caterpillar's head).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, 25 Dec 2010
fuchsia dunlop has written one of the best cookbooks ever and this new travel story shows that she is also an excellent author.

its a very entertaining book and after reading it i also feel that i understand much more about chinese cooking and even chinese culture and history in general.

:) get this book. read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, really inspiring, and tried all the recipes, 28 Aug 2009
A great book for foodies. Written really well - it gives you a real appreciation of Chinese cooking. The receipe for Dan Dan noodles is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews