Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight into eating in China
This is not just a Chinese cookery book - though it does include several recipes. Nor is it just another Chinese travel book - though it does provide an excellent insight into Szechuan (Sichuan) and other Chinese regions; nor is it simply an autobiographical account of living and eating in China. It is all of these things and more.

In "Shark's Fin and Sichuan...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Judy R

versus
6 of 200 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting
In this day and age, how could a publishing house think that such a book would be of interest to anyone? It is an outrage that a book gets published which endorses the consumption of rabbit heads, cats and other such horrors. Yes, China is a country of diversity but we all need to consider our role and contribution towards helping our planet. Fuchsia Dunlop's time would...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Jellyfish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful insight into eating in China, 7 May 2008
This is not just a Chinese cookery book - though it does include several recipes. Nor is it just another Chinese travel book - though it does provide an excellent insight into Szechuan (Sichuan) and other Chinese regions; nor is it simply an autobiographical account of living and eating in China. It is all of these things and more.

In "Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper" Fuchsia Dunlop provides a factual but fascinating and entertaining insight into experiences that most of us lack the linguistic and culinary skills and courage to contemplate undertaking first-hand - for example as the only non-Chinese person and almost the only woman on a Sichuan cookery course.

Fuchsia Dunlop writes beautiful prose. Her style of writing, skill with words, content and structure, combined with her enthusiasm for Chinese cookery, create that rare commodity, an un-put-downable non-fiction work. She writes in a compelling way, enabling the reader to see the people and places she visits and taste the dishes she describes.

No one who has read the book could accuse the author of eating anything and everything without a qualm. She absorbs herself in and embraces the regional language, culture and cuisine of different parts of China and describes these sympathetically but not uncritically. She looks at her own eating behaviour dispassionately but critically, seeing herself through both Chinese and Western eyes.

I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever eaten a meal with Chinese people or who is planning a visit to China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deliciously fascinating, 23 April 2009
By 
G. Kenny (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The account of how a young middle-class English girl became obsessed with Sichuan cooking, her upbringing, her ruses and her commitment to the hottest cooking in the world in its chinese fastness: student living, uncompromising training, insights into an alien culture - the completely gripping true story of an insane love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chinese regional food, 29 Nov 2011
By 
J. Livsey (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
Do I agree with the eleven people who gave it five stars or the person who gave it one star. Actually neither, it is a four star book for me. I picked it up after I had read Serve the People by Jean Lin-Liu. I wanted to read something similar and this sounded like the book. Things I enjoyed included the way the author didn't just stay in one city or region and assert that she knew Chinese food - a mistake that lots of food writers make. She travelled well off the beaten track in search of unusual, yet real culinary experiences. I enjoyed her descriptions of the food she eats along the way. I like that she shared a recipe in each chapter and I am looking forward to making some of them as I am certain she knows her stuff. I particularly enjoyed her tales of travels in Western China where the food was more Middle East than Far East. Late on in the book I enjoyed the way she describes how she almost tired of Chinese food and how she came to realise that the way the Chinese are eating is not sustainable. This book is well worth a read if you want to know more about the food of China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 22 Mar 2008
By 
Craig Hunt (Azkaban) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fabulous book - I loved every single page and wished I'd been there trying the food. It's obvious what this book is about - if you don't like this kind of thing don't buy it or read it. Stick to lentils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer magic - impossible to put down!, 6 Jun 2008
I loved reading this book so much that I found myself avoiding colleagues on the train in the morning just so I could keep reading. And then continuing to read in every snatched moment during the week. And when can you last remember feeling that way about a non-fiction book? Fuchsia Dunlop's book is a thoughtful and informed evocation of a nation's relationship with its food. It is also an absorbing but never self-indulgent journey through Fuchsia's own relationship with China and its people. It is written in unassuming, delicious, elegant prose and manages to also be, occasionally, laugh-out loud funny. Genuinely marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all gourmet travellers - destined to be a classic!, 29 Aug 2012
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
I have finally got round to reading this book having bought it when it was first published - I read it over 3 days as I found it compulsive reading. This is pure gastro porn without the pictures - Fuschia Dunlop writes with a passion and eloquence that is lacking in many other books about food. Her writing about places and food are so lucid and vivid that you can smell and almost taste the food. Her description of eating crab is pure unadulterated oral sex. This is a fantastic travelogue combined with a fantastic expose of Chinese culinary skills and explains honestly and without embellishment or self-justification why the Chinese are so obsessed with food including eating animals that are taboo in Western culture...Fuschia, I love you, please write some more books like this - maybe about France or Italy - actually marry me and I will gladly eat everything you that cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! A must have for fans of Chinese Cuisine, 11 Jan 2010
By 
T. J. Pavlou (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was a delight from start to finish. Having travelled a little in China myself, i empathised with some of the difficulties Fuchsia had, but also resonated with the many great experiences too. The level of detail she goes into both historically and culturally with regard to Chinese food is remarkable. I will be buying her Sichuanese Cook book in the near future as I feel priveledged to have access to such a western talent on Sichuanese cuisine. Well done Fuchsia!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 1 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
Travel and food together - it's a wonderful combination. Written with knowledge and passion, this is a tale of her journey through the food of China. It explores cultural differences, and the way that people respond and change to them - including her own reflexive thoughts about herself. There's an interesting progression through the chapters, from the enthusiastic first contact and immersion in the food culture through to her thoughts about how China has changed and her concern for where food production and culture is heading. Always well written and self aware, this is a must read for anyone interested in food, food writing or China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Authentic experience of Chinese food, 29 Aug 2013
By 
jomutheone "bibliophile10" (Greystones, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
I bought this on the recommendation of a friend who had been to china and it is a fascinating read and an insight into Chinese culture. Not for the sensitive vegetarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper by Fuchsia Dunlop, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China (Paperback)
read by others who like it, am now reading it myself, like the style and the detail from the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper: A sweet-sour memoir of eating in China
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews