Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Story
I do not agree with the last review. Admittedly, the book isn't particularly well written, however, the author himself is not a writer and as he points out in his book his education suffered, due to his living in fear. I do understand where you are coming from in regards to the mixed messages he gives at times, though that is a common trait with physical and mental abuse.
Published on 1 Nov 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An uneccessary book
I have read many books of this genre and I have to say that Patrick Touher does not appear to have suffered during his years at Artane Industrial School. Rather, he appears to have had a good time, with occasional references, though very vague, to abuse dished out by the Christian Brothers. He seems to have genuine affection for many of the Brothers, which seems at odds...
Published on 8 Aug 2007 by Piglet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Story, 1 Nov 2007
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
I do not agree with the last review. Admittedly, the book isn't particularly well written, however, the author himself is not a writer and as he points out in his book his education suffered, due to his living in fear. I do understand where you are coming from in regards to the mixed messages he gives at times, though that is a common trait with physical and mental abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An endearing and gripping sincere story, 4 April 2008
By 
Xud ZUBIETA-MENDEZ "Xud" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
I read the book in all one go and got a clear idea of the place the author describes. I appreciate his difficulty detailing some of the abuse situations and can also understand the considerations he had because of the repercutions to his current family. I admire the courage he showed disclosing his deepest feelings, which include fear and guilt and I am happy that the author could find love in his life and formed a family. For me, this is a reccommendable read. I would read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PATRICK TOLD THE STORY IN HIS OWN WORDS - NO FRILLS - JUST THE TRUTH.., 11 Jun 2008
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
So maybe he`s not the best author in the world - which is understandable considering the terrible childhood he endured - but he knows what happened to him and that`s what he wanted to get across - and i thought he did a brilliant job. He managed to take us into that terrible place where he spent most of his childhood days, and his descriptions of the place, and the priests and other boys there, almost made you feel you were with him. It was so sad the way he was led to believe he was going to the hospital for his tonsils out - and was instead taken to the boy`s catholic home. He was snatched from a loving, caring family, and taken to `hell.` This is a book well worth reading - but not for the faint hearted - as there are some very disturbing `scenes` of violence.
Well done patrick touher for finding the words, and the courage, to set your story down on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fear of the collar, 15 Oct 2009
By 
T. M. Wardley (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
I felt i had to read this book as my dad attended Artane Industrial school at the same time as the author of the book.

It was upsetting to read this book, but yet i could't
put it down.
To think of what those boys were put through will never leave my mind, evenmore so thinking that my dad may have had to endure some terrible things.

He does not speak about his time there, maybe he has put it to the back of his mind or he just doesn't want to let us know what he had to go through.

I hope you enjoy the book, but never let it go from your minds of what adults do to children stick up for the innocent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
What a good read, though a very sad story, I hope the author stayed strong and got the justice he deserved, I know he went on to have a lovely family, I am only half way through this book, and have his next book already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but uplifting read, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Bess_Wheat - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
Fear of the Collar describes the harsh reality of Patrick Touher's experience at the hands of the Christian Brothers in the Artane Industrial School.

Patrick becomes institutionalised as a result of the regimented routines and tough discipline. Yet, despite the constant threat of violence and abuse, he is still able to reflect on the positive aspects of his time in the school. Patrick seems to have an admiration for the achievements of the school itself. He says that the school "set out to be self-sufficient and it achieved that very well indeed". The students were responsible for making their uniforms, food, furniture, bread and working on the farm.

The way he describes the times he spends with his pals, it is clear that his spirit was not crushed as they still find humour and entertainment. The epilogue recounts what happened after he left school. It is clear that he suffered from having his childhood destroyed through brutal treatment and physical and sexual abuse. Yet is testament to the strength of the human spirit that he can reflect on the positive times he did have and his ability to heal. Ultimately this is an uplifting account and took only 3 days for myself and a friend to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fear of the collar, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
an excellant book to read telling you what goes on in the world and true story unbelievable and cruel a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
Well written and brutally honest account of life in one of Ireland's most notorious Industrial schools. Should be read by anyone wiht an interest in the real story of Ireland's past..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
I have read this book many times now, and am always drawn right into the pages, such a good book, and so very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break (Paperback)
such a great read had me in tears, so cruel to know what that this happened a lot
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break
Fear of the Collar: The True Story of the Boy They Couldn't Break by Patrick Touher (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews