Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been better
I bought this book because I am interested in opinion dynamics: how and why opinions in a group of people change over time. I wanted to better understand how and why the evil extremism of Nazism became so widely accepted in the German people, having started out as a tiny minority party, and how the Nazi's grip on their people was maintained until the end. The book...
Published 20 months ago by Dr D Cliff

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New perspective on Hitler's rise and system of personal government
The rise of Nazism told through the device of the unknown Austrian Corporal's progress from demobbed soldier to Chancellor and Head of State.
Never quite fully explains why Hitler managed to influence people ranging from the aristocratic Goering to the déclassé Himmler and the more left wing Strasser.
Deals well with the unravelling of the personal...
Published 14 months ago by Conrad Flynn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent book, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every book I have read on the history of WW2 has been like a piece of a jigsaw. However, one question always remained, 'How did Hitler get to the position of power he did to lead such destruction?'. This book answers this question and many, many more quite brilliantly. It is superbly written in plain English with not a single sentence of waffle. Congratulations Laurence Rees this is an outstanding piece of work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still not quite finished yet But this is a very interesting book, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is true facts about what really happened

The way the story has been told. How it must have like to have lived in the time before and after the war.

Yes I will be recommending this to all my Rotary members, after I have given them my review on the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another book on the war ., 8 Feb. 2013
By 
K. P. Trott "book heaven" (chard) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband as he is very interested in both world wars especially the second world war .He found that it was so good that he was unable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
C. J. Colley "bearshead16" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband as part of his xmas gifts. He is very interested in the war and Hitler. I was lucky to get it at the time as it was sold out in many places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically Interesting, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
N. A. Stylianides (NICOSIA, CYPRUS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler :leading Millions into the Abyss: an eye openner, interesting, accurate historicallly challenging. Please read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars given as present = new owner very happy, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Given as Christmas present = new owner really enjoyed reading it and has already finished it on Christmas after noon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explains a lot, 5 Oct. 2012
I only read a few chapters, not because it wasn't good but because I was in Waterstones and didn't want to pay £20 for it but it is such an engrossing, well written and well researched book. It also approaches Hitler with intelligence, not with an approach of he was born evil but of how this strange little man happend to be in the right place at the right time and through desperation, promises of a brighter tomorrow, the delievery of those promises he secured his place as leader of Germany. And it shows how when those promises he had previously delievered began to fail, his people gradually lost faith in their leader whilst he, till the very end, still sprouted the rhetoric that had once swayed millions but now could be seen for what it was, hollow, idiotic, the ravings of a madman who should have remained as the social outcast that he was in Vienna. This book taught me that there are many Hitlers out there, people who have nothing but hate for the world and if a people are desperate and an angry enough these types of men come to postions of power where in any other time it would seem laughable that they would be given such responsability. And that is when untold misery and damage is unleashed on mankind. A grim lesson from the past, and a warning for the future. Never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Fairytales from Phallistine, 20 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler (Paperback)
Laurence Rees, just like Hans Christian Anderson, writes a compelling and 'true to life ' appraisal of the commonly held narrative of Adolf Hitler. However, he is yet another armchair historian regurgitating the vastly disproven 'facts' of WW II and the "holocaust ". As with Hans Christian Anderson, his writings are of an extremely entertaining fiction. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler
The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler by Laurence Rees (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews