Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable and thought provoking
This is a very readable portrait of Hitler which can be digested in a few hours. There are times when you might feel the word "charisma" is being shoe-horned into the text to maintain a theme rather than becoming just another biography, but on the whole it works - even if there are occasionally some sweeping conclusions on which bits of some people's testimony we can take...
Published 22 months ago by ttree

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Evil Charisma
The book did not really provide any new insights to Hitler's character with the exception of the dark charisma hypothesis splattered throughout the book . Not convinced by the author's proposition but nevertheless I am glad I read it.

solmagwind.
Published 16 months ago by John The Doc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The dark charima of Adolf Hitler leading millions into the abyss - by Laurence Reed, 2 May 2014
By 
Mr. James E. Parrott (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and brilliant book, which went into detail yet never became bogged down with it either. The book came alive by using people who had lived through the era giving personal memoirs or comments on the time. I have read other works by Laurence Reed and find all of his books first class and would have no reservation in recommending the book or the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New perspective on Hitler's rise and system of personal government, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The rise of Nazism told through the device of the unknown Austrian Corporal's progress from demobbed soldier to Chancellor and Head of State.
Never quite fully explains why Hitler managed to influence people ranging from the aristocratic Goering to the déclassé Himmler and the more left wing Strasser.
Deals well with the unravelling of the personal system of government. After adding Supreme Commander of the Wehrmacht to his official positions he inevitably became identified with defeat in the East. As the author points out this severely weakened and eventually all but destroyed the element of charisma yet young Hitler Jugend still manned barricades against the might of the Red Army.
That being said throws an interesting light on a well told if still a shocking period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hopefully, not the samy history repeating, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Lorenzo Spagna (Guastalla (RE), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler (Paperback)
What strikes me most of this analysis is the fact that it seems to tell the story of what is happening now in Italy... In Italy, as in other countries of Southern Europe in particular, we have completely lost faith in our "traditional" political parties and we are seeking for someone able to solve the situation... I already see on the italian political scene some figures considered by a lot of people as endowed with a particular charisma: I only hope that, despite their incredible success so far, the end of the story be not the same as happened in Germany eighty years ago.
Book very well written and rich of original testimony from a lot of different sources/people. I recommend it to all interested in understanding not only those times but ours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perceptive and balanced, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good insight into the way Hitler, and others manipulated a nation and how the treaty of Versailles and other measures contributed to WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A well balanced look at a subject that has been covered by many others., 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book brought out many interesting facts which gave me an insight into how a nation could be easily entranced by a mad man. Even when the curtain was drawn back to reveal all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adolf Hitler, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and as my normal read is thriller fiction it is a relatively easy read, very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic exposition of Hitler's mighty capacity to manipulate people., 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book because many times I had wonder why such an ugly person could be followed by a whole country, and after have read this book. Is terrifying what people can do in bad times and how we can love such evil persons that do manipulate, because they speak to our needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading on the Mind and motivations of the man who became a monster and plunged Europe and the world into war.

Like all Rees' s books is a worthwhile purchase and excellently researched and written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, packed with previously unknown information!, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is brilliant! It is based on the television series on BBC2 so if you liked that you will love this! such a nice book with a lot of unknown information about Hitler's campaign for the Germans. If you are interested in this period in history then this book is for you. Packed full of information and such a good author!
Would recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Something new, please!, 2 Oct 2013
No new insight at all. R H S Stolfi's Hitler book is more interesting in every way - and origional. If you want the 'safe' view of Hitler you will be happy with this, if not read Stolfi's analysis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler
The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler by Laurence Rees (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews