Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving...
An unmissable read....I found this to be a deeply moving and shocking book - shocking because it gives a rare insight into the mind of someone afflicted by anorexia, who is clearly intelligent, articulate and all-too aware of the enormity of her disease (this absolutely dispels any myth that anorexia is about size zero-style vanity) - and moving because of Halban's...
Published on 24 April 2008 by E. Martin

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cloying and Flawed
Perfect is the autobiography of a privileged girl who grows up in Geneva with a doting family, housekeepers, cleaners, cooks and Summers' spent in the south of France. Emily is a high achiever who ends up suffering from Anorexia.

Emily writes a lengthy introduction over expressing how she doesn't blame anyone else for her illness. This is a good precursor for...
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by Sphinx


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving..., 24 April 2008
By 
E. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
An unmissable read....I found this to be a deeply moving and shocking book - shocking because it gives a rare insight into the mind of someone afflicted by anorexia, who is clearly intelligent, articulate and all-too aware of the enormity of her disease (this absolutely dispels any myth that anorexia is about size zero-style vanity) - and moving because of Halban's painfully honest and intimate account of her deep sadness, struggle and ultimate success. I found myself sharing so many of the same thoughts as Halban about the desire to please and finding the freedom not to be `perfect'. The voices of her family and loved ones at the end of the book - about their struggle with the disease she had - was a brilliant end to a fascinating account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From understanding, now hope., 5 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
I am a counsellor and 'Perfect' is one of the most informative and totally honest books on anorexia that I have read. This book does not back away from reality, and through that reality there is hope for all anorexics. If you are anorexic read this book, if you are a parent or sibling of an anorexic read this book.

Emily Halban, congratulations, it took courage to write this book and you have courage by the bucketful! Kerry x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a touching and thought provoking read, 8 Aug. 2009
By 
M. fagan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
i have just read this book in one sitting and i felt compelled to write a review. emilys account of her anorexia and how it affected her life is inspirational.one particular section at the end of the book where all the family and friends write from their perspective is very moving and reduced me to tears. i think i would recommend this book to parents and loved ones as appose to a sufferer themselves(although im sure they would also get something from this book),as it gives a good insight into the illness and will resonate with them.all in all its a beautifully written book and i wish emily and all her loved ones a wonderful future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An important book, 11 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Rahim Moledina (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
'Sitting at table for dinner became my most dreaded moment of the day; and my day was spent calculating how to avoid any glance at my plate.'

Just one of the great many lines from Emily Halban's entralling book, which lingers deep in the mind afterwards. Fascinated by the subject myself for several years, reading Emily Halban's important book was a truely absorbing, moving and intriguing story of one human's years of suffering, the fear of life and the conquest for perfection, themes which all humans can relate to. So interesting in fact, I've read it twice to date and am sure I will read again.

A book not only about overcoming a disease but also of overcoming and beating the social pressures that life can build and inject into one human being, thus truely affecting their ability to think for themselves and live their life in full control.

A must read! Congratulations to Emily Halban for beating it and for writing this book for everyone to learn and share from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 27 April 2008
By 
M. Flaherty (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
A beautifully written book. Perfect is a moving and informative read. I am certain that this book will help many people affected by anorexia but Perfect will also touch a far greater audience than just those who have a connection to anorexia drawing on the importance of communication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You get a glimpse at the mind of an anorexic, 7 July 2010
By 
H. Pomery (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
Wow what a book. I thought it would be full of self pity but i was very wrong. You get a rare insight into the mind of an anorexic and it is disturbing to witness as an outsider who has never experienced the disease. Most touching is the effects it has on her family - you hear their accounts of the disease and how her disease took over their house and daily routines. You hear how there was no specific trigger for her decline but get to see how it progresses and takes over as her thoughts turn depressed and unworthy. Very sad read in places - you really feel for her and will her to 'snap' out of it but the recovery is a very long road. Essentail read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moving, 24 July 2009
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
i found this to be an insightful and moving account of the struggles of overcoming anorexia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Poignant, Insightful and Inspiring Account, 4 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
Emily Halban writes a poignant, insightful and inspiring account of her struggle with an illness whose causes are so difficult to pin down and whose physical and psychological repercussions are so wide ranging. The book first touches the reader as a personal narrative of unfailing courage and goes on to expand on themes of much wider scope. We learn how quickly a state of equilibrium is lost and yet how difficult it is in retrospect to say exactly when it was lost, but also how precarious situations of apparent stability are and how Herculean the task of reconstructing them can be. This book will prove to be a truly moving and instructive account to all who have struggled with illness or have been near someone who has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cloying and Flawed, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
Sphinx (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Perfect: Anorexia and Me (Hardcover)
Perfect is the autobiography of a privileged girl who grows up in Geneva with a doting family, housekeepers, cleaners, cooks and Summers' spent in the south of France. Emily is a high achiever who ends up suffering from Anorexia.

Emily writes a lengthy introduction over expressing how she doesn't blame anyone else for her illness. This is a good precursor for the rest of the book which uses sentences like, `I was treated with the medicine of love' and `let the heart speak for itself'. It is saccharine from the start which is hard to get past.

Her use of pretentious and pointless metaphors was irritating. She doesn't name the type of antidepressants she was on which was also bugged me. Furthermore, she doesn't say her weight lost or gained during her recovery and relapses either.

In the first chapter of the book she claims she `never lies' then later on she recounts how she told her father she ate when she didn't - I'm pretty sure that counts as a lie. It is hard to believe someone who contradicts themselves in this way. It is also difficult to accept that she doesn't lie as Anorexia is a solitary illness that almost always involves lying or fracturing the truth to a strong degree.

The main subject of the book is Emily's recovery from her illness, the effect of it and her relationship with her family. The descent into anorexia (referred to here as Cruella) is scarcely present in this book.

She talks about having the `best' of everything from the best apple to the best fitting clothes. She never discusses money as this is clearly something she never has to worry about or consider. This is further proved as she discusses the treatments she had. During the course of her illness she tries psychiatry, psychotherapy, seeing a nutritionist, hypnotherapy, family and group therapy. She sees GPs, gynaecologists, endocrinologists and has CBT.

In chapter 19 when she talks about the loneliness of having to put on a `happy face' when everyone else wants to turn the page (you to be well) the book finally feels somewhat relatable.

The book feels affected and sentimental. It is a tough task to empathise with this `little girl' she keeps reminding us she still is.

If you want an accurate, well-written, honest autobiography of Anorexia I strongly suggest you read `Wasted' by Marya Hornbacher instead.

Wasted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect: Anorexia and Me
Perfect: Anorexia and Me by Emily Halban (Hardcover - 6 Mar. 2008)
Used & New from: £7.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews