Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A non-partisan view of the problems
A readable account of the ins and outs of aid and trade in sub-saharan Africa by someone who has worked in the field but has now stepped aside to give a non-partisan view.The book looks at the efforts of Charities,Government and International Organisations in the aid field and how these efforts are dwarfed by the inequities of trade arrangements.The impact of aid and...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Marko

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get past half way on this one
I just couldn't get into this book, I simply never found myself absorbed by it and in the end gave up roughly half way through. My mind would constantly daydream off every time I tried to read it, which is generally a sign that it's not a book for me.
Published 7 months ago by C


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A non-partisan view of the problems, 7 July 2009
By 
Marko (Huddersfield,West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
A readable account of the ins and outs of aid and trade in sub-saharan Africa by someone who has worked in the field but has now stepped aside to give a non-partisan view.The book looks at the efforts of Charities,Government and International Organisations in the aid field and how these efforts are dwarfed by the inequities of trade arrangements.The impact of aid and trade on people in Africa is highlighted with examples drawn from the author's on the ground experiences.The book asks what you would do if you were in power in an imaginary african state outlining the demands on your budget and the unreliability of your income sources.The book brings home the failure of the wealthy nations of the world to deliver on their promises and the need to keep the pressure on Governments to deliver for the poorest and the weakest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the most part, 19 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
But it gets a little repetitive towards the end of the book once the real meat of the issues have been tackled and the author sets about a "call to arms".
This book is as much about globalisation and international trade agreements, and how they effect developing countries, as it is about direct aid. As a result this book ties in very nicely with "Globalization and Its Discontents" by Joseph Stiglitz. Indeed many of the issues raised are similar if not identical. Most interestingly both authors have experience working from opposite ends of the aid/finance spectrum and yet come to the same conclusions.
All in all a friendly chatty style that moves along at a decent pace. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing approach to a serious business, 3 Aug. 2008
By 
Gillian Caddy (Congleton, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
This is a compelling read enabling people outside of the fields of Aid and Development to challenge their own thinking about charity and where the feel-good money goes.

The book is written with a good balance of facts and figures interspersed with personal anecdotes that lighten the mood whilst still driving home the practicalities of living in Africa.

I believe this book was aimed at people like me, who have a slight, but apathetic concern about the effects of the mismanagement of globalisation, of domestic subsidies and who are happy to assuage the conscience with a donation to any charity that offers up suitable images of people in crisis believing that they have made a contribution.

Its easy to read, but not easy to forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everyone should read this book..., 1 May 2008
By 
Ms. A. L. Gurney "booda" (barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have never bothered to write an amazon review before, but have just finished reading this book and it's great, I thoroughly recommend it. It is amazingly readable, has some scary statistics about how we are wasting money every time we buy sugar with sensible, practical tips on small steps individuals can take to do something about it. I love the stories of the author's own experience in Africa. I love the way the facts are excellently researched and presented from a balanced point of view, and I have folded over at least 15 pages where there is something so interesting I want to be able to find it again to tell people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 16 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. S. Mcquillan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book to be a well researched look at the impact of globalisation and its links with global poverty.It provides no easy answers and avoids simplistic conclusions such as that "all corporations are evil". I found it easy to read and informative, and it has greatly improved my understanding of the world econmy and its winners and losers. Most of all, it suggests it would be relatively easy to to change the balance, if enough people acted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real eye-opener..., 19 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
This book should be essential reading for anyone who wonders why Africa still needs loads of Aid, even after Bob Geldof and all the charity appeals there have ever been. Basically it comes down to our governments and their greedy, defensive ways and this book lays it out in easily understandable ways for you, the reader. The best thing is when he gets through to the end of the book he tells you what you can do to exercise your rights to try to influence your governement to do more for them. The standout sections for me were the ones on agricultural subsidies that i knew nothing about. It turns out that the UK governement subsidises farmers to grow stuff that doesnt suit our climate and then charges you and i more at the checkout to cover these subsidies!! That the US cotton industry gets subsidised for more than the cotton crop is actually WORTH make sobering reading for anyone.
These are just the tip of the iceberg though, as there are so many jaw-dropping facts and stories in this book you really should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't get past half way on this one, 28 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
I just couldn't get into this book, I simply never found myself absorbed by it and in the end gave up roughly half way through. My mind would constantly daydream off every time I tried to read it, which is generally a sign that it's not a book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
This item was delivered in good condition and within the agreed time frame - would recommend to others in the future. An interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and informative read, the evidence is enriched ..., 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and informative read, the evidence is enriched and enlivened by real life examples. It does not preach it informs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Sept. 2009
By 
K. L. Dhanoa (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor (Paperback)
An easy to read, rich in details and facts, thought provoking, economically accurate, non biased, intelligent look at something we should all be concerned about. Do not allow this book to pass you by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aid and Other Dirty Business: How Good Intentions Have Failed the World's Poor
£7.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews