Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, honest and funny...
What a pleasant suprise, OK (and yes I am man), I don't normally read what I would consider a traditional 'chick' book but this one came highly recommended from one of my best friends.

Abby is set to transfer her fame from the Internet (where the content of this book was first published) to the written word. She is funny, open and honest about her life as a...
Published on 3 Aug 2006 by Colin in Berkshire

versus
57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener! (How does she ever get any work done?)
This is a year in the life of self confessed sex fiend Abby Lee. Although non fiction, I agree with the previous reviewer; I don't believe it wasn't embellished along the way. If her sex life is really that busy, I don't know how she had the time to work/write her diary/eat etc. However if she has made some of it up, her imagination is impressive.

Having said...
Published on 19 Aug 2006 by vivsy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener! (How does she ever get any work done?), 19 Aug 2006
By 
vivsy (rural hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
This is a year in the life of self confessed sex fiend Abby Lee. Although non fiction, I agree with the previous reviewer; I don't believe it wasn't embellished along the way. If her sex life is really that busy, I don't know how she had the time to work/write her diary/eat etc. However if she has made some of it up, her imagination is impressive.

Having said that, I found it an easy, captivating and entertaining read which made me laugh out loud in a few places, plus I learned quite a few things! I think men might find it a useful insight into the female psyche regarding sex as well as doubtless enjoying the descriptions of her antics.

The diary is interspersed with useful 'guide' sections for both men and women. These I thought were particularly funny, rather than instructive. Her philosophising, particularly regarding the differences between men and women, was perhaps the most enjoyable part of the book for me. Also, as a woman myself, I applaud her for being open about topics that other writers and womens' magazines shy away from. She is certainly a font of knowledge and opinion and I can see a career as a sex therapist beckoning.

I've only given it three stars because, as a book, I found I was getting tired of it towards the end. I think her writing style and subject matter is far better suited to the format of the blog, with its links and interactions, which I think is very good. I'd recommend reading some of that before buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Girl with a limited vocabulary, 30 Aug 2008
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
Hmmm. I tried to like this book, I tried to like Abby, but doesn't read as a book it reads as the diary of a lonely teenaged girl with a vivid imagination and an idea that the word frig is scandalous. It's not, just frigging irritating when repeated too often.

I'm not a great blog fan but I can see how snippets of this 'world' would fill a coffee break or dull morning at the office beautifully it's just...not very real. Ultimately a real life confessional should feature a little glimpse of a real life. Abby didn't seem to have one. Or friends. It came across as a little sad and hollow. There's nothing titillating about loneliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying and inspiring at the same time, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
This was much better than Catherine M's book "The sexual life of Catherine M" which is a book in the same genre. What makes Abby Lee's book stand out is that she's not only honest in her account of events - she's also truthful about her thoughts and feelings. There's a real person behind this so-called sex addict.

The book both annoys me and inspires me at the same time. What annoys me is that she sometimes goes on and on about the same thing and writes pointless lists about her underwear and babbles on about different kinds of condoms. I also feel sorry for her; it must be horrible to think about sex every second and being so desperate that you have to relieve yourself in a changing room. What inspires me is her total hedonism and how she is equal with men in the way she acts upon her sexual fantasies. She also makes sure that nobody gets hurt and is not using anybody. Towards the end of the book a softer Abby emerges. A Abby that might want more than sex ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, honest and funny..., 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
What a pleasant suprise, OK (and yes I am man), I don't normally read what I would consider a traditional 'chick' book but this one came highly recommended from one of my best friends.

Abby is set to transfer her fame from the Internet (where the content of this book was first published) to the written word. She is funny, open and honest about her life as a self proclaimed 'sex fiend'. This book started out life as a Web Log (blog) detailing Abby's life and the things she got up to.

I challenge anyone not find laugh out loud moments whilst reading this book as well as some very embaressing moments when you read them in the middle of a crowded commuter train (I have never tried so hard to cover up what I was reading as I did with this book).

Read this book as a man and you get a very graphic view of the modern female psyche (and to my next girlfriend, you have Abby to blame for the things I did last night !).

PS Also visit her on-line blog site and get a head start on volume 2 in the series - already I am hooked.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
I read this book in two sittings. Very girlie, but not to be read whilst in the company of family... may be difficult to explain your blushing! A guilty pleasure to be enjoyed on rainy afternoons. Naughty but very enjoyable! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 4 Sep 2007
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
I found this book to be well written, entertaining, intelligent and honest.

If you have a high sex drive or just intrigued to get inside the mind of a girl who does - then read this. Personally I found it great to read that someone feels (and sometimes acts!) the same as I do - and I'm sure there are many, many women out there who agree.

I am saddened and shocked (hmmm, ok, saddened- not shocked) that there are people reading this and then labelling the author a 'slag' or 'whore'. I do not think there is enough space in this short review to adequately explain how much that infuriates me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
I loved this book & gobbled it up in a few days.

Very honest, intimate way of writing which immediately pulls you in and makes you intrigued to find out what will happen.

Then the storyline with blog boy pulls you along even more.

And the different incidents that happen to her are funny, intriguing, and -dare i say - rather voyeuristic.

It's also very sexy.

A nice change from the norm chick lit books, and refreshing to see that yes, women do love sex equally as much as men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 14 Mar 2010
By 
A. Gosman (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
girl with a one track mind is the most honest, brave and amazing book i have read. i laughed, cried and identified with 'abby'. i was left feeling as if i knew her then realised it was actually me i knew. its weird reading a book and feeling at the end as if you have actually made a new friend. i went straight out and bought her 2nd book 'girl with a one track mind exposed'. thank you 'abby' for sharing your thoughts, feelings and experiences. this book is truly fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not War & Peace, 13 April 2007
By 
Jo-anna King "Jo-Anna" (Maidstone, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
I cannot believe that people are rating this book badly.... They're taking it all far too seriously! It's a great book, a real page turner, funny, naughty, makes your girly bits tingle and well worth a read.

I'm sure when she wrote it, it wasn't intended to then receive peoples opinions as to whether she's a "slag" or not!! Grow up! We're not at school now!

An independent, strong minded woman that's probably scaring the pants of most men (those being the ones who've yet to discover the female orgasm!!).

I say, buy this book!!

It was recommended to me by a male friend, and we're still quoting pages to each other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring boring boring, 23 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door (Paperback)
I was so excited about getting this book. I have read Abby's blog for ages and thought that a book form might be eye opening to say the least. The problem is that the blog, as it is read in small doses, is OK (coffee break passing the time type of thing). The book, however, is too much. The writing style is appalling, the subject matter repetitive, and in fact the main character comes across as a Psychiatrist's wet dream. And that is no compliment. I was so disappointed. I don't thinik a book has disappointed me more in the past couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girl with a One-Track Mind: Confessions of the Seductress Next Door
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews