Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bitter/Sweet, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
For anyone who knows Sicily / or / intends to visit the island this book is a must.
It manages to bring to life the ethos of the place to life with a beautiful bitter, sweet feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift idea, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
I bougt it as a bday present for my friend, he said it is a very nice book,
easy to read and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travels in Sicily on a Vespa, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
I bought this book in advance of a first holiday to Sicily. I enjoyed reading it, and found so many things when I got to Sicily that the author had remarked on especially some of the local foods on offer.This made our mealtimes and shopping quite fun as I had heard a bit about these items and was then able to try them for myself, mostly agreeing with the author's opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully written book that takes you on a culinary tour of the island. It is a must for any foodee who has ever visited Sicily.
You open the page and can sense the sun, flavours and tastes through the narrative - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy and fun, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
Takes you on a truly Italian experience. The scenery, the food, the people all come to life. Dreamy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was a gift, 12 Jun 2013
By 
J. Smy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
Bought for a friends birthday and she loved it. We were on holiday in Sicily at the time and had chance to try some of the recommended delights. Just waiting for it to come to kindle and then I will buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do not read, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
when hungry! Well, he went off again - Sicily this time. - This book is a very good guide to all of Sicily's very rich culture; of course the 334 pages of paperback can only touch the surface of the island. The recipies are very much appreciated and inspirational.

You might like try to get hold of "A House in Sicily" by Daphne Phelps which is also metioned by Matthew Fort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a foodies guide to sicily, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
this is a chatty description of a scooter exploration of 'off the track' sicily with a large helping of food descriptions and meals taken in various places - it is a pleasant read prior a trip to sicily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet!, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
Well written, engaging, informative. A road book on a Vespa - good introduction to Sicily, its people and culture, and, of course, its food [including a useful selection of recipes]. It certainly made me want to go back and look again with fresh eyes and taste buds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet honey bitter lemons, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa (Paperback)
reading this book now its a well put together book. reading this book will bring back sicily for those who have been. or like me who have not but plan to go as soon as i can. warning reading this book will make you hungry.lol cant recommend enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa
Sweet Honey, Bitter Lemons: Travels in Sicily on a Vespa by Matthew Fort (Paperback - 2 July 2009)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews