Customer Reviews


1,238 Reviews
5 star:
 (543)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (586)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and fair book, informative and non-judgemental - bad reviews should not put you off, they're unfair
My daughter is now 16 months and bought this book when she was 7 weeks old.

I found it full of practical information like what's the time limit to apply for child benefit, when vaccinations are due, when to see a doctor etc. This, to me, was very reassuring as, as a first time parent, I panicked about anything.
It was also very useful to read what to...
Published 6 months ago by Crista

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good up to a point
Being a first time Mum I wanted a book that reassured me that I was doing things right. If you have a 'normal' baby then I'm sure this book will reassure. But who does have a normal baby?! Often the weekly advice in this book would make me worry that my baby wasn't doing something right. So I'd try changing things and end up regretting it and realising that, actually, we...
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by GerryM


‹ Previous | 149 50 51124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 2 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
A must for new parents! Gave us peace of mind and a real confidence boost. A few sections are a little outdated - the Family Allowance and birth registration info for example - but as a new parent you are given information about this anyway. Recommended for both new mums and dads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for new mums!, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
This is a really good book for any new mums who may be nervous about how to cope with a baby. It takes the worries away and you can look up each little thing that happens, and find that it's actually quite normal and see exactly what to expect at each stage. A great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worse book ever, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Teresa Monteiro "Te_VSC" (Guimarães, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
bad bad advices. shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bought before I had my baby., 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although there are some nice parts to this book - like baby development and health issues I am giving it 2 stars because its just another book to scare new parents into following stupid routines.

I would say to any new parent - stop reading about these stupid routines and start listening to the baby. Books full of 'if you don't start sleep training now your child will never be able to self settle' will make you feel worried. Since this book is for 0-6 months I don't think these kind of routines are of any use for anyone. Week by week guides to how much sleep your child should be having will only make you feel bad if this isn't you.

Weaning is suggested starting at 17 weeks and from the puree perspective. At the end of the book is a strategy for controlled crying. Just some examples of how I realised this book was not for me.

I read lots of reviews about how great this book was but found it pretty useless. Don't bother with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jun. 2011
By 
D. Klincheva "Bond girl" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
This book is everything I ever wanted but never got out of the other books I bought before. For a first time mom this book is briliant - it gives all the needed information in the best possible structured way - week by week. You don't have to feel lost when you search for colics and find bits and pieces of information all over the book, like I struggled with the Babycare Bible. With this book I only reed the week I'm about to start. So if you like to have structure and order, this is the perfect book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought it would be..., 29 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
My little bambino is only 4 weeks, however this book has provided welcome reassurance for the first month. It's quite comprehensive and covers all the main issues you will be thinking about; like feeding, nappies, sleep and baby's general development. There is also a section each week on what you can expect to be happening to Mum which I also found useful. Obviously every baby is different and as with most books, not all will apply to you and your child, but I feel reading it gives me a bit of a 'heads up' on what to expect for the next week. At times I use it as a reference for things that crop up that I had not considered. It's very easy to read, and can be done in bite-sized chunks which is handy with an unpredictable baby around! People say that there is no handbook for parenting, which is true enough, but this seems to be as near as you could get for the first few weeks of baby's life - all for a few quid! Nothing to lose really...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please do not buy, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
I'm horrified at this advice. I'm saddened by it too.. poor babies who parents put them through this! Poor little vulnerable babies who we love dearly, but allow them to scream themselves to sleep!!! I'm cuddling my baby to sleep tonight and I will enjoy every second
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not so practical, 4 Feb. 2012
By 
N. Milatos "NMiL" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
Bought this cause it was on the top sellers list for baby books. As first time parents we find this book just OK. It is not the ultimate guide is say it is. It's more of a one sided personal opinion of the author. Also when you are a new time parent, you are looking for a more straightforward troubleshooting guide. I wouldn't suggest this for unless you want a plain book to read whilst waiting to give birth. Plus, I am not from the UK and the book is more UK focused... Maybe that's why I couldn't relate...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting book. DO NOT BUY., 17 Sept. 2014
This is a disgusting book, promoting child abuse. It suggests leaving your baby to cry so hard they a sick, and then to continue to ignore them while you clean up their sick around them.
Please do not buy, read, or follow any of this.
Awful, awful, awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abhorrent!, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
Horrific book advocating neglect and abuse of your baby. Do not buy! Always pick your baby up when it cries. Do not leave it to vomit from crying like this book advises (and even then it says dont pick up the baby; leave it while you change the bed!) Disgusting :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 149 50 51124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews