Customer Reviews


1,165 Reviews
5 star:
 (479)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (585)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and fair book, informative and non-judgemental - bad reviews should not put you off, they're unfair
My daughter is now 16 months and bought this book when she was 7 weeks old.

I found it full of practical information like what's the time limit to apply for child benefit, when vaccinations are due, when to see a doctor etc. This, to me, was very reassuring as, as a first time parent, I panicked about anything.
It was also very useful to read what to...
Published 1 month ago by Crista

versus
107 of 124 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cruel advice
This book says babies may throw up as they are
upset at crying it out but even then not to pick them up. How
cruel. Nasty book
Published 3 months ago by Alison MacLaine


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Balanced and fair book, informative and non-judgemental - bad reviews should not put you off, they're unfair, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
My daughter is now 16 months and bought this book when she was 7 weeks old.

I found it full of practical information like what's the time limit to apply for child benefit, when vaccinations are due, when to see a doctor etc. This, to me, was very reassuring as, as a first time parent, I panicked about anything.
It was also very useful to read what to expect from my baby in terms of sleep, nappies, feeds. Remember this is for the average baby, so if you're baby doesn't follow what is written there is nothing wrong; whilst my baby followed somewhat the sleep guide, she was way ahead in feeds for example. I felt the author took time to explain this and never once made me feel inadequate or judged.

I can't understand the 1 star reviews, they all concentrate on 2 pages in the entire book, forgetting the multitude of gentle sleep training methods found in every chapter and even repeated here and there. I applied these very successfully. The CIO is only mentioned as a last resort and, whilst I do no agree with it before 6 months, it does give an insight as to what to expect and what's the worst that can happen. I think this gives the book a very balanced feel, trying to appeal to parents with all sorts of parenting styles.
There is also talk of both breastfeeding and bottle feeding in every chapter, again giving it a balanced and non-judgemental feel; I do not understand how someone expects to be told how many ounces a baby should breastfeed. There is mention though on how many feeds you should expect from your baby (bf or formula fed). There is talk in every chapter about breastfeeding issues specific for that week as well as bottle-feeding issues. I should mention that I breastfed until week 15, so been on both sides of the argument. The only thing I can imagine is that the reviewers only read the headings and never the content.

As for weaning, the author acknowledges not everyone can wait until 6 months and provides a guide to weaning, if doing it early. Again, this is a balanced view. There is no talk of BLW, as this is done usually after 6 months.

Another thing I also liked about this book is the "what happens to mum" bit in every chapter, which again I found reassuring and attentive, as no other baby books pay attention to mum's transformation after birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book - disregard the 1 star smear campaign, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
a wonderful book for new parents. very informative and divided into simple sections making it easy to find required information quickly - you don't have much time in the first few weeks and months.
I think it's awful that someone has created a smear campaign against this book claiming it promotes child abuse through crying it out. the book mentions crying it out method as it is currently popular method with some parents. the way it describes it though, with the child possibly getting sick, discourages rather than encourages trying it on your baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the bad reviews! Fantastic book, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
This book was an absolute godsend when I had my two children. Wonderful, practical book, written in a way that will make most parents feel like they are not getting it all completely wrong.

I believe the bad reviews below are based on a hysterical post on a parenting forum somewhere, with everyone being directed to this site to jump on the band wagon and write a bad review - please note they are all written on the same day!

Co-sleeping until your child is a teenager is not for everyone, and some parents do feel there may be a time to allow their babies to cry a little and learn to sleep alone. This book talks through all those sorts of issues and the whole way through seems to offer a balanced, non-accusatory view on the various issues parents face with a new baby. Broken down into very easy to digest chapters, this book is a must have for any new parent.

So, I say ignore all the reviews bad mouthing this book and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's the internet, but ignore the ill informed "cry babies", 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
Ignore the ill informed hysterical one star reviewers who haven't actually read the book. In fact I hope not or their comprehension skills as well as judgement are called into question.

I come at this book as a GP dad with a new baby. Even coming from a medical perspective it provides useful information about the behaviour and needs of a baby. It offers up what you need to know for the relevant week in a 6-10 page bite size chunk so you aren't inundated with a large amount of irrelevant information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 124 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cruel advice, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Alison MacLaine (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
This book says babies may throw up as they are
upset at crying it out but even then not to pick them up. How
cruel. Nasty book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not to be recommended terrible advice, 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
There might be some useful information in this book for parents who aren't confident in the first couple of weeks. However if they were to keep reading and get to the horrendous page about controlled crying - and actually follow the books advice, that's where the useful info stops and the child abuse begins. Seriously awful. It's no controlled crying when your child is sick. If someone left an elderly person or animal or hell, an adult to cry themselves sick and then not make eye contact they could be arrested for neglect. Absolutely disgusting and puts the rest of your book into disrepute,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, unless you fancy a visit from Social Services., 16 Sep 2014
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Unacceptable and outdated advice, some of it just outright cruel and abusive, totally unsupported by professional guidelines. Try Sarah Ockwell-Smith's ,
"Babycalm" or Bill Sear's "Babybook" for well researched advices based on medical fact and relevant psychological studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Borderline child abuse advice!, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
There is without a doubt some useful information in this book re developmental milestones, however nothing new I haven't seen on numerous baby website.
The reason for this low rating is her advice re sleeptraining. According to author you should never ever pick your baby up, no matter how upset they are. She even states some babies might get so upset they end up vomiting, but if that happens, just quickly change the sheets of the crib by moving the baby from one side to the other WITHOUT interacting or god forbid picking them up and comforting. As a first time mom of a baby who wakes every 3 hours at night for feeds, I cannot immagine a more heartless way to handle my baby. Why on earth would I cause him this amount of stress??? There are so many other tecniques out there for sleep training. But even if you do resort to crying out, WHY OH WHY would you literally bring physical pain to your child? How can she possibly be promoting this, if this was written for a slightly older child it would be classed as emotional and physical abuse. But somehow, it's ok to do this to a baby?
Please don't waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrendous book that is far to routine led, 16 Sep 2014
Very sad to read a book that tells you to treat your child so cruelly. From tell you to let them cry it out until they are sick and still not comfort them to saying that mums should be doing exercise by 5 months. Guilts the parents if the child is not following routines and sleeping through. Also promotes bottle feeding over breast feeding. Not very balanced advice at all. Far better books like sweet sleep, babycalm and wonder weeks out there to solve your sleep and baby problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Some truly awful advice. Babies should not be abandoned to cry, 16 Sep 2014
By 
L. Eddie (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby (Paperback)
Seriously, why would any mum really want to leave their baby to cry until they are sick? The baby is crying to be held and loved by their mother, the person who brought them into this world. Night wakenings are hard but if you're not ready to deal with them then maybe you're not ready to be a parent. Breaks my heart to think of babies using their only method of communication and being ignored. Actually gives me a sore belly thinking about it. Avoid, and go and hug your baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Baby Week By Week: The ultimate guide to caring for your new baby
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews