Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing labour of love, 2 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
A shining achievement of a book.A beautiful memoir about a most difficult relationship and the greatest taboo, which avoids all accusations of abuse and declarations of victimhood.A most honest,very human book about love in its purest sense. Uplifting and pure and very well written, this book never jars. I wish everybody who had a tough and lonely childhood, could read it. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 Feb 2010
By 
A Reader (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
I first started reading Leslie Kenton's memoir as an admirer of her many excellent health books and had no idea she was the daughter of Jazz legend Stan Kenton. She actually had an amazing childhood, growing up in the Hollywood Hills and going on tour with her father and his band, and it's fascinating to read about their glamorous lifestyle - normal life for young Leslie was chatting to Nat King Cole and Marlon Brando, or going to the circus with "Uncle" Ronald Reagan. But there is also a dark side to Leslie's story - the incest that occurred between her and her father - and she describes this with unflinching honesty, attempting to understand and resolve, so this is absolutely no misery memoir, though the evilness of her paternal grandmother Stella is pretty staggering. Love Affair reveals Leslie Kenton in a whole new light, and I can only admire the way she has survived, found success on her own terms and now come to terms with her past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Love Affair To Remember, 17 Feb 2010
By 
D. Thompson "D.Mack" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
As much as anything, this is s story of a journey from darkness to light - of how an intelligent, lonely, sensitive, vulnerable child - beautiful and full of feeling - endured the extremes of pain and grief (as well as ecstasy) to arrive a a kind of transcendence - a resolution of the traumatic past into and affirmation of love and faith in life.

Yes, it is an infinitely touching account of the vulnerabilities of a child. But this was an exceptionally attractive and vital child whose vulnerabilities also were extreme - a child assailed by a toxic mix of draconian control and emotional bewilderment, who grew up in an atmosphere of family and personal chaos.

The irony is that she was also a child apparently inheriting the cultural and financial riches of an America newly mobilized for war and the prosperity brought by war. Her father and mother lived out the kind of life that would, to the rest of us, brought up on Hollywood films,a life of enviable glamour and of familiarity with the glamorous and famous.

The child Leslie was embedded for years in this life. Not the least touching element in Leslie's life is her account of the prodigious journeys by car with her parents, as her father drove them from engagement to engagement across the breadth of America while he was establishing himself as a leading musical force.

The weirdness as well as the familiarity (to her) of this existence for a virtually unschooled but exceptionally bright and aware girl is unobtrusively but memorably conveyed.

This, by itself, is an epic story. Much more epic, of course, is the core of the memoir - Leslie's account of her exceptionally intense and then intensely exceptional relationship with her talented, needy, erratic, and addicted father and the consequences of what happened when he responded to her startlingly attractive and luminous beauty. It was a fatal attraction in its way - with profoundly traumatic and almost fatal results. The memoir accounts - with complete understanding and utterly without rancor - how much their relationship was one of love as well as need, of joy as well as grief and despair. It was however a source of such intensity of emotion that the lonely growing child was forced to dissociate from it and repress all conscious memory of it. However it continued unconsciously to disrupt and sabotage her life until she recovered and dealt with the memories of it.

The book is a unique memoir of a unique life yet it is of universal importance. It plumbs the fears, vulnerability, and need for fulfillment which we all live with and offers a glimpse of the possibility of transformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love you, Stanley, more than anyone in the world. I guess I always will, 13 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
Love Affair makes compelling reading, and is a wonderfully powerful and moving book about the damage incest causes to mind, body, soul and spirit.

It is also about generational family dysfunction and understanding role shifts in our interactions with others.

By writing without a glimmer of bitterness or self-pity, and being at pains never to apportion blame, Leslie challenges us to recognise and embrace the shadow side present in ALL of us.

Only in this way, can true healing finally take place.

This is the uplifting story of how the wounded, suffering human soul can begin to make sense of, and overcome, the horrors of the past. How it can be liberated to soar pure and free, Phoenix-like, from the Ashes of despair.

Love is indeed the `affair' in hand...for only with love can we forgive and forget, break the spell, and lift the family curse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Life - warning, spoilers!, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
A brave and fascinating book.
Meeting the famous from an early age, incest, drugging and abuse by a mad grandmother (possible involvement in MKultra? satanism?), commital and ECT, world travel, involvement in experimental LSD therapy, 4 children by 4 men, Tibetan Buddhism, writing, health broadcasting and fame!
The main theme is Leslie's unbreakable bond with her father and their unique relationship, which despite its very dark side seems to have a great purity about it.
I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 only because Leslie's psychological and philosophical musings get a bit high falutin for me at times, they are very personal to her but might not necessarily speak to the reader as much as they do to her.
A book I looked forward to reading every evening though and I'd recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars leslie kenton. love affair, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
i found the book very sad i cannot believe that such a great jazz musician could treat his daughter in such a way.
i could not put the book down.

Brian.

Manchester
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Affair, 19 Feb 2010
By 
C. G. Burgess - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
If you are a Modern Jazz fan of the greatest band that led in the 1950's. Then this story of Stan Kenton will be hard for you to put down. Not the greatest piano player, but a genius who carried what many such do, baggage of mind and body.I am not sure if the casual reader will find the sordid details of his life of great interest. His daughter Leslie the author has great courage, I hope it becomes a bestseller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When I say I like it, I mean that it is so well ..., 28 Aug 2014
This review is from: Love Affair: The memoir of a forbidden father-daughter relationship: A True Story of Love, Loss and Obsession (Paperback)
When I say I like it, I mean that it is so well written from her heart, very sad what adults do to children .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews