Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices - Essential Reading
This volume in the Forgotten Voices series is just excellent (aren't they all ?). The book starts off with recollections of the Dunkirk evacuation (the contempt the RAF were held in by the army after events in France,is evident !)& the subsequent threat of Nazi invasion,as Hitler planned Operation Sealion.Then we arrive at the Battle of Britain & finally accounts of the...
Published on 5 July 2009 by DavyA

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, cheap package..
As this book was apparently produced in corporation with the IWM I adhere much to the contents of it and find it very good reading indeed.
However, why publish an otherwise great book in such a disappointingly cheap package; paperback format only and a poor one at that.
Second; there are plenty very interesting pictures as well but all printed on the same coarse...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Well-worth reading, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
MBR (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
A wonderful book!
Because it's in the words of those who were there, this book conveys real atmosphere of the time and gives a sense of what it must have been like. It is, at the same time, informative and moving and so interesting. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 10 May 2014
By 
Martin H. King "Dr. Martin King." (Exeter, Devon.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
Another great book from the "forgotten Voices" series. The book is made up of short accounts by the actual participants in the Battle of Britain - and not just the pilots of the RAF, also civilians who add another fascinating dimension to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
Great insight into the lives of those who lived through the Battle of Britain and the blitz. A lot short comments but put together paint what I can only imagine was a pretty realistic picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillant again, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
As usual a brilliant book,the words from people that were there no some made up stuff,I've read a lot of these books and respect to everybody who shared their past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Dad really enjoyed this book, 1 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
I bought this book for my dad. He had already read one of the others and wanted this one. From what he's told me he enjoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
as usual a series of stories from ww2 in the context of the time of the battle of britain and the blitz. all very interesting, useful to get a more emotive feeling of the time. however from a educational point of view, its all it really gives. small overview then a mish mash of stories set out to entertain and shock. there are better books out there. I get the feeling now and some might agree that these books are now just put together to give publishers money, and people who read the basic parts of military history something to read.

before I get a critical beating, let me say the book is well written and enjoyable, however I am a believer in reading a whole story not just bits. oral history has to be part of it but not all by itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, cheap package.., 14 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
As this book was apparently produced in corporation with the IWM I adhere much to the contents of it and find it very good reading indeed.
However, why publish an otherwise great book in such a disappointingly cheap package; paperback format only and a poor one at that.
Second; there are plenty very interesting pictures as well but all printed on the same coarse paper as the text, why not on glossy pages?
Sure, more costly, so what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With a pinch of salt, 17 Jun. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of the Blitz and the Battle For Britain: A New History in the Words of the Men and Women on Both Sides (Paperback)
At the heading to one chapter an anonymous contributor states that a woman on seeing incendiaries falling over London, puts up her umbrella and goes out 'singing in the rain'. As 'singing in the rain' was made in 1952, it quite probably isn't true! I also don't believe the one about the RAF pilot being killed by farm workers who wouldn't accept he was British. he only had to tell them to where to go, so to speak.

Perhaps memories are becoming a little fuzzy with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews