Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISTAKE!!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
Helen Pennington "bubbagirl5" (Spennymoor, Co Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
Dont fall into the same trap as I did thinking that this was one of three McCann books.

Just A Boy is the first book - and The Boy Grows Up is exactly the same as Into The Light!! Only difference is The Boy Grows Up has an extra chapter.

I kept The Boy Grows Up and returned Into The Light!!

Hope this stops someone else from making the same mistake.

Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Sequel, 26 Feb 2006
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
Sometimes a sequel to a brilliant book is disappointing. This is certainly not the case with "Into The Light". Richard McCann's first book "Just A Boy" was extremely powerful and moving; his sequel has the same attributes. "Just A Boy" gave the message that a person can survive abuse and make a success of their life. This sequel demonstrates clearly how McCann actually did this and continues to do so.
McCann's writing style is straightforward yet very illustrative and emotive. I was moved to tears on several occasions. It is also written in a way that you cannot leave it; if you had the time you would read it in one sitting. This book tells how McCann has gone on to achieve personal fulfilment but also how he has taken incredible steps to help others who have experienced losses. It also gives the reader useful insight into human behaviours - of both victims and their abusers.
The book, like McCann, is incredibly positive and motivating. It will help an enormous number of people in different ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life changing positivity!, 23 Feb 2006
By 
Lady C. L. Daniels (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
An amazing sequel; proving that Richard is nobody's victim -
a truly inspirational journey with a compelling sense of honesty, integrity & humbleness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Amazing Read by an Inspirational Man., 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
I highly recomend Into the Light to all of you that read Just a Boy. In his amazing new book Richard has proved that it is possible to turn your life around after a tragic event. He has used his experiences that life has thrown at him to turn them around and help other people. Into the Light also shows for the first time different aspects of Wilma's personality which helps the reader to see that there was much more to her than just a name in the newspapers. She was a loving mother, daughter, wife, sister and friend who will always be missed but whose loving legacy will live on forever in her children and grandchildren.
Into the Light also introduces you to Helen and the loving role that she plays in Richards life.
Richard has proved that he is no longer Just A Boy and has finally gone Into The Light!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the Light, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
I read this book in 'one sitting'. I kept telling myself just read another 10 pages or just read the next chapter and then you must get on. This turned into reading the whole book as I couldn't put it down. At the end of his previous book 'Just a boy' I cried when Richard went to his grandmothers funeral in Scotland. I felt very sad for him that he had not had the opportunity to get to know his mothers family especially his grandmother. At the end of 'Into the Light' I cried tears of joy for Richard and Helen and their future together.
Richard writes so easily you want to know what happens next. How he starts to get to know his Scottish family and the neighbour who had known his mother when he was a child. Does he find the house she grew up in, is the weddding ring hers. This made it a real page turner for me. I also found it very uplifting as he met Helen and they started their relationship while he decided to go back into education and got started at university. I'm sure he will be a great help to others in the future. Anyone who read 'Just a Boy' will want to read 'Into the Light' and any other books Richard writes in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring., 6 Dec 2006
By 
Tina x (Essex England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
Such a great follow up to Richards first book 'Just a Boy' continues to be inspiring and again well written.

I was however a little upset when i found that his paper back version due out in Feb 07 has an extra chapeter in it with a continuation from the hard back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MOVING, UPLIFTING, INSPIRATIONAL, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
First of all, if you haven't yet read Richard McCann's first book, "About a Boy" then I highly recommend you do!
This sequel is a moving, uplifting and inspirational memoir that will alternately move you to tears of sorrow and of joy at the power of the human spirit to overcome almost insurmountable suffering and triumph in spite of all the odds.
This book definitely qualifies as "un-put-downable" - I literally read it from start to finish in a single, emotional sitting.
The depth of feeling and raw human emotion conveyed in "Into the Light" will connect you with its author at a fundamental level. It will move you to tears I'm sure! And most of all it will give you a beautiful insight into the strength, passion and energy of the human spirit, and give you renewed belief in compassion and the chance we all have to make the world a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into the light, 13 Feb 2006
By 
S. HOWARTH (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
It just goes to show that us men have true emotions and feelings, which are all honestly displayed in Richard's new book 'Into the Light'.
From obtaining the copy of the book on Saturday both my partner and I argued over who would read it first and being the true gentleman gave way. She read the book non stop for 3 hours and could i interupt her - no way!
It is a precious gift from a truly inspiring individual who provided interest with true feeling and emotion all the way through. The book offers a real insight into the hope and courage of a man who has suffered much but has come through his past as a gifted individual.
A must read and great follow on from 'Just a Boy'. If you have not read it READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 12 Aug 2009
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
what a true fighter & to go on to help others you are amazing well done richard both books were fabulous :)

lizx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hero Steps Into the Light, 2 Sep 2008
By 
Tim Downes (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Into the Light (Hardcover)
Into The Light (more recently entitled The Boy Grows Up) is a glorious follow up to Richard McCann's first book the captivating and deeply moving Just A Boy.

Richard's books leave you spellbound and his inspirational presentations make you believe that anything is possible... The empowering spirit of I CAN.

I can't wait for book 3.

For me Richard is a true hero; someone who stepped into the light and set free their Hero Self.

Keep flying high.

Tim Downes - Rising Talent's Success Coach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Light
Into the Light by Richard McCann (Hardcover - 16 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews