Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyday Japanese food
This is a lovely book. The title is a little clumsy, although it gets the point across, but don't let that put you off; the contents are quite carefully and thoroughly presented.

I enjoy Japanese food but sometimes the amount of preparation and long ingredient lists are off-putting when you don't have much time to spare. What's lovely about this book is that...
Published on 13 Jan 2008 by Ms. E. Flint

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a bad book
not a bad book, more about her life over all than any real cooking. You get a few good recipes from her family but not as many as id have liked.
good book over all though
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But they write Exceedinly dull books:, 23 Jan 2006
By A Customer
What a let down, the title promised so much, but the book failed to deliver.
This book was just a rambling reminiscance of the writers early life in Japan, based round her Mothers' kitchen and her school packed lunches. Okay so the basis of the Japanese diet is probably fairly healthy but the writers comparison is based mainly upon a students diet in America! How many students diets are nutritious and healthy?
If potential readers have got lots of time and money to invest in reinventing their eating and lifestyle they may find it of interest but I did not find anything particularly useful or enlightening.
The reviews that accompany this book from Newspapers are gushing and in my opinion do not reflect the rather mundane content of the book.
My advice; if you fancy something Japanese, don't buy the book, buy some Sushi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, and some good ideas, 22 Sep 2014
By 
R. Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets (Paperback)
Great read ,and some good ideas x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting book!, 3 Aug 2009
This review is from: Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets (Paperback)
I bought the book because I was curious about the title. But It has proved a really interesting book and even useful. I really like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE CHANGING BIBLE!, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets (Paperback)
I read this book on the bus whilst on my way to my new experience, Asian food store! It's all new and different. An education on how to eat the traditional Japanese diet. It's all part of the new 67 year old ME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So Useful!, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely book, full of tips and recipes. I found it a good way to get into cooking Japanese food. I liked the bits in between, where the author explains why Japanese cooking is better for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, repetitive read, 29 April 2009
By 
Maria Xanthopoulou (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets (Paperback)
Despite its catchy, humorous title this book was boring and repetitive. The same (or very similar) information, childhood memories, and advice appear again and again filling endless pages with very little essence, that could be condensed in a single readable chapter. I gave it two stars for the interesting-looking recipes, which, however, I will not bother to cook - the book put me off. As a reminder, Japanese cuisine and eating habits are not the only wholesome alternative to the notoriously unhealthy American-style foods and portions, which are not the norm everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 69 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn - Secrets of Japanese Immortality, 13 Oct 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (edinburgh Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Apparently if you eat pizzas the size of a buffalo's behind you'll end up with a cow size rump but if you give yourself half or even quarter size portions of really healthy food you can go back for seconds now and again. Half the calories so you can eat twice as much. Trite nonsense aimed at the naive and credulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets (Paperback)
Flicked through it and it is interesting but havent read it religiously! Came in excellent condition though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Japanese Women Don't Get Old or Fat: Delicious slimming and anti-ageing secrets
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews