Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Child - a moving and inspiring journey of discovery
Sue Elliott's odyssey to discover her birth mother, leads her into much more than she bargained for. But this is not just a personal and emotional journey, Sue's story is skilfully interwoven with a fascinating and at times disturbing social history of adoption, and with the personal testimonies of many women who had to give up their babies for adoption against their...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by Peter Wenban

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars family
My uncle recommended this book mainly because my aunt and uncle are mentioned in the story of
Marjory which was wonderful the way they are mentioned, and it was great to know how they got
back together as a family, should give hope to any-one that is adopted, not all children given up are
because they are not wanted or loved but in the early days not much...
Published 10 months ago by Barbara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Child - a moving and inspiring journey of discovery, 23 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Wenban (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Sue Elliott's odyssey to discover her birth mother, leads her into much more than she bargained for. But this is not just a personal and emotional journey, Sue's story is skilfully interwoven with a fascinating and at times disturbing social history of adoption, and with the personal testimonies of many women who had to give up their babies for adoption against their will. It's hard to stay dry-eyed as the enormity of the impact on so many lives - the birth mothers, the adoptee parents and the adopted children - is explored with great sensitivity and understanding. The moving and colourful story of Sue's own adoption and reunion with her birth mother is told with frankness, warmth and humour. It will resonate with anyone involved in adoption and surprise others with aspects of adoption to which most of us have given little thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the first few lines and you`ll be hooked, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
An extremely passionately and movingly written book that accompanies the TV series that went out on ITV during January. Anyone who has been adopted should read this as the author, Sue Elliott, not only tells a fascinating tale of how adoption has changed since the late 1800`s but she also cleverly weaves a true story about her adoption into the narrative. The author has done herself and her contributors proud. If you read just one book this year, this should be it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, superbly told, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
A delight -- full of good qualities and good things. The stories Sue Elliott has to tell are utterly absorbing. The way she intertwines her personal story with social history is beautifully judged, and both strands are equally rewarding to read. On the personal side, this is a great story, told with wit and wisdom, and with a good eye for the chapter-end cliff-hanger. And on the social-history side, ‘Love Child’ gives a fascinating introduction to the legal, social, and moral complexities which shaped the history of adoption across the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Child: a moving and revealing exploration of adoption, 19 Mar 2006
By 
Wendy Sender (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
The history of adoption in the UK makes disturbing reading – babies wrenched from their mothers' arms, mothers declared ‘mad’ and dispatched to ‘asylums’ to lead lonely, anguished lives. Sue Elliott’s gripping tale tells the story of adoption through a century of changing practices and legislation. What makes her tale so engaging is the way she interweaves the historical backdrop with her own deeply moving story of her search for her birth mother. Her tale astounds and confounds at every stage, and offers moving insights into the lives of everyone caught up in it. The subject of adoption is a fascinating one, and Sue Elliott tells it with humour, warmth and compassion. For anyone interested in finding out more about the subject, there are more than 20 pages of sources of further information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Love Child, 14 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
This is an enjoyable, readable and powerfully emotional book, that takes the reader not only on a journey with the author as she explores the story of her own adoption but also provides a fascinating insight into the social mores of the mid 20th century and British attitudes towards sex, relationships and childhood. The book provides wonderful insight into a frighteningly recent period when adoption was used as a key element of social policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a winner !, 14 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
A riveting account of one womans story of love loss reunion and conclusion. This is an emotional journey that contains many surprises but one which closes with a question that will stay with the author and those involved forever. Woven into this journal is an informative account of the development of adoption -from its beginnings through to its standing in to-days society. No library should be without this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought lump to my throat, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book as I am adopted and hoped it would give me advice on how to go about tracing my birth mother. I found the book to be very informative, but also heart wrenching. It goes into the history of adoption systems and tells how hard it used to be - well damn near impossible - to trace your birth mother. I felt many emotions reading this, especially when she found her mother - unfortunately mine died before I could meet her. I also passed it on to a friend who had had to adopt her children in the hope that the book would help her trace them I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is adopted, or who has had to give a child away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated Edition - even better than the first!, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
This updated edition of 'Love Child' brings the reader up to date with events since the first fascinating story of Sue Elliott, her adoption story and finding her two sisters. To learn that their relationship has strengthened and developed despite emotional difficulties was touching and very sensitively written hitting the right note of honesty without being 'shmaltzy'.

The story about the hunt for their fathers was very interesting as it's not a topic that is covered in many books about adoption. In fact, having read the new chapter I just had to read the rest of the book all over again to remind myself of the original story and the social history aspect of adoption. The issues today are different from those that the girls' birth mother encountered but this book is still the best one I've read about finding lost birth parents and family members.

I recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the whole adoption issue of the 50s and 60s combined with a true life story - wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New material brings stories up to date, 3 Sep 2012
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book about the experience of adoption and of discovering in adulthood one's birth relations. As Sue Elliott puts it - it is about love, loss and reunion. I read the original when it came out and a friend gave me this new version. The main difference is an important new chapter bringing the various true stories up to date, including the author's own. It is beautifully written and extremely moving. I would guess it to be required reading for anyone who has been adopted or is considering adoption. For everyone else it is a remarkable insight into what it can be to discover in adulthood not just your birth mother but families of whom you knew nothing. The feelings of the adoptive parents are also most sensitively reported. The new chapter also addresses the issue of the fathers which Sue Elliott now feels was neglected in the original. As she points out, it is insufficient to assume that the man was always a bird of passage, an extra-marital fling etc, without feelings and a perspective of his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucy Wilkinson, 25 May 2010
By 
MLN Wilkinson "Matthew Wilkinson" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Child (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully written and touching personal account of the author's adoption set in the context of the history of adoption in England. I went to bed with it one evening and read it straight through - I could not put it down and the author's story often comes back to me as I go about my day. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Child
Love Child by Sue Elliott (Paperback - 2 Mar 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews