Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Book
Aromatherapy an A-Z is a first class book. I have used it as a health encyclopedia (along with a wonderful herb book ~ The New Holistic Herbal by David Hoffmann) for the last 13 years and refer to it constantly. Almost (!) all the information you could ever need on all aspects of aromatherapy from treatment and prevention of specific illnesses, history of plant use &...
Published on 5 Dec 2005 by greenpapaya*

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The title promises too much
Although helpful and with good info, this book is far from complete and barely scratches the surface of the subjects it catalogues. I would catagorize this as a good starter book. It is sufficient as a cross reference to others, but more often than not, this book has no entries beyond the most basic (health) conditions and essential oils
Published on 16 Dec 2007 by Lise CPH


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Book, 5 Dec 2005
This review is from: Aromatherapy An A-Z: The most comprehensive guide to aromatherapy ever published (Paperback)
Aromatherapy an A-Z is a first class book. I have used it as a health encyclopedia (along with a wonderful herb book ~ The New Holistic Herbal by David Hoffmann) for the last 13 years and refer to it constantly. Almost (!) all the information you could ever need on all aspects of aromatherapy from treatment and prevention of specific illnesses, history of plant use & methods of oil extaction, to cosmetic use (including recipes for cosmetic products), all in an easy to use A-Z 'dictionary' format. Includes information on related practices such as Yoga and Reflexology etc Everyone interested in their own health should own a copy of this insightful and indespensible book.

I have a comment however, about the latest edition of this book published by Vermilion.. Don't buy this book! It is of VERY poor quality (the paper used for the pages of the book particularly). If you want to get hold of a copy (which I highly recommend!) ~ try to get hold of an older edition (the 2000 edition still has exactly the same content as this latest edition) you can still get this older edition from the Random House on-line bookshop (who have taken over CW Daniel ~ the original publishers' books), and now also from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
A book you can use by itself or together with others but one you will always go back to. Excellent information in easy to find format with important lists of hazardous oils, oils not good to use for people with epilepsy, high blood pressure, pregnancy and a list of possible skin irritants. This is a book I would not be without and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 21 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
This book is perfect for anybody with a good basic understanding of aromatherapy or for those who are studying the subject. It has so much information in it that if you were only to buy one aromatherapy book then you should consider this. I have added it to my collection and use it in conjunction with the Directory of Essential Oils. Anything that springs to mind about aromatherapy and it's uses are in this book; from the oils themselves to the conditions that can be treated with them. From high blood pressure to chickenpox, from skincare to serious medical complaints, it's all there in this book. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2006
By 
C. Arnold (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aromatherapy An A-Z: The most comprehensive guide to aromatherapy ever published (Paperback)
This book is wonderful for anyone who wants to practice aromatherapy within the comfort of their own home. The book explains the history of aromatherapy & then goes on to the A-Z. The A-Z includes the essential oils & all the conditions it's used to treat & other treatments that can be used in conjunction with aromatherapy e.g. Acne, Acupunture etc. The Appendix has a list of all the hazardous essential oils, oils that are not to be used during pregnancy, oils that must not be used on people suffering from Epilipsy and good combinations for bathing etc. I found the book informative & very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Book, 1 Feb 2006
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
Aromatherapy an A-Z is a first class book. I have used it as a health 'bible'/encyclopedia (along with a wonderful herb book ~ The New Holistic Herbal by David Hoffmann) for the last 13 years and refer to it constantly. Almost (!) all the information you could ever need on all aspects of aromatherapy from treatment and prevention of specific illnesses, history of plant use & methods of oil extaction, to cosmetic use (including recipes for cosmetic products), all in an easy to use A-Z 'dictionary' format. Includes information on related practices such as Yoga and Reflexology etc Everyone interested in their own health should own a copy of this insightful and indespensible book.

** N.B. I highly recommend buying this edition rather than the 2005 edition published by Vermillion ~ it contains exactly the same information word for word, but is of a much higher quality in terms of the materials used (paper printing etc).

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended A Comprehensive Reference, 13 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
There are so many books on aromatherapy on the market and many of them are interesting, but of all the books I have read or bought on the subject I find this one the most reliable and well used. I can usually find what I am looking for and unlike some books you have both recommended oils for common ailments and details of many essential oils including some of the more unusual ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The title promises too much, 16 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Aromatherapy An A-Z: The most comprehensive guide to aromatherapy ever published (Paperback)
Although helpful and with good info, this book is far from complete and barely scratches the surface of the subjects it catalogues. I would catagorize this as a good starter book. It is sufficient as a cross reference to others, but more often than not, this book has no entries beyond the most basic (health) conditions and essential oils
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide and reference book, 13 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
This book is an absolute must for anyone who is already familiar with the concepts of aromatherapy. The chapters are well written in plain English and enable easy understanding. This book definitely has found its permanent space right next to my first aid books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very concise but not a easy reference, 19 Dec 2009
This review is from: Aromatherapy- An A-Z (Paperback)
I was looking for an aromatherapy book that would give me a summary of oils for certain conditions but found this book thick and detailed which would be great if thats what you wanted but no recipes or quick reference. So if you wanted to know what oils are suggested for XYZ then this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not "most comprehensive" but useful, 14 Feb 2008
This review is from: Aromatherapy An A-Z: The most comprehensive guide to aromatherapy ever published (Paperback)
I have to challenge the title of "Most Comprehensive", there are other books that I consider more comprehensive. Having said that, I have found it a very useful addition to my aromatherapy books and I do reference it quite often. I find that I use it in conjunction with the dictionary of essential oils and The fragrant pharmacy (which I think is a bit more comprehensive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aromatherapy An A-Z: The most comprehensive guide to aromatherapy ever published
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews