Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notes from the Languedoc
This book gives a really excellent account of what life in the modern day Midi is like.
I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to find out more about the region than the sort of snapshot that the Rough Guides etc provide.
I've been visiting the region for over twenty five years(my wife is French)but I still learnt a lot from reading this...
Published on 13 April 2004 by PhilipRonaldSpooner

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a dull read
As someone who has fallen in love with the area and is hoping to make an extended visit there, this book really annoyed me!

I cannot agree with the comments about excellent writing. The author has no lightness of touch and his style is painfully dated (perhaps some would find it charming?). The only funny jokes were stolen from other people (e.g. Peter...
Published on 30 Sep 2007 by Jon Clawley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notes from the Languedoc, 13 April 2004
By 
PhilipRonaldSpooner (Sant Cugat, Barcelona Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book gives a really excellent account of what life in the modern day Midi is like.
I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to find out more about the region than the sort of snapshot that the Rough Guides etc provide.
I've been visiting the region for over twenty five years(my wife is French)but I still learnt a lot from reading this amusing,well-written and wise description of an area of France I know and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you ever wanted to know about the Languedoc., 13 July 2005
By 
P. K. Cameron (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
"Notes from the Languedoc" by Rupert Wright, now in its second edition, combines the history and culture of this increasingly popular part of France and its peoples with descriptions of the landscape, together with the escapades of the Wright family as they settle into life in the area, the whole enlivened by Rupert's ever present sense of humour. His interest in the local wine and food forms a backdrop to almost every chapter. I defy anyone not to return to it again and again to drink in the sights, flavours, and colours of this fascinating area.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly lovely read, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
I picked up Notes from the Languedoc because it is about the region I live in. I expected the usual drivel about plumbers and strange French eating habits. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. This is a really lovely book; it is well written, interesting and has an addictively gentle atmosphere. The author clearly knows his subject and is able to share his knowledge in an accessible and entertaining way. I think this could become a classic. I would recommend it to anyone who likes good books, not just those with an interest in France. Is Rupert Wright the new Bruce Chatwin? I look forward to his next book enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chasing His Notion of Paradise, 7 Dec 2005
By 
Marques Vickers (Fabrezan, Languedoc France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
Rupert Wright has a deft touch with language which resonates well with the reading pallette. His work is like a preacher's sermon to a saved congregation. As the sole American in a Languedoc village and one of those leagues of writers drafting their own novel about the region, he is dead-on with his wit, enthusiasm and insight into the region. Inhaling this work is like the full course meal and good company you don't wish to leave. One can only hope for an encore performance. A must read for anyone who has ever been intrigued about the "genuine" Provence which will likely be a distant memory within the next two decades. Rupert Wright knows his subject matter and fills in the blanks for most of us living here from elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a dull read, 30 Sep 2007
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
As someone who has fallen in love with the area and is hoping to make an extended visit there, this book really annoyed me!

I cannot agree with the comments about excellent writing. The author has no lightness of touch and his style is painfully dated (perhaps some would find it charming?). The only funny jokes were stolen from other people (e.g. Peter Sellers).

Was I the only one shocked by his blase description of shooting his own dog?!

Comparing him to Bruce Chatwin? You have got to be kidding!

How he manages to turn such a unique and fascinating place (and much under-described compared with neighboring Provence) into a series of dull and characterless descriptions is amazing.

Going on for page after page about his blasted dinghy...is anybody interested? Far too much about his tedious lifestyle and not enough about the place and its people.

As an alternative, I would definately go for "Signs of the Heart" by Christopher Hope. Not that its perfect but the author is actually interested in the local people rather than this books bland middle-class fascination for wining and dining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A man of (tedious) letters, 16 Sep 2008
By 
PaulB (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
This book isn't entirely awful - the jacket's quite pretty, and the section on Montpellier's recent history is interesting. But for the most part it is smug, self-centred and tedious.

It is presented as a series of letters to a relative of the author, most of which include an invitation to come and visit. The revelation, at the end of the book, that said relative never made it is mawkish, rather than moving, and frankly not that much of a surprise. Even as letters home, what is written here would not have been all that compelling.

In terms of insight into life in the modern Midi, there's very little. Such as there is concerns only the life of one privileged British expat. And given that most of the book is based on days out on bicycles or short trips on boats - little more than any tourist in the region might undertake - it is hard to see how any great understanding of the Languedoc or its natives can be expected. There may be a good book out there about the Languedoc, but this isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars life's too short, 1 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
there are certain writers who like to think that they go and live in france and they become a cross between marco polo and paddy leigh fermor...unfortunately wright isn't one of them...this is more like a cross between mungo park and joey barton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
I read this book before going to the Languedoc on holiday and would recommend it to anyone interested in visiting this area. It is full of insights into the rich history and culture of the region. His tales and descriptions are full of humour. It's the kind of book you constantly find yourself reading out loud to your companions - a book which I will read again with pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love to be an ExPat, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
What a fabulous book, I so enjoyed reading about Ruperts life style in rural France. Sooner or later I hope I'll be there as well, been a bit of a Francophile all my life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars en France, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Notes From the Languedoc (Paperback)
We sent for this book as we are currently buying a house in the Languedoc region and wanted to get as much information about the area as possible. This book didn't disappoint. We had borrowed it from the library initially but then felt we needed to have our own copy....to keep in France. It gives an excellent insight into places to visit in the region and for those not familiar with the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Notes From the Languedoc
Notes From the Languedoc by Rupert Wright (Paperback - 7 July 2005)
8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews