Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought pricking
Not often are we provided with stories that touch a rising problem in society. Binge drinking is a problem society can no longer ignore. It is endemic in countries like the UK, Ireland, and USA, and Cameroon, parts of the world like continental Europe, North America, South East Asia, and Latin America.
Smashed is an amazing story of this problem of alcoholism that is...
Published on 3 Mar. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under the influence... of Elizabeth Wurtzel
In the 1990s, I thought that "Prozac Nation" brilliantly captured the oh well, whatever, nevermind zeitgeist. "Smashed", however, is no "Prozac Nation" for the 2000s. Unfortunately, the author appears to have been heavily influenced by Elizabeth Wurtzel, right down to the author photograph (see "More, Now, Again") and overly long acknowledgments page (the one in "Prozac...
Published on 4 Jan. 2007 by Molly Ahmed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought pricking, 3 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Not often are we provided with stories that touch a rising problem in society. Binge drinking is a problem society can no longer ignore. It is endemic in countries like the UK, Ireland, and USA, and Cameroon, parts of the world like continental Europe, North America, South East Asia, and Latin America.
Smashed is an amazing story of this problem of alcoholism that is prevalent amongst young women. It is quite a scary book that will make many readers cringe when they read about the problems alcohol caused for Zailckas. This book may be a little bit too much for parents because it certainly is frightening and shocking for them to learn that heavy drinking is common amongst the young at such a young age. But as some one who went through that phase, I can relate to the story. It is a problem that should be confronted.
I like the way Zailckas did the narration. Her voice is strong in the writing and her style is unique. Poetic and fast flowing, one gets the story without drowning in compassion for her. After all, it is a past she shrugged off. That is why I think many people will find it interesting reading about this experience of alcoholism or binge drinking from the perspective of a young woman. It has lots of lessons to be learnt. Anybody can become an alcohol addict at an early stage in life. But with courage, determination and support, anybody can bit the addiction, whether as an alcoholic or a binge boozer.
Also recommended: DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE, NIGHTMARES ECHO, THE USURPER AND OTHER STORIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical Memoir, 29 April 2005
As memoirs go Smashed won't move you to tears or inspire you to change your life, nor does it claim to. It is actually very factual look at the sociology and psychology of binge drinkers. Koren Zailckas nevers falters in her detail nor in her wit which is what really makes this book. It is beautifully written and easily relatable, and appeals to everyone though particularly if you're a female who has ever had a rough night on the voddies.This book doesn't condemn or encourage binge drinking it simply gives the honest facts from someone who knows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was shocked it was Non-Fiction rather than Fiction, 31 July 2006
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
I've recently read this book and at times I had to re-read a line because it had been so shocking.
Koren Zailckas in my opinion is a talented first time writer and I found her book enjoyable.
It opened my eyes to the world of under-age drinking and how difficult it is to transition from girlhood to womanhood. My only gripe with the book is there were a few too many metaphors but even so they did create vivid pictures in my mind. I think this book appeals to older adolescents and adults alike.
If you want a true, realistic portrayal of alcohol abuse then this is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit like getting drunk.........., 15 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
starts of slowly, drawing in you in. Then before you know it you have drank the whole book in one, marathon session. I spent the next day ehausted and sleep deprived. Ii just couldn't put it down.
I think this book is honest, open and accurate. Although im not armerican nor a university student I can totally empathize with all the situations that Korin finds her self in. Im sure at some point most of us have been there. However the differnce is there was a moment when we said I can't do this anymore and we now save our binges for saturday nights in the pub. Korin obviously couldn't find this switch.
I think this book was amazingly well written, shocking and brutally honest, I think it took alot of courage to write and it was a harsh wake up call to all of us who consider ourselves social drinkers.
Unputdownable !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifly written book with some flawed conclusions, 2 Sept. 2006
By 
Paddy C. (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
I found this book an excellent read even if I found some of the Ms Zailckas's conclusions misdirected. The book was beautifully written and candid, it started with the euphoria that most people find with their first taste of alcohol and charted the decent into serial binge drinking. The problem is I saw the book as the author's struggle with inner demons rather than a purely alcohol abuse. The abuse seemed to be a symptom of her insecurities despite her undoubted beauty, high intelligence and sensitivity. (Where not Lord Byron and Shelly chronic alcohol abusers?)It is gratifying that she has managed to move out of her downward spiral and found a more meaningful life. However she seems to be blaming alcohol as the problem rather than the chronic introversion. At the end of the book she makes some very valid points about the advertising industries tactics which certainly seem misogynistic however see sees the young males around her as the enemy, as people who have none of the insecureties that she herself has when the reality is they have as equally flawed personas as she has which causes the actions that she so fervently admonishes. Despite all this I heartily recommend this book even if only to provoke discussion like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 9 April 2007
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
SMASHED is a chilling novel of female alcohol addiction. For Koren Zailckas, it started at age fourteen, and from her first drink of Southern Comfort she was addicted. Koren later joins a college sonority, which just gives her more of a reason to get really drunk -- and more people to do it with!

The writing isn't the most brilliant that I have ever read but the story is definitely good. Most alcohol addiction books are about a male, so this is a great book to read if you want to learn about this subject -- or even if you are just a curious reader.

There is not a lot that you can say about this book without giving the whole thing away! Even though she drinks excessively, Koren never goes to rehab or actually goes to an AA meeting! And unlike James Frey's embellished novel of drug and alcohol addiction, this one is the truth.

Reviewed by: Taylor Rector
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars smashing, 27 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
i got this book a few days after being told my own liver was damaged through drinking. though reading it was hardgoing at times because it hit home i suppose, I was heartened by the fact I was not alone and yet aghast at how widespread the problem is. the only thing which could possibly have used some work is the ending however as it is a true portrayal the honesty stayed consistent throughout so perhaps it is best to leave it as it is rather than fool us into a happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a chilling insight, 22 April 2007
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
I picked up this book because i was intrigued by the title but was a little concerned that it might be abit over the top and glamourised. however, firstly i couldn't put it down and secondly i found it to be a very truthful account of what can happen to young girls through experiments with alcohol and the influences thats come with college life and peer pressure. i think that it shows a very chilling reality that alot of people don't see about how easy it is to fall into a certain lifestyle and being oblivious of what you are doing to yourself and to the others around you. and whether you like it or not there will be at least one part, situation or thing in this book that you personally will relate to.

i thought this book was fantastic, id recommend it to anyone of any age and gender, a lot to be learnt from the authors experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under the influence... of Elizabeth Wurtzel, 4 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
In the 1990s, I thought that "Prozac Nation" brilliantly captured the oh well, whatever, nevermind zeitgeist. "Smashed", however, is no "Prozac Nation" for the 2000s. Unfortunately, the author appears to have been heavily influenced by Elizabeth Wurtzel, right down to the author photograph (see "More, Now, Again") and overly long acknowledgments page (the one in "Prozac Nation" is legendary). Koren Zailckas does not write with the same verve as Elizabeth Wurtzel, which is necessary to save this type of confessional memoir from being utterly tedious; nor does she display the same wide-range knowledge, veering instead into clumsily distracting footnotes. Finally, what she appears to consider to be mind-blowing alcoholic benders woud pass for a quiet Monday night at most UK university student unions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 23 May 2006
By 
Karen C (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl (Paperback)
As a recent uni grad I thought Zailckas' captured the pressures, confusion and excitement of campus life perfectly. I found her writing style to be very honest and could identify with a lot of the scenarios she describes. Definitely a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl
Smashed: Growing Up A Drunk Girl by Koren Zailckas (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews