Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on punk
Just read this book after several hearty recommendations from friends. What I love about it is that you get the feeling you are there right in the middle of the eternal arguments about punk! So many different perspectives and truths all clashing in the quotes from all the key players all these years later. The great thing about a format like this is that it gives you a...
Published on 8 Oct 2007 by joe coyne

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well documented, badly written
With a wide span of interviews to draw from, from the people who were really there, this gives a clear story of the rise of punk..but the way it has been edited makes the people speaking sound like they're 5 year olds writing about what they did on their holidays. It seems to take the 'life' out their words...also it is full of typos.
If John Robb needs a proof...
Published on 18 April 2009 by B. S. Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive punk book!, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
Wow! Just finished reading this.
John Robb doesn't miss anything out in this oral history of punk rock- that's the history of punk rock told in quotes...everyone is in here from Johny Rotten to The CLash to Crass to The Ruts to the Slits to gaye Advert to Howard Devoto to the Cockney Rejects and a couple of hundred others...its exciting and passionate- just what you'd expect from people who lived it.
A great read, really like Robb's mini essays- whilst your at it you may as well check his band out Goldblade and their 'Rebel Songs' album- proof that punk rock is still alive and well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even I, Japanese, want to pay the most compliment, 17 July 2007
By 
Takemasa Wakuta (Osaka, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
What a thick paper back of total 576 pages! Isn't it a Bible? That was my first impression when I got it. And maybe I am only a person in Japan who read it through wearing smart suits and tie in crazy packed Japanese morning trains on the way to work surrounded and pushed by also smartly dressed busy business men. "Punk Rock?" Many people were sneering at 42-year-old. But this is a brilliant book and the most efficient to learn the UK punk history especially from mid '70 to beginning of '80 among some books I had ever read. This book comprises short interviews of total 112 punk musicians, punk journalists, and etc. telling individuals' stories by going back in time. I mean these real voices made me feel the scene in more real and understand the history in more detail than any other punk books. My English is not that good, when I came across obscure English expression I could skip some interviews to others, but it was not a problem. Because this book is not a long novel, but loads of interesting short interviews. UK punk's been part of my life since I was 18 despite the fact that I am now 42 and quite a normal office worker. My treasure is a T-shirt signed by Captain Sensible when I saw him upon my queuing in front of the venue in Oxford in 2002. It reads "Phil Collins must die - Captain Sensible".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like this book, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
Lots of text! Presents an important period of history in an entirely original wY. You can "hear" the voices in this oral history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pogo=tastic, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. David J. Garrett "dizzy" (uk, sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Favourite excerpts are from Marco Pirroni and his witty comments and that feeling from all but the Bromley Contingent of being excluded from the in crowd. The extent to which all the major protagonists knew each other via London SS is well covered particularly the key role Brian James had and his sparring with Mick Jones. The damage done via Grundy comes across too as does how quickly the creativity turned to compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Punk Rock gubbins, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
Mr Robb has made a decent effort here and I for one congratulate him. Well Done sir. Teenage, I wanna be teenage. Well tough, you're not mate, you're 48 so here's a book about when you were. Cheers Mr Robb. Now where did I leave me tartan bondage slippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 4 July 2012
By 
Phigam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
For those who were too young to remember or be involved in the Punk scene, this is the story of how it evolved told by those that were at the heart of it all. It doesn't just concentrate on the main players but the smaller bands and people behind the scenes are all included to give you the full story. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRULY BRILLIANT, 26 Dec 2007
By 
IAN WILLOWS "ministry-of-prog" (WALES UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
THE MAN HAS A PASSION FOR THE MUSIC AND BOY DOES IT SHOW,BRILLIANT RESEARCH AND DETAIL,CHECK OUT THE REBELLION FESTIVALS WEBSITE TO SEE MORE OF HIS INVOLVEMENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if you want the truth about punk rock then read this book!, 22 Aug 2006
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
Finally after all the pontificating, the theorising, the ill informed rubbish written about punk there is finally a book about punk rock that tells the truth. John Robb has interviewed pretty well all the key players and intertwined their answers in a fast paced narrative that really captures the inherent contradictions an mad arguments that made up punk.

It's great to read about the myriad of influences that made up punk, the very different ideas of what punk was and the excitement that all these people still have in the music.

John Robb also ads his own voice in forwards, great footnotes and added commentary that adds to the flavour of the book. This is a whopping 560 pages and I was glued to it for weeks , oh and while your at it, check out Robb's band Goldblade, one of the great punk rock bands of these times- this is one author who can really claim to walk it like he talks it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well documented, badly written, 18 April 2009
By 
B. S. Barker "brendanbe" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
With a wide span of interviews to draw from, from the people who were really there, this gives a clear story of the rise of punk..but the way it has been edited makes the people speaking sound like they're 5 year olds writing about what they did on their holidays. It seems to take the 'life' out their words...also it is full of typos.
If John Robb needs a proof reader for his next book then I'm available.
As the heading says...well documented, badly written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars received, many thanks ++++:, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Punk Rock: An Oral History (Paperback)
received, many thanks ++++ :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Punk Rock: An Oral History
Punk Rock: An Oral History by John Robb (Paperback - 27 Feb 2006)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews