Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Eye Opener
I couldn't put this book down and recomend it to everyone to read. The tale of June Goulding and the horrors that she saw at Bessboro Unmarried mothers home is one that is unbelievable. What a cruel world we lived in when unmarried mothers were denied even basic medical care when they were pregnant. Not allowed to speak and with all of their possessions and clothes...
Published on 20 April 2005 by Ang w

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, gripping and moving story that needs a gentle make-over
I struggled scoring this book

simply because i would give it

5 stars for the actual content of the story

but only 2 for the way it was put together.

Hence the 3 stars.

I picked this book up and couldnt put it down -

I read it from cover to cover in 2 days

it's only a short book and in easy to...
Published on 19 Aug 2006 by eatsshootsandreads


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Eye Opener, 20 April 2005
By 
Ang w "Avid Reader" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down and recomend it to everyone to read. The tale of June Goulding and the horrors that she saw at Bessboro Unmarried mothers home is one that is unbelievable. What a cruel world we lived in when unmarried mothers were denied even basic medical care when they were pregnant. Not allowed to speak and with all of their possessions and clothes removed from them they faced a horrible ordeal as they give birth. They are then made to stay at the home to work for 3 years and then have the heartbreak of their children being taken from them.
Every woman should read this book and thank her lucky stars that she was not treated in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 13 April 2005
By 
Margaret Hopwood (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
I still don't understand nuns cruelty how dare they call themselves holy.Absolutely no humanity. This book should be read by every woman who has had a child, it makes you realise how lucky you are.I cant even begin to imagine the anguish these poor creatures went through, how cruel to have your child taken from you after three years. June Goulding is a marvellous woman for what she tried to do for these poor girls. I just cant bear to think of the suffering they went through. A deeply moving account. I only hope places like this don't exist anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book one of the most harrowing I've ever read!
As a baby torn from the womb of one of these unfortunate women !! She then had to work in the 'Hellhole' in Cadtlepollard for a year after my birth to pay for her keep!!!!
I am very very angry that the Catholic church condoned this treatment of these poor unfortunate women/girls!!
I (The Devils Sporn!!!) as we bastards were called spent 19yrs in the care of The Sisters of Nazareth being brainwashed into the Catholic religion!!
When I requested information re my mother I was informed by said nuns that they knew nothing of her!!
It took my darling daughter to hire a Private Detective who found my poor mothers grave!!! My visit to her resting place was extremely emotional!!
My one positive finding was the fact that Mum went on to make the most of her life and enjoyed rearing a further five children!
She unfortunately took the event of my birth to her grave!! I just wish I could have met her to say 'Thank you for giving me life!
Ive had a beautiful daughter who is a delight and three gorgeous grandchildren whom I know mum would have adored!
Needless to say the catholic church has no place in my life!
Justice Must be done to bring the churchs' evil deeds to light!
I would recommend this book to everyone especially Catholics!!!
Eyes should be open to recognise the extreme cruelty doled out to
these poor individuals!!! All in the name of religion!!!!!!!!
these poor innocents!!
We the children will never forget!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the light in the window, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
having attended convent school,the treatment of those"sinners" does not surprise me in the least,we were treated like 10th rate citizens purely because we were of the poor community,the "money"people were treated well,we were beaten with sticks,or anything they could get their hands on.one of the nuns told me,when i was very little that she could see me in when i was grown up,she said "you will go to england and marry a protestant" and guess what, im proud to say i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little short, 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
This was a little short for my liking, but shocked and moved menone the less. The story is told well if not a little hurried. Although I was left with a feeling of regret that the story was not more indepth. But overall It is a book that I would recommend to others, purley because cruelty such as this should be brought to light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to put down.A real eye opener!, 8 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book,which tells the horrendous
conditions that unmarried mothers were forced to endure,just to
atone for the sin of becoming pregnant outside wedlock.It is a tragic account of how one convent,saw these unfortunate girls. I applaud June Goulding for the kindnesses she offered,whilst risking her own job .Sadly these stories are many more,I would recomend any
woman to read this spare a thought for those who suffered,were humiliated and often not be able to form guilt free relationships.
My feeling is that the "daliance"that can lead to pregnancy is bought about by two people and back in the 1950's I would guess that the man would often take the lead or at least know the consequencesof the act,yet the women were the ones to suffer,in this case not just the resulting pregnancy and labour,but the further degradation by another woman who would be looked to for cormfort and compassion by the very nature of her calling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and endearing read, 13 Jan 2006
By 
R. Taylor "Book worm" (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
I found this book ran on similar lines to others I had read about the appalling treatment of women and children in Ireland by the Catholic nuns/priests and also the neglect they suffered by society and their own families. It is yet another piece of evidence to show just how punitive society was from all sides at that time. It's a shame June Goulding's hands were tied and she could not have done something for them. She did what little she could be offering them a friendly face. But I suppose the law protected these abusers in God fearing Ireland and you couldn't breathe a word against them.
Some of the details in this book are repeated quite a few times just said in a different way. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, gripping and moving story that needs a gentle make-over, 19 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
I struggled scoring this book

simply because i would give it

5 stars for the actual content of the story

but only 2 for the way it was put together.

Hence the 3 stars.

I picked this book up and couldnt put it down -

I read it from cover to cover in 2 days

it's only a short book and in easy to manage chapters

I love the voice in this book

I could almost hear June's soft Irish accent speak

and that seems so perfect as it reflects her caring nursing personality as well.

I sobbed thru some of the cruelty especially by the sister and felt moved by the plight of the women.

Yeah, me too - I also wonder why June waited so long to tell the story but then i guess if she was working there 50 years she's been too busy? At first I did also wonder how a woman so determined and so kind didnt report the sister but then having done some research it appears that the evil treatment inflicted by the Sister was normal for that time and that indeed it was June that was extraordinary, perhaps she didnt feel it prudent to take the system on.

But despite the content of this book being gripping

the writting wasnt as endearing.

There were often sentences that seemed random

and i wondered if the book had been heavily edited maybe for legal reasons or if the publishers had merely asked for some more information and it had been badly slotted in -

who knows.

In parts we would be engrossed in the action only to have it all tied up in a short final paragraph!

The publishers should have used a ghost writer to tidy this book up because it has enormous potential and the story in itself is worthy of a blockbuster film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - this is a riveting read, 12 July 2008
By 
J. Kisseih (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Light In The Window (Paperback)
June Goulding tells the story of her life as a midwife in a home for unmarried mothers in 1950s Ireland with the utmost compassion and despite the rules and regulations by the spinster women who ran the home she had her own unique rebellious spirit in helping these poor girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Children, 3 Nov 2005
By A Customer
I read this with some trepidation being one of the babies mentioned in the book. My mother was sent there and 'saved' by the priest. I know from mum what hardships were involved and how the kindness of June Goulding(my godmother) and the aforesaid priest meant a different life for us both. It took me years to face the past and the book helped although some of our facts were slightly inaccurate the gist was sound. A Story that needed to be told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Light In The Window
The Light In The Window by June Goulding (Paperback - 17 Mar 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews