Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one out there....
This is the best baby name book by far (I have read a lot) really good variety of names from traditional to very unusual. This book would suit everyone. Fast delivery.
Published 1 month ago by Rachel Thomas

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money!
I am not often moved to write a review on something I bought but I was very disappointed. You would be better off with a decent book containing a tenth of the names. Most of them are so ridiculous- would you call your child Ponce, Napoleon, Spunk, Wind, (boys) Scally, Fog, Fructuose, Po, (girls) to name but a few. Apologies if anyone likes or has these names but I found...
Published on 30 Jan. 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a load of rubbish, 15 Oct. 2011
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
Let me give you an example of some names... bacon, chubby, essex most aren't even names just words, don't waste a penny on this rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just too much, 3 May 2005
By 
D. D. Wilson "spawnee" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
This book has a huge expanse of names, and if you are just looking for a name and not the meaning, then this could be the book for you. However, be prepared for being overwhelmed by the amount - 40,001 might make it even harder for you to choose, and if you were looking for something to help you with then may be browse some of the other books out there.
The other point that needs to be made (but has already been done so by some of the other reviewers) is that the name meanings are not very detailed, and also contradict some of the meanings of the same name in other books, so it might be worth double checking which book has the right definition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An impulse buy I regret, 14 Oct. 2013
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
This book is total rubbish! I wish I could say there was some good ideas in it, but the vast majority of names a totally made up nonsense. It has the standard names John, Daniel... and then so many more like Dalvis??? Which even she lists as 'invented' I mean who invents names like that common! The title of the book should read 'A few well known names....and lots of made up ones you'll never use'.
I glad I didn't spend much on it, but it was still a total waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one out there...., 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
This is the best baby name book by far (I have read a lot) really good variety of names from traditional to very unusual. This book would suit everyone. Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 18 May 2011
By 
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
A lot of the names are repeated under different group headings. The book itself was very grubby with bits of food all stuck in the pages!!! Totally disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says in the tin, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
As sold really, better than some books my husband and I have bought and liked the meanings given in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good list, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
good baby book.if you can't find a name in here you never will.there is every catagory/list you can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
I wouldn't buy u get the same names about 50 times and not worth it look for a book with one name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
Not impressed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book useful, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
easy to read haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40, 001 Best Baby Names
40, 001 Best Baby Names by Diane Stafford (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews