Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars No
I wouldn't buy u get the same names about 50 times and not worth it look for a book with one name
Published 1 month ago by Debbie McTeir

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money!
I am not often moved to write a review on something I bought but I was very disappointed. You would be better off with a decent book containing a tenth of the names. Most of them are so ridiculous- would you call your child Ponce, Napoleon, Spunk, Wind, (boys) Scally, Fog, Fructuose, Po, (girls) to name but a few. Apologies if anyone likes or has these names but I found...
Published on 30 Jan 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many random spellings!, 9 Dec 2006
By 
G. Armstrong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
The book lists many names under spellings that are not the traditional ones....sometimes listing these as alternatives and sometimes missing them out of the book completely! Some of the meanings and origns of names are also a little dubious.....Ie, Trixiebelle (American) Combo of Trixie and Belle, Sweet personality.....apparently because an american used the name for his daughter that makes it american?

A good book to look at for fun, but i cant imagine its much use when choosing a childs name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just too much, 3 May 2005
By 
D. D. Wilson "spawnee" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
This book has a huge expanse of names, and if you are just looking for a name and not the meaning, then this could be the book for you. However, be prepared for being overwhelmed by the amount - 40,001 might make it even harder for you to choose, and if you were looking for something to help you with then may be browse some of the other books out there.
The other point that needs to be made (but has already been done so by some of the other reviewers) is that the name meanings are not very detailed, and also contradict some of the meanings of the same name in other books, so it might be worth double checking which book has the right definition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
I wouldn't buy u get the same names about 50 times and not worth it look for a book with one name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An impulse buy I regret, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
This book is total rubbish! I wish I could say there was some good ideas in it, but the vast majority of names a totally made up nonsense. It has the standard names John, Daniel... and then so many more like Dalvis??? Which even she lists as 'invented' I mean who invents names like that common! The title of the book should read 'A few well known names....and lots of made up ones you'll never use'.
I glad I didn't spend much on it, but it was still a total waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says in the tin, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
As sold really, better than some books my husband and I have bought and liked the meanings given in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good list, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
good baby book.if you can't find a name in here you never will.there is every catagory/list you can think of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 18 May 2011
By 
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
A lot of the names are repeated under different group headings. The book itself was very grubby with bits of food all stuck in the pages!!! Totally disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40,001 best baby names, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: 40, 001 Best Baby Names (Paperback)
i thought the book was very good. it was in top condition, as if i bought it brand new. i received it within a couple of days. will by from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

40, 001 Best Baby Names
40, 001 Best Baby Names by Diane Stafford (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews