Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, fantastic, funny!
This is the true story of one girls escape from the rat race to explore a variety of ways of deepening her interest in yoga.
She travels to India and goes from Ashram to Ashram, Guru to Guru, Yoga School to Yoga School. You read about the scams and the 'crazies' and also the deeply sincere people and spiritual places you could find yourself if you did the same...
Published on 6 Feb 2005 by Yogamum

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun
I should have read the reviews before buying the book as I was quite surprised that it's not fictional writing (as I expected) but instead based on Lucy Edge's own journey to India.

Lucy Edge - a burned out, high flying professional - is sick of her London life and decides to `find herself' in India. She attends about 6 different yoga and meditation ashrams...
Published on 29 Mar 2007 by K. J. Black


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, fantastic, funny!, 6 Feb 2005
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
This is the true story of one girls escape from the rat race to explore a variety of ways of deepening her interest in yoga.
She travels to India and goes from Ashram to Ashram, Guru to Guru, Yoga School to Yoga School. You read about the scams and the 'crazies' and also the deeply sincere people and spiritual places you could find yourself if you did the same. It's almost like an informal review of each place, which might prove useful if you were thinking of doing the same. It explains with humour and realism the difficulties of such a path, along with the joys and rewards too. Most interestingly you see Lucy's inner journey as she struggles with herself, much to the relief of the reader, as you see her own humanity.
This is a super book. I read it on holiday in Mauritius and the book and the surroundings together took me to a state of bliss. I absolutely LOVED it but as a result won't be travelling to India to pursue my love of yoga at any time soon! I am tempted though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucy Edge - Yoga School Drop Out, 12 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
I brought this on holidays and I found it so difficult to put down! It made me laugh, It made me want to give it all up and head to Kerala, it made me see beyond the veneer of mysticism that we create around yoga and most importantly, it made me remember to put it all into perspective.
I loved the book - so well written and such a fascinating read
Lucy - can't wait for your next book. Release it soon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 29 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
I should have read the reviews before buying the book as I was quite surprised that it's not fictional writing (as I expected) but instead based on Lucy Edge's own journey to India.

Lucy Edge - a burned out, high flying professional - is sick of her London life and decides to `find herself' in India. She attends about 6 different yoga and meditation ashrams there, hoping that one of them will help her find the answers she is looking for.

The book starts of promising. I laughed quite a bit and feel that the Western yogis she bumps into on the way, pretty much sound like girls I see at yoga class here in London. However, by ashram number 4 I got a bit bored as essentially she goes through the same emotions from start to finish and nothing new or exciting changes throughout her journey. There are no unexpected twists or turns, just pretty much the same from beginning to end. Nonetheless, Lucy Edge's writing is very honest and one gets a good sense of what ashram life in India is all about.

Overall, I would however only recommend this book to those who:

1. Are into yoga and are prepared to look at its humorous side as this book is far from deep

2. Like chick-lit

3. Have a remote interest in travel literature

4. Have some interest in India

In summary this is a cute, fun book, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick Lit with Eastern Promise!, 23 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
This lovely rainy day read of Lucy's trip to India to do a spot of "Yoga Shopping" was a delight. I giggled throughout at the amusing commentary as much as I have groaned through some of the pompous reviews. Yes, to each his/her own in terms of opinion, but this was not meant to be a piece of learned teaching. Indeed Ms Edge recommends many references if this is what you want, and "The Yoga Sutras of Patanjuli" is mentioned in the text throughout (which is very good by the way)!

Yoga School Dropout highlights the issues faced with Westerners taking a sabbatical to the Yogic East. There are nuggets of dilemmas with high maintenance (no hairdryers!), meeting those of whom you are in awe (a Cat Stevens lookalike) and the tiresome hypocracy of competition in an allegedly non-competitive practice (i.e. the annoying Shanti) It also highlights how the true leaders of Yoga take their practice highly seriously in structured, almost Boot Camp like conditions.

I feel that it would appeal to anyone who has an interest in yoga, Indian culture and wants some quality time escapism. There's even a recipe for Apple Muffins if you are of the culinary persuasion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly insightful, 16 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Malsingh (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
Lucy is a little bit naive, a little bit shallow and a little bit fish-out-of-water in India. So what makes this a good book? Well, personally I thought that even though she really didn't know what she was doing or where she was going (with her life or in India!), Lucy managed to a find a much more authentic India than many who travel there, especially certain yoga practitioners!

This is a funny, girly book (it's a bit on the chick-lit side) about one woman's search for a new view on life in India. Unlike many books of its kind, Lucy finds more solace in the everyday people she meets than in the religious practices and yoga that she does. As mentioned above, she's rather naive, but she does end up finding out a lot about herself and about life.

The type of yoga practitioners (from America, Uk, etc, not the yoga teachers in India) that Lucy meets in India are rather self-involved, a little bit know it all, and many of them are totally ignorant of the real India and the meaning behind their practices. To be honest, this has been my experience with many of the Western yogis I have met in India - they're certainly flexible, but at the end of the day they are no more in tune with the world than anyone else! Some keen yogis will no doubt find Lucy's portrait of some of the people she meets less than flattering, but at the end of the day Lucy's message is that yoga alone is not enough. Doing rigorous asanas every day will not change your life just like that, you have to learn to see the world differently.

This is a very honest book - Lucy is not afraid to admit that she finds yoga hard, that meditation sometimes leaves her cold, that when other people talk about their spiritual experiences she feels a bit lost. But she stills finds her way in India. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but ultimately fairly shallow read, 8 Nov 2006
By 
M. Vogel "buckaroojj" (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
Basically this book is an entertaining read.
But from the very beginning on Lucy is sceptical towards the scene she encounters in India. She so biased from the very beginning on that she of course has her difficulties in finding the much sought for "cosmic bliss". Late in the book she writes that in the beginning of her travels a fellow yogi called her a "yoga shopper" which is what she basically does throughout the book. She is on a big ashram shopping spree. Meaning she tastes here and there without ever really immersing herself in one place or method or even into relationships with the people she meets.
It seems as if she always leaves her various destinations at a point where "real work" would begin.
She has a quick look at things, decides it does not meet with her expectations and leaves.

In the end she decides, that home is actually the best place to be and that her job in advertising might not have been all that bad...
There is a certain emptiness to her yarn, the landscape etc might be described in a lively way, but her personality and the personalities of the people she meets remain unsatisfyingly pale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga School Dropout, 22 Dec 2004
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
Just a quick note to say how much I enjoyed Yoga School Drop Out. Been
thinking about going to India for a while - the book has inspired me to
do so in March - to the Sivananda ashram that Lucy went to.
Great book, really well written, made me laugh a lot and really think
about my yoga and where I want to go with it.
Thanks for the opportunity to read it before its release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun read but rather shallow, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Ms. H. Davies (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
I was hoping for some spiritual insight from this but it reads like a trashy chick flick. The term "ashram chic" is used a lot (need i say more?). Its an account of her travels to various ashrams and yoga retreats but lacks any real depth on her opinions of them, or what she actually learns there. Instead the focus seems to be what men she fancies and who looks better than who. In the end she seems to realise that yoga offers a lot more than a toned body but theres no real depth to it. Not necessarily a bad book, but i was really hoping there would be a bit more spirituality in it and it wasnt for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Yoga Journey I've read so far!, 28 Oct 2007
By 
P. Tummon "LeapingSalmon" (Cape Town South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
Lucy Edge had written a warm, humane account of her genuine search for enlightenment and a husband amongst the ashrams of India! She weaves in her background reading beautifully, as she describes her adventures in each of the ashrams. One comes away from reading her book, better informed about the history and current status of the various ashrams, than one realizes. Her account of the Osho ashram in Pune is particularly charming. Her english prudishness is honestly described and she comes across all the more convincingly because of it. But most importantly, the book is a real joy to read and her openheartedness invites a similar response in the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funny side of Yoga, 4 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Yoga School Dropout (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

The descriptions of some of the yoga teachers (especially the 'sex guru' with a unhealthly liking for bad eighties fashion) had me in stitches!

For those of you who wish to travel East in search of good Karma, I suggest that you cannot do so without a copy of Lucy's book under your arm, it will keep you from the fraudsters and lead to to the best of the yoga retreats.

Cant wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga School Dropout
Yoga School Dropout by Lucy Edge (Paperback - 6 April 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews